Customer Reviews for

Backgammon

Average Rating 3
( 274 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(49)

1 Star

(94)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

Backgammon - finally!

It's a very enjoyable version of Backgammon. I like that it has a lot of options and controls - it will help you to make it easier or harder, depends on the skills. Very, very good app!

posted by Alana_S on August 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

83 out of 89 people found this review helpful.

Fun until you want to throw your nook against the wall.

This started out as a fan app. Not bad for a dollar, the graphics and sounds are nice. I recently started playing this game so I was excited to find it on the color. As someone else previously stated, the fun ends when the computer cheats. Anywhere from rolling four...
This started out as a fan app. Not bad for a dollar, the graphics and sounds are nice. I recently started playing this game so I was excited to find it on the color. As someone else previously stated, the fun ends when the computer cheats. Anywhere from rolling four sets of doubles to catch up if you are winning, to moving a different piece than the one you selected. The undo button freezes and you cannot change it when it does this. This occurs every other time while playing it on the easy setting.

posted by Davey_I on October 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2011

    Backgammon - finally!

    It's a very enjoyable version of Backgammon. I like that it has a lot of options and controls - it will help you to make it easier or harder, depends on the skills. Very, very good app!

    32 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    Love it!

    Works well, no problems with downloading or speed. Just a problem with operator beating the device! :)

    23 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2011

    Super version of backgammon

    wood theme, dice sound, easy to learn, recommend

    23 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2011

    I love this game

    Recommend

    15 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2011

    Cool!

    Cooool!

    13 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    Another great board game for you reader

    If you like or want to learn how to play backgammon this app is for you.

    9 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2011

    Nice

    Great entertaining game! And a big plus - game has How to play part what it very important for me.

    4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    Great Game

    It's definitely a challenge, but a fun one. I love this game and I was able to win a number of times. Plus the design is an eye candy :)

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2011

    I LOVE it

    This is a great app. The last reviewer said that computer cheats - I don't think so. You never know what you will get - it's a change.

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2011

    Backgammon!

    Great Game! P.S. I won many times - change the game mode (easy, med, hard) if you can't beat the NOOK.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I really like this app, its fun and challenging.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    Good game

    Fun game for the Nook. Good graphics and realistic sounds.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2011

    Great game

    Because of the last review I was hesitant. But I'm very glad that I got this game - it is smooth, great graphics, and it;s not slow at all.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    Good game

    I beat the device...15 to 0! I was totally rutheless even jeopardizing my pieces to take the enemy out! (Laughs in a sinister way) People say this game cheats, well it stands no chance against sheer guts and unreasonable tactics! On a more serious note...I did enjoy it (my hysterical struggle for victory), and I was mostly wanting it for it's two player property, as my two girls need to work on sharing and taking turns as well as strategy and tactics. I think this'll be a good game for them! :-D

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Hooked

    I play this when Wi-Fi is not available, it's great. Of course I play when Wi-Fi is available, so maybe I'm just hooked!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Great game

    Backgammon is one of my favorite games and i have had many different app versions and i rank this one the best. For anyone who has ever played any game against a computer or on an app (chess, solitaire etc.) there is always some level of unbelievable house luck that goes along. I find this acceptable and i am still able to win a majority of my games even on the hardest level. I love all of the features on this one especially the fast pace.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Unkown

    I love this game it does seem like that most of the time the computer does give itself the upperhand but that just makes it challenging and fun. It makes you get used to seeing all of the possible moves and picking the right one and it is deffinately worth one dollar.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    Like +1

    Great game idea, and well executed. Works great on my NC. Makes you stop and think about each move.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2011

    Lots of fun

    At first i could not win, but as i got better i now win pretty often, enough to keep me challenged and have fun.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    Wrong!

    Just got the game and won the first two games! Lots of fun!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4