Customer Reviews for

Back to You

Average Rating 4
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

It has been a while since I¿ve read a book that I thoroughly enj

It has been a while since I’ve read a book that I thoroughly enjoyed this much, but Back to You has found itself on my “Favorites” bookshelf. From the first chapter, I was drawn into the story. Back to You follows the story of two best friends with radically different u...
It has been a while since I’ve read a book that I thoroughly enjoyed this much, but Back to You has found itself on my “Favorites” bookshelf. From the first chapter, I was drawn into the story. Back to You follows the story of two best friends with radically different upbringings, who fall out of touch only to stumble back into each others' lives eight years later.

The heart of the story deals with anger and a loss of trust – though the reader is unsure why – on Lauren’s part. Though she’s grown up to be an independent, successful woman with a passion for working with children, her former friendship with Michael has far-reaching consequences in her life and on her ability to love.

As is often done with stories dealing with characters’ pasts, Glenn used the mixed-timeline method of storytelling. I can’t count the number of times that I have gotten lost in a story only to turn a page, find the story jumping several years into the past or future, and totally lose the feel of – and interest in – the overall story.

However, Glenn successfully balanced the time jumps, traversing the present and the past, from both Lauren’s and Michael’s points-of-view, with ease. This is no easy feat, and can often come off as disjointed and misplaced inserts that take you out of the story and quickly make you lose interest. Instead, what the reader gets is an emotionally-filled journey that takes you from the lives of children and teens to their adult counter-parts and their very realistic, divergent paths.

Of course, all of this to say that I genuinely enjoyed Back to You, and will definitely be following Priscilla Glenn, already anticipating her next work. It is an easy read, and you will likely struggle to put the book down.

posted by Brittany5704 on January 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

What is up with B&N they have so many less book on nook then

What is up with B&N they have so many less book on nook then kindle!!! UGH

posted by 7318673 on January 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 22, 2013

    It has been a while since I¿ve read a book that I thoroughly enj

    It has been a while since I’ve read a book that I thoroughly enjoyed this much, but Back to You has found itself on my “Favorites” bookshelf. From the first chapter, I was drawn into the story. Back to You follows the story of two best friends with radically different upbringings, who fall out of touch only to stumble back into each others' lives eight years later.

    The heart of the story deals with anger and a loss of trust – though the reader is unsure why – on Lauren’s part. Though she’s grown up to be an independent, successful woman with a passion for working with children, her former friendship with Michael has far-reaching consequences in her life and on her ability to love.

    As is often done with stories dealing with characters’ pasts, Glenn used the mixed-timeline method of storytelling. I can’t count the number of times that I have gotten lost in a story only to turn a page, find the story jumping several years into the past or future, and totally lose the feel of – and interest in – the overall story.

    However, Glenn successfully balanced the time jumps, traversing the present and the past, from both Lauren’s and Michael’s points-of-view, with ease. This is no easy feat, and can often come off as disjointed and misplaced inserts that take you out of the story and quickly make you lose interest. Instead, what the reader gets is an emotionally-filled journey that takes you from the lives of children and teens to their adult counter-parts and their very realistic, divergent paths.

    Of course, all of this to say that I genuinely enjoyed Back to You, and will definitely be following Priscilla Glenn, already anticipating her next work. It is an easy read, and you will likely struggle to put the book down.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Great love story

    Been waiting for this book forever for the Nook and it did not disappoint. What a fantastic sweet story that will mealt your heart. Great job author!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book , highly recommend this one! :) Took

    I really enjoyed this book , highly recommend this one! :) Took me back to highschool memories and some of the relationships i made during that time of my life. Look forward to reading more from this author!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    What is up with B&N they have so many less book on nook then

    What is up with B&N they have so many less book on nook then kindle!!! UGH

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Back to You by Priscilla Glenn was a sweet love story that begin

    Back to You by Priscilla Glenn was a sweet love story that begins when Lauren and Michael are in high school. The story is told from both of their perspectives and fluctuates from when they are both in high school to present day. I loved how this story was told. It gave you a full view of the character growth and the relationship as it grew and fell apart. Lauren was a believable character. It shows how such a love and betrayal can effect a person and their future relationships. It changes her life. It took me a little while to warm up to Del. He's pretty much a man whore in high school, but I really enjoyed the man he grew into. This is pretty fitting though, as this is a lovely story about redemption, forgiveness, and of course, love. Back to You by Priscilla Glenn was provided to me by the author for review. The opinions are my own.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    5

    I can't believe this story doesn't have 5 rating! Sure, it was a bit predictable-But what a beautiful story about first love and overcoming a terrible childhood, in spite of all the obstacles. And I loved that we get both of the main characters' POVs. Usually that kind of thing gives me whiplash, but this story was done beautifully. I can't wait to read more by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    A wonderful, beautiful story!

    Captures your heart! Love this book! Love this author! Also love her book "Coming Home!" Highly recommend! Storytelling at it' s best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2014

    Not bad but not good either

    This book was OK, but it left me wanting to feel more of a connection with the characters, it fell a little flat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    Fabulous!

    I really enojyed reading this book, literally stayed up all night because I didn't want to put it down. The writing was amazing and the characters were so in depth that I truly felt a connection with them.

    I was also extremely happy that the story has an ending, no stupid cliff hangers that make you feel like you read an imcomplete book.

    This was my first book by this author but certainly won't be my last!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    very cute

    this book was a very cute book. pretty quick ready which is something i've been looking for lately. i'll have to look more into this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2014

    Loved It!! Beautifully written!

    Loved It!!
    Beautifully written!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Fanastic read

    Very well written. I love how they story back and forth from the present to the past explaing the story. You can really connect with the charactors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Not bad for a first novel - the characters were believable and t

    Not bad for a first novel - the characters were believable and the dialog was real. While the ending was predictable, it was still an enjoyable read.  Will read this author again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Sweet but slow

    Too many elements that didn't need such detail and not enough detail where it was needed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Good story

    Cute story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    Very good

    Very good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    Really enjoyed this one

    Really enjoyed this one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Nice story!

    Enjoyed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Loved!

    What a great book. I fell in love with bith the characters. Very quick read.. took less then a day to finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    So good!

    Amazing read! Couldn't put it down 5 stars! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3