Customer Reviews for

Backgammon

Average Rating 3
( 280 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(50)

1 Star

(96)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

Backgammon - finally!

It's a very enjoyable version of Backgammon. I like that it has a lot of options and controls - it will help you to make it easier or harder, depends on the skills. Very, very good app!

posted by Alana_S on August 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

85 out of 91 people found this review helpful.

Fun until you want to throw your nook against the wall.

This started out as a fan app. Not bad for a dollar, the graphics and sounds are nice. I recently started playing this game so I was excited to find it on the color. As someone else previously stated, the fun ends when the computer cheats. Anywhere from rolling four...
This started out as a fan app. Not bad for a dollar, the graphics and sounds are nice. I recently started playing this game so I was excited to find it on the color. As someone else previously stated, the fun ends when the computer cheats. Anywhere from rolling four sets of doubles to catch up if you are winning, to moving a different piece than the one you selected. The undo button freezes and you cannot change it when it does this. This occurs every other time while playing it on the easy setting.

posted by Davey_I on October 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    It cheats

    Either this thing cheats or it has the best lucky streak i've ever seen.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Ripoff

    Since i played backgammon i naively thought i wiuld have a chance against the computer but no, FAT chance. Even if you understand the various strategies of the game, you cannot execute them. Save your money.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    Frustrating

    The device always gets the perfect number to get you out- unfair and i hope they fix this problem ortherwise not worth it

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Wish someone would of posted how this game cheats!

    It amazes me how the device always seems to roll the right number to get me in the middle...all the time!!!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    CHEATER

    This is the most one sided game ever! People who say that changing modes helps are wrong. The computer wins 9 times out of 10 and always always gets the roll it needs to send you back. I normally do not get this frustrated with games, but this is definitely a one sided game.HORRIBLE!!!!!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    Like playing a hustler

    I am sorry i bought this, it is no fun to play with a cheater and this game is programmed to gibe you such a disadvatage it is not enjoyable. Everything else about the game is great, i wonder why the developer doesn't jus FIX IT so it:s more fair... so i will not buy any other games from these people until they do, and you shouldn't either. The last game i played the computer got six doubles in a row... the dice are definitely loaded :-(

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    Game cheats

    Device always rolls the perfect dice to take you out, but never lets you get a roll that takes one of its pieces out. The game is rigged bigtime. Prepare to be fustrated.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    App rigs dice rolls or is randomly stupid

    The only way backgmmon can be made easy/medium/hard is if the above is true. The outcome is based on soundness of moves plus randomness of the rolls. Each decision the app makes considers those two factors. It appears the app adjusts the luck of the roll to create each of the 3 realities. More/less sound moves on the users part generates better/less so rolls on the apps part to reinforce the 3 states.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Not Nook worthy

    Want to play an opponent that has no strategy, but gets every possible advantage with the dice? Then this is the game for you. What a waste of an app. I can't believe Nook let this app be sold. Come on Nook, get a decent backgammon game. This one is ridiculous!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    Should have listened to the other reviews...

    Everytime I get close to winning or even a decent streak of game play, the device gets a streak of "lucky" rolls. DO NOT BUY!!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    Anonymous

    Anonymous must be making a cut from sales! Real people are honest about how this game really works. The game can be won, but mostly its just rigged. The rolls are EXACTLY in favor of the device. There is no random rolls. This game would be fun if not so FUSTRATING!!!! You feel cheated!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Do NOT buy!!!!

    Great graphics and would be so much fun but the algorithms result in games that are weighted heavily to the computer. Perfect runs where the computer gets repeated unlikey rolls, 3 to 4 times the numbers of doubles when compared to user, moving the incorrect user pip, repeated games where the user is entirely locked in the middle. I should have read the reviews. This game is hugely frustrating; like playing the biggest cheater you've ever run across. I'd give it a zero if I could.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2013

    THIS GAME CHEATS!! If I could give it less than 1 star I would!

    THIS GAME CHEATS!! If I could give it less than 1 star I would! The game cheats......the device will get multiple doubles in a row - I mean 4 to 5 sets back to back. It also gets combinations that allow it to land on your open game pieces while you do not get combinations to land on the device's open game pieces as often. When you try to come back on the board after being knocked off, you will find that you'll get doubles (consistently) for the post(s) that the device holds (i.e., if the device has 2 men on post 6, you'll roll double 6s so you can't get on; then the device will occupy another post such as post 4; when you roll again you'll either get a roll of 6 and 4 or double 4s or double 6s again so that you still can't get back on the board - frustrating!). It also seems that the longer you play the game, the more you find that you lose. You start out winning more than you lose and then you'll lose more than you win. When you move up a level, you'll start winning more often then progressing to losing more often. I used to enjoy playing backgammon, but playing against a game that cheats takes the joy out of playing and makes it frustrating. I will be deleting the game from my NOOK!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Dice roll in computer's favor

    I am an experienced player; while I did not expext an easy win against the computer, I didn't expect it to flat out cheat. It gets off the bar everytime with the first roll, moves pieces that you didn't select, and rolls consective doubles to get out of a jam. If you're new to the game, you might enjoy at first, but will become very frustrated once you know how to play and can't win.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Wish i read the reviews DO NOT BUY !!

    This game plays with loaded dice, even on easy level. It grants itself the best possible, while giving you the worst. Its not even worth the dollar it cost me. For example... he puts me in the middle with the only covered spot the 4..and several exposed pips for me to knock off. What do i roll? Double 4's ! Next roll he gets doubles and amazingly covers all the previously exposed pips..leaving me all but trapped. If this would happened once in the 5 games i just played...I would think nothing of it. But this kind of improbable chance makes me feal like I'm playing against Matt from the Wheel of Time. I feel cheated.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Anonymous

    I love the game but it is amazing that the computer always lands on my single pieces, but i am RARELY so lucky.
    I don't like cheaters.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Horrible

    Game cheats for itself. No fun. Dont waste your time or money!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Mbf

    I read a lot of the reviews prior to purchase and obviously made note of the negative slant. I have to agree.

    I've played the game for 35 yrs so i'm familiar with playing against an opponent that is having a "good run of luck". If you leave a piece on an open point ANYWHERE on the board, at ANYTIME in a game, the machine draws the die necessary to hit you. If you've purposelly or strategically done this to draw him into a "Back Game" when the machine has pieces uncovered on his inner board, you will find that you, miraculously, are unable to roll the die to get off the bar when you SHOULD have a high probability to do so, so you sit on the bar and watch him roll his way out of trouble.

    Additionally, he accepts the double when it's illogical to do so, & gets these EXTREMELY fortuitous die rolls when you have him down.

    Unfortunate that they couldn't design an app that plays you with integrity - on the level. Perhaps it's not possible....

    Hopefully i can actually GIVE it "No Stars".... Probly not

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    CHEAT CHEAT CHEAP CHEAT CHEAT

    This Agile Fusion game company needs to look at this app. Make it more realistic. Computer rolls are too perfect on any level.
    DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS VERSION!
    Extreme Frustration and just wanna say this game causes ROAD RAGE.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Do not purchase!

    Love backgammon.....but frustrating to play this app when the computer cheats over and over! Wish there was another backgammon app on the nook...don't mind losing but not when the odds are against you EVERY game! Have backgammon for free on my phone....much more enjoyable!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5