Customer Reviews for

Back to Basics

Average Rating 4.5
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    Makes you glad God had Christina answer our prayers! I loved t

    Makes you glad God had Christina answer our prayers!


    I loved this album it is fun and if your like me, you love old movies and music, it is fun and enjoyable and again some of those songs you sing when you need to. Every track is a hit, even the introductions. My favorites:
    "Makes Me Wanna Pray", "Ain't No Other Man", "Save Me From Myself", "Mercy on Me", "Still Dirrty", "Here to Stay", "The Right Man","I Got Trouble", "Candyman", "Hurt". The most surprising tracks are "Oh Mother", "Fuss", and "Welcome". Which talk about Christina's childhood and problems in her career and social life a bit. It is incredible and we get to see Christina Aguilera mature into a happy, married woman at the time it was recorded and get to see her as a fully grown adult topic and adult artist all the way. Worth it to anyone who truly loves music, throwback music, and even if they love big band and Michael Buble' 's music they will love it and cherish it. It shows Christina at her happiest and her best musically, although I am sure she will blow our minds again someday soon. She is worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Simply put, "Back To Basics" is an INCREDIBLE album th

    Simply put, "Back To Basics" is an INCREDIBLE album that brings Christina Aguilera's credit as an artist to a whole new dimension. The sounds on this album feel like authentic oldschool classics, but they have a unique modern touch. The songs are so organic and authentic to the point where you forget that its oldschool-inspired and just focus on the songs themselves. Disc one is an impressive funk collection

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    nice surprise

    to my surprise I really enjoyed the collection of music. she definitely has a matured vocal range which is rare these days with singers. her voice is very pure and her pitch seems perfect with every note in every song. I think she is a rare talent who will continue to redefine music/lyrics in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A "Must Have" for anyone who loves great music.

    Now, what would a 56 year-old guy be doing buying a Christina Aguilara CD? Answer: this is fantastic music that suggests to me that this young lady is one of the greatest singers to come along in quite awhile. Christina has a deep connection to the music. Her pacing, timing and expression on this work leaves me breathless. On this two CD set, I find Disk One to be well done, but not for me. When I popped in Disk Two, though....WOW! Of all the work on this CD, my personal favorite is "Mercy On Me." I find myself listening to it over, and over....and over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Here to Stay!

    This is Chirstina's best album so far. I like how she did her theme for this album with the take on doing sounds from the 20s, 30s,40s,and 50s. A few of my favorites of this album are, Makes Me Wanna Pray, Back In The Day, Ain't No Other Man, Still Dirrty, and Here To Stay. I can't wait to see what her next album is about!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    LOVE IT!!!

    I personally love this cd, its no doubt her best cd yet, i enjoy every song on this wonderful cd!!!! you should totally buy it. a few songs are to "circusy" haha but she can pull it off. she has the most amazing voice i have ever heard, she can do whatever she wants in life she is for sure a great rolemodel for teens all around the world!! You should definitely buy this or any other of her cd's!!!! THEY ALL ARE SMOKIN!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    christina lip sings?

    when have you seen chirstina aguilera lip sing to her back to basics album she has never done so.. she did in stripped once when she lost her voice. but other than that she hasnt... christina would never lip sing and she is ten times better than any solo artist out there just people these days dont know good music or talent if it hit them in the face. this album is amazing buy it you wont be sorry.. Outstanding

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Recommended!

    I am a big fan of the music from the 20s, 30s and 40s. I fell in love with this album from the first time I listened to it. It has a variety of sounds to it, ranging from blues/jazz to big band. The highlights from this album are: Back in the Day, Slown Down Baby, Still Dirrty, Candyman, Nasty Naughty Boy and I Got Trouble.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Christina is Xtina!

    Christina is always been good as she get into something new...fom being a Genie to the expression of being STRIPPED came ot he very best as a young and soon to be legend artist. Back to Basics is a deep album just like Stripped..the difference is that the Xtina is Stipped have been outspoken form her darkest expeiences...bt in B2B she really has proven that she's no playing with he career just like her counteparts.. First CD - Modern Jazz..that's it. Understand- threat to Alicia Keys... Back In The Day-got the beat goin'..hot song! Still Dirty- phenomenal song! Mary J. listen! Makes Me Wanna Pray- moden gospel track! Hurt- it really hurts and great BALLAD! Save Me From Myself- raw Christina comes out! OVER-ALL - THAT'S ALL MUSIC SHOULD SOUND!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Her best work by far

    This album rocks...there are two discs and the entire album provides an eclectic mix from everything from pop, to jazz/blues, to somewhat of a big band with a modern twist. Christina was always talented, but this album proves exactly how diverse she really is in her range. It was a great fall/winter purchase.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Outstanding Performance!

    Her previous albums were good. But "Back To Basics" is superb. With this work she proves once again, she is above and beyond all her other "so-called competition" (which they never were) Spears and Simpson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AMAZING.....Christina's BEST album so far...

    "Back To Basics" is a fantastic album that brings Christina Aguilera's credit as an artist to a whole new dimension. The sounds on this album feel like authentic oldschool classics, but they have a unique modern touch. The songs are so organic and authentic to the point where you forget that its oldschool-inspired and just focus on the songs themselves. Disc one is an impressive funk collection. There's the song of the summer, "Ain't No Other Man" - with the blaring horn blasts and funky beat. Another highlight of the album is "Slow Down Baby" which is another funky dance groove. On a more emotional note, "Oh Mother" pays tribute to Aguilera's mother and acknowledges that pain of her childhood abuse. Lastly on Disc One is "Here to Stay". The horn blasts and funky beats make this song's message clear: Christina Aguilera is definitely "here to stay" in the music world, proving that talent is the key to longevity. On Disc 2, we find a more burlesque feel. The second disk is characterized by burlesque-show tunes and some gorgeous vocal ballads. On the upbeat and peppy "Candyman", Christina goes all out with the burlesque theme by using some big band swing music. Next, she tones it down a bit with a slow and sensual "Nasty Naughty Boy". Aguilera then channels through the old soul icons like Billie Holiday and Ella Fitzgerald on "I Got Trouble", which is not a cover, but an organic composiiton that truly sounds like an old classic soul number that Holiday, herself, would sing. Christina shifts gears again and dives into a haunting ballad, titled "Hurt". The ballad is a gut-wrenching emotional piece that simply gives you chills. "Back To Basics" proves to be a milestone in Christina Aguilera's career she's matured a bit, as displayed in her intelligent lyrics and musically, she's matured as well, with this collection of intelliegently composed songs. This album cannot be overlooked simply, Christina's greatest work so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent CD!

    Words can not express the talent of christina, I was not a big fan when she first came out, but since her CD Stripped , I have been a huge fan! this new CD has topped the charts for me, not only is she the best singer out there, she is original, no one can touch this new CD... I have never heard anything like it before,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Album of the year

    Back to Basic is just simply amazing ....it is a instant classic & album of the year.... Christina is back & on fire!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    SHE'S BACK..........................

    ......and better than ever!!!!!. I've got to tell you something about this girl. When her self titled debut came out in 1999, I had thought, "Man does she got talent." She had some great songs on that record too including the singles "Genie In A Bottle", "What A Girl Wants", "I Turn To You", "Come On Over Baby (All I Want Is You)", and "Reflection"-from Disney's Mulan. These were some great songs to start her carrer off on the right track. A year later in 2000 , she came out with a Christmas album called My Kind Of Christmas featuring the holiday classics like "Oh Holy Night", Angels We Have Heard On High", and "The Christmas Song"(Chestnuts Roasting On An Open Fire). The Album also featured some new songs by Christina including "Christmas Time", "This Year", and "X-Tina's X-Mas". After coming out with a video DVD and a concert DVD, She took a little break before coming with her 3rd smash album 2 years later in 2002 called Stripped. This album featured 5 chart-topping singles including "Dirrty"-feat. Redman, "Beautiful", "The Voice Within", "Can't Hold Us Down"-feat. Lil' Kim", and the showstopping "Fighter". These 5 singles showed that Christina could take on all kinds of music including pop, rock 'n' roll, r&b, rap, and slow songs. This album also featured "Get Mine, Get Yours" as well as "Impossible"-Alicia Keys played the piano on that track. She also wrote the song for Christina as well. Christina then took a break and then came back to record a song for the movie Shark Tale. She recorded the classic song "Car Wash" with Missy Elliott. She also was featured on Herbie Hancock's new album Possibilities. They did a song called "A Song For You". Then she got married to a guy named Jordan. Now, after 4 years of waiting, Christina releases a 4th album. The album has a bit of jazz in some of the songs which means she can take on anything. The album features the new debut single "Ain't No Other Man" which is played across America today. The album also features the songs "I Got Trouble" and "Mercy On Me". This album is in the top 20 on thsi site. Buy this album. It's worth the money. Christina can sing better than anybody else today in the music business. SHE ROCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I love Christina and this album...

    I’ve been a big Christina Aguilera fan ever since she came out with the single “What A Girl Wants” in late 1999 and ever since then she has never failed to floor me with her outstanding vocal delivery on each and every song she sang, whether live or recorded. “Back To Basics” has to be her most creative album so far. I couldn’t wait for it to come out so I downloaded it from the internet just to see how it was (I’m still going to buy the album when it’s released on Aug. 15th to support my boo) and I have to say the majority of the album is incomparable. Here are my ratings for each song on the album: Disc 1: 1. Back To Basics (Intro) Rating: 9/10. This track has the vibes of a 1970s R&B slow song and features Christina paying homage to all of the singers and musicians who paved to way for future artists. I like the little introduction at the beginning of the song with little spoken samples from various T.V. concerts and shows morphed together to introduce Christina. 2. Makes Me Wanna Pray Rating: 7/10. A little too “churchy” for me. This song features a choir and everything that would be included in a church song, which really isn’t my cup of tea but Christina sings her ass off on this track about how she is completely head over heels for a particular man. 3. Back In The Day Rating: 10/10. This is a tastefully-laced 1970s R&B-inspired track featuring Christina paying homage once again to all of the singers and musicians before her time who established music today. It isn’t often that you hear singers giving props to music giants like Lena Horne, Otis Redding, Minnie Riperton, Billie Holliday, John Coltrane, Louis Armstrong, Etta James, etc., whose names and more are all spliced in this songs beat. Very creative. 4. Ain’t No Other Man Rating: 10/10. You know, when Christina first came out with this song, I really didn’t like it that much. But with as much radio play it has gained over the past months, the song really grew on me. I really believe she captures the vivaciousness and essence of the 1920s, 1930s, and 1940s with this fast-tempo song accompanied with horn blasts and various musical arrangements present in the music from that time. She sings her ass off in this one too about the one unparalleled man in her life. 5. Understand Rating: 10/10. This song is cleverly sung with vocal samples from some old blues song. Very avant-garde, and it reminds me more of the 1960s than the 1920s, 1930s, and 1940s. This track screams to be the next single off of her album, and features Christina explaining to a certain confused man why she couldn’t be with him although she was in love with him. 6. Slow Down Baby Rating: 8/10. The beat is fire (it contains all of these horn blasts and arrangements) and features Christina demanding those men who continue to badger her about a relationship when she is already in one. I, personally, don’t like this song too much but it’s nice. 7. Oh Mother Rating: 9/10. This is a sort of the R&B continuation of the song “I’m Okay” from the “Stripped” album, except this song is dedicated to Christina’s mother and how she kept strong in her crippling, abusive relationship with Christina’s father. This can be considered the perfect ode to a mother who has escaped domestic violence and I’m glad Christina decided to include a song of this stature on her album and continue domestic violence awareness. 8. F.U.S.S. (interlude) Rating: 7/10. Stands for “For U Scott Storch” or “F*ck U Scott Storch.” Either way, Christina verbally bashes the man responsible for her prior “Stripped” hits “Fighter,” “Can’t Hold Us Down,” “Infatuation,” etc. in response to his statement about her in Rolling Stone and how she was a

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    She's Back (finally)!

    Christina Aguilera, despite her questionable attire and the fact that she tends to be overly sexual, has always been one of my favorite singers because she possesses what I feel is most important in an artist: an outstanding singing voice. Each song that I heard (I've only listened to the first disc) was pure magic, my favorites being "Still Dirrty", "Makes Me Wanna Pray", and "Understand". Great CD from an even greater artist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Christina is back and in full force

    "Back to Basics" opens doors and sends the message loud and clear that this woman is the real thing. While she may not dress the best or what have you she absolutely can sing. This is the kind of music that gives you goose bumps. Personally "Ain't No Other Man" is not one of my favorites. There are many, many other amazing songs through out the album including "Save me From Myself", which is one of the standout tracks. It really strips down her voice and shows off her raw talent without all of the typical runs. As a music lover of all genres I have to give Christina props.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome Comback!

    The single "Ain't No Other Man" is leading off Christina's third, jazzed inspired album, and it's great. She has never sounded better. I heard a few clips and I must say there is not one song that I disliked. "The Right Man" details her wedding to music executive, Jordan Bratman, and her voice just soars. This whole album is just spectacular. She's really coming back as a force in the music business this time. "Back to Basics" is going to put her on top, and it's a place that she most truly deserves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Christina is here to stay!

    I just love her new album, Back to Basics. Its jazzy, but still with a modern touch. I love Makes Me Wanna Pray, Back in the Day, Still Dirrty just to name a few. She's still got it. It was worth the long 4 year wait for this album!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2