Customer Reviews for

Backpacker

Average Rating 4
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Best outdoor magazine, period

Backpacker is very well written and the reviews are usually spot on. Good if you only go to city parks or great if practically live in the woods, this mag is for everyone who does anything outside. Love the trips they plan for out of the way places.

posted by RichardN on March 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not for the novice

I purchased the e-magazine because as a new hiker I was hoping to gain my knowledge. Backpacker seemed to have nothing for me. Each page is filled with places for those with the money to get there and time on their hands. The articles are written for the already hiking ...
I purchased the e-magazine because as a new hiker I was hoping to gain my knowledge. Backpacker seemed to have nothing for me. Each page is filled with places for those with the money to get there and time on their hands. The articles are written for the already hiking experts and do not give any thought to those of us on a budget and limited time.

posted by William13 on December 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    Best outdoor magazine, period

    Backpacker is very well written and the reviews are usually spot on. Good if you only go to city parks or great if practically live in the woods, this mag is for everyone who does anything outside. Love the trips they plan for out of the way places.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Not for the novice

    I purchased the e-magazine because as a new hiker I was hoping to gain my knowledge. Backpacker seemed to have nothing for me. Each page is filled with places for those with the money to get there and time on their hands. The articles are written for the already hiking experts and do not give any thought to those of us on a budget and limited time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    A must read for any backpacker.

    Every page is packed with useful information about where to hike, how to pack and what to eat. My favorite issue is the review of backpacking products. The release of each issue is a thrill for me, I can't wait to turn the pages to see what information is there. Glad to see that Backpacker is finally on Nook.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    this doesn't open in my nook.

    backpacker and readers digest magazine doesn't open in my nook. i need help to fix it. thanks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    should be free for paid print subscribers

    should be free

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2013

    Only received one issue thus far but it seems pretty cool. I am

    Only received one issue thus far but it seems pretty cool. I am a beginning hiker and there is tons of info in the mag for me. There are tips, tricks, lessons, and LOTS of locations reviewed to go hiking at. Can't wait for my next issue!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    Outstanding Mag for the Backpacker

    Great articles for beginners and excellent source maps for the experienced hiker.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Great Magazine

    So glad this magazine is finally in digital format. Reads great and is easy to follow. Great trip and skills advice. Love the survival stories. I get everything I love about the magazine and the it is easier to manage then a stack of print magazines.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Love it. Great version of one of my favorite magazines.

    If you want to know how to expand your knowledge of the outdoors and get outside more often, this is your magazine. Love how packed with information Backpacker is and the photography in this most recent issue is amazing. Gets me excited to get out there this summer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Lifelist parks and locations come to life on the screen

    For anyone who travels in the outdoors or loves to travel, this magazine is the next best thing to actually being out there on the trails. The photography is amazingly colorful and drool-worthy on the Nook, and you get all of the trail-tested advice that the editors are known for. I can't wait until Backpacker starts adding lots of video to these editions, especially featuring gear editor Kristin Hostetter!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2