BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Back to Work: Why We Need Smart Government for a Strong Economy

Average Rating 4
( 66 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Would Recommend

Bill Clinton gives me hope.

posted by 5261796 on November 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

slick willy!

of course this was a great read. thanks, bill!!

posted by 10027541 on November 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    slick willy!

    of course this was a great read. thanks, bill!!

    17 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2011

    Would Recommend

    Bill Clinton gives me hope.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Have respect for the most important office held in the USA.

    Understand the reality of it! Former President Clinton has nothing to gain or lose by writing these books or speaking to the public. His only agenda is to inform the public to the truth and how much goes on unappreciated, good and bad. His speeches make so much sense that I needed to buy this book to get a better feel for the most important office held in the USA. We need to stop the blame game and the ugly critisism and judgement. Clinton shows carefully why we are in the state we are in and the President is only trying to fix it the best he can and anyone else in office will be trying just as hard, as did all of the other presidents. The world is in a condition that took many generations to create and it is going to take a lot more time to get back to a good place. The presidents¿ hands are tied more often than we know and situations are fraught with danger no matter which decision is made. The presidential position is not one to be envied or mistreated. There should be the utmost respect for the highest office held, not ridicule. READ THIS and do yourself a favor!

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2011

    Amazing@

    !@Best Read

    9 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    If you have not read the book don't write a review

    Clearly if you don't like Bill Clintin, you won't want to read about what he has to say. I don' t think the negative reviewers would even buy the book with an open mind. The book has good ideas and workable solutions. It is well written and easy to understand. A good read.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    I miss Bill.

    I miss Bill.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    Excellent

    As usual President Clinton is on the mark. He was an excellent president and continues to understand the US politics. Mr. Clinton writes likes he speak, clear and informative. As I read the book I kept on saying over and over again, yes, yes, yes to his thoughts and ideas. The man still has it and will always have it.
    all of America should be reading this book. Especially the Tea Party who don't have a clue.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2011

    Outstanding

    Very good read. We need another Clinton in the white house.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2011

    Politics as usual

    A liberal talking about bowing to the government when a liberal is up for re-election. Geez, what a surprise...

    4 out of 60 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Good, not great

    He's definitely brings up some good ideas- specifically cost-effective on increasing energy efficiency- but unfortunately he does not acknowledge some obvious counterarguments several points he makes. Much of the first half of the book is Mr. Clinton patting himself on the back and he regularly oversimplifies conservative alternative to his point of view. With that said, he is an intelligent man and offers some strong ideas on what the role of the government should be in relation to the economy.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Great ideas but

    A quick read. More for strategic direction than precise policy design

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A message of Hope and Optimism

    Regardless of what you may think of Clinton personally his insights on industry, politics, the economy and finance are hopeful, intelligent and worth a chance in today's struggling world. He, of coarse, does what you may expect-extolls the successes of his terms and what his wife has done. He explains through tables and charts where we were and what lead us to the great downturn of 2008. He offers plausible ways to get the U.S. back to where it needs to be but it will take work. He has demonstrated through his own foundation that he is committed to something more than himself and continues to be an ambassador of hope and optimism.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    Test

    Test

    3 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2012

    A very interesting read.

    I highly recommend this book for those who want to fully understand what led to our serious economic downturn in 2007. Of course, this book is quite partisan--it is written by one of the foremost members of the Democratic party--however, this book gives credit where credit is due, even to members of the GOP. Clinton has some interesting ideas for our future, albeit many, many ideas, and I think they are all worth consideration. It's a fairly quick, easy read, and well worth the couple of days it will take to get through.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Best president

    Many great ideas. Too bad none of it will happen due to republican congress

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    Recommended for community.

    a practical solution to our nation's unemployment problem.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Not worth the read...

    More of the same...nothing interesting...

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2012

    Nothing new

    Regurgitation of today's political propaganda. I expected something more creative from the president that actually balanced the budget and knew the value of compromise.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Trash

    Not worth a cent didn't deserve one star lies and exaggerations on every page

    1 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2012

    Everyone should read it, all personal opinions aside!

    Everyone should read this, all personal prior opinions aside.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4