Customer Reviews for

Backgammon

Average Rating 3
( 274 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(49)

1 Star

(94)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

Backgammon - finally!

It's a very enjoyable version of Backgammon. I like that it has a lot of options and controls - it will help you to make it easier or harder, depends on the skills. Very, very good app!

posted by Alana_S on August 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

81 out of 87 people found this review helpful.

Fun until you want to throw your nook against the wall.

This started out as a fan app. Not bad for a dollar, the graphics and sounds are nice. I recently started playing this game so I was excited to find it on the color. As someone else previously stated, the fun ends when the computer cheats. Anywhere from rolling four...
This started out as a fan app. Not bad for a dollar, the graphics and sounds are nice. I recently started playing this game so I was excited to find it on the color. As someone else previously stated, the fun ends when the computer cheats. Anywhere from rolling four sets of doubles to catch up if you are winning, to moving a different piece than the one you selected. The undo button freezes and you cannot change it when it does this. This occurs every other time while playing it on the easy setting.

posted by Davey_I on October 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Just what I wanted!

    It's true...this game is agressive and consistently rolls what it needs to succeed; however, I won the vert first game I played! I don't mind losing, as long as I get to play. Well worth the whole buck I spent to get it.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    More Accurate Feedback

    I play at an Expert to World Class level. It was worth .99 cents just to see if there is any validity behind everyones gripes regarding the slanted dice that favor the machine. So I played on the hardest level and backgammoned the computer on the first cubed game to win the match. Enough said. It had 2 chances to leave my home for avoiding BG, and failed to move out. So if anything, I would say that it's too easy for truly advanced players since the ply setting is not increasing with difficuly. But nice graphics, sound and ease of use. Oh, and the undo did not work for me when I mis-clicked once during match. Overall, nice version for learning the game as long as you don't blame the dice. Create your own luck thru tactical play!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Love it. As good as the real thing and it counts spaces for you

    Love it. As good as the real thing and it counts spaces for you.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Not a bad game

    Personally, I think all computer games cheat. However, I also believe that forces you to become a better player. You can beat the computer on this game, I have rolled lots of doubles, it all comes down to straregy. I think this game will make better players, as you meed to maximize your roll to the fullest. In real life, you do not always have the best rolls, real life is not always fair, so why should the virtual world be any different? I like the game. Good deal!

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Decent version

    I found it to be a good version of. I swear it cheats by rolling more doubles then I do. Solution, get agressive cuz it surely is. Have fun, great opponent to play against.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    good game

    plays like traditional backgammon, good graphics, computer partner gets very, very lucky when it is losing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    it's a decent challenge

    It's a decent challenge, but it is a computer game and it cheats. There is no random when it comes to playing a computer. Play it long enough and it is like playing a spoiled child, but the computer can and will beat you, or let you win. But it is a decent game, worth the few bucks it cost.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    pretty cool

    this is not a bad version of backgammon tho there is a couple of things id improve overall the game is fun and challenging but the computer does make stupid moves leaving the overall winning ability a better chance for the human

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    Great game

    Worth the money. I really like to play backgammon and this game really passes time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    Once in a while it will misinterpret my taps, moving unwanted pi

    Once in a while it will misinterpret my taps, moving unwanted pieces with no undo available when the computer is taking its turn. You can change the color of the pieces, but you can only flip between white and black. Doubles happen a lot more in the game than in reality, but this is true for the human player as well as the computer. I suspect every computer dice game has people who think the computer is cheating, but I don't. This game is beautiful and a great choice if you're a fan of Backgammon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Challenging

    It is very challenging and you can win.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2012

    Good Game

    I especially like the two player mode. I would recommend this game.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Small cliche'

    Love the game. Im a backgammon fanactic. Unfortunately this game does not allow force moves. Players should not be able to leave an available move on the board when one of the chips could move. Game needs a fix update. Other than that- love it. Hope the programmers read these reviews!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    Is your coder's name vechs?

    XD He's the only guy I know who could possibly make a bastardized (hard) game like this... ?__________? ~EthanInfiniti

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    Living this

    I play everyday,a gtreat way to pass the x although i am still getting used to the cimputers rules dint quite understand the scoring AND PLEASE UPGRADE TO ACEY DUEY SOON that would b the ultimate

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    It does cheat.

    I love it anyway. It is beatable even at the hardest level. Ido wonder why the game creator felt the need to cheat. It could have been the ultimate version.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    I like it

    Easy navigation. Nice graphics. Rules are easy to understand. I want to play again & again.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    Doubling Cube!

    Good game. Doubling cube messed up, if device offers a double and you refuse, you win game!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    Fun!

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2