BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Backseat Saints

Average Rating 4
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted June 8, 2010

    Dare you to put it down.

    The brilliant, relentless Jackson takes us on her most harrowing trip yet. A raw, unflinching account of domestic abuse from the most complex and interesting female character of the decade; this is not the book to put in your purse and nibble away at while you wait at the dentist! Rose Mae Lolley is anything but a wilting victim. This fierce female is the author of her own fragility, and only when her life is in danger does she act to turn the tables on her bullying husband. Jackson reinvents the concept of escape, as her character turns herself inside out again and again in search of an identity that gets her away. And you won't believe how it ends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Backseat Saints

    My Synopsis:

    Backseat Saints by Joshilyn Jackson

    Rose Mae's life hasn't been easy. Her mother abandoned her at 8 years old to a drunken father who used his fists to teach her about life. All the men in Rose Mae's life have had a penchant for violence, from her first love to her husband, Thom. As Rose Mae ran from Fruition, Alabama, she transformed herself into someone else. When she married Thom, she became Ro Grandee, a young woman who tries desperately to hide the bruises and scars of her violent life.

    When she unexpectedly meets a gypsy in the airport, Ro Grandee learns a hard lesson about her future. The tarot reading she receives lets Ro know that she can't keep Rose Mae Lolly down forever. It's either Rose or Thom! They both cannot survive this relationship. Rose knows what she has to do. But will she be able to do it? With Fat Gretal at her side, Rose Mae goes back to Fruition in search of help, what she finds is an ailing father and more questions than answers about her mother and her reasons for leaving. Will Rose Mae be able to get away from Thom before it's too late? How is the airport gypsy a part of Ro's life? Can a new hair cut and a new name be the answers her heart is looking for?

    My Thoughts:

    This was my first experience with Joshilyn Jackson. I had heard of gods of Alabama before, but had never had the opportunity to read any of her books.

    Jackson has a way of creating unique characters. This book is full of them. Rose Mae/Ro is a character that has had to face a lot of adversity, from her mother's disappearance from her life to her tumultuous relationship with her husband. She is both a strong and weak character. Strong in the fact that she was able to withstand this type of life and weak because she was unable to leave for so long. Rose Mae's character is almost one of a split personality. Rose Mae being the opposite of Ro. One almost enjoying the pain believing she deserves it and the other so desperate for acceptance and love that shes willing to take it.

    Domestic violence is a pretty heavy subject for a novel, but Jackson pulls it off with style. The reader is on the edge of their seat as Rose Mae hides on Wildcat Bluff. They are with her as she flees the Gun shop in the Buick. They watch as she staggers down the stairs and practically into Thom's waiting arms at the end of the novel. The theme of making up for mistakes you've made and finding forgiveness also permeates the book as we see Rose's relationship with her parents. Rose Mae's father and his apology letter, all the way to Rose Mae's mother's great sacrifice for her daughter.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Powerful Read!

    Ro Grandee is going to kill her husband. If she doesn't, he will surely kill her first. After living with a father that beat her, she has married a man equally, if not more, abusive. All it took was a fateful meeting with a tarot-reading gypsy in the airport, and Ro is finally ready to get herself out of her violent life. She begins to channel her younger, stronger self, Rose Mae, and sets out to get some closure and safety.

    I am such a fan of Jackson's books. They are deep family dramas, rich with southern atmosphere and heavy emotions. Taking the character of Jim Beverly from Gods in Alabama (in my opinion, also a 5 star book!) and writing an entirely new story from another point of view was quite a trip. I enjoy it when authors choose to revisit a town and it's characters, as it feels like there was more to tell- that the story wasn't quite done yet.

    I liked that Jackson slipped into southern dialect where it was relevant. Dialect can sometimes be terribly distracting, but it this case it was used to really flesh out the characters of Rose Mae's father and high school friends, to show the reader what her younger life was like. The writing was very powerful, often taking my breath away with it's stark honesty. It is hard to make something like domestic violence beautiful to read, but Jackson took Rose Mae's emotions and made them into something tangible that the reader can identify with and swallow. It may have been a hard book to stomach at times (especially the scenes with abuse), but I would read it all over again in a heartbeat.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Rose Mae Lolley may be my favorite Jackson heroine thus far. Com

    Rose Mae Lolley may be my favorite Jackson heroine thus far. Complex, an overcomer, a girl with a double dose of grit. Jackson proves a novelist can write larger-than-life characters who aren't professional football players or international movie stars and still produce a world-class book. Her characters are people who populate our lives, in this case a woman caught in a cycle of physical abuse. 5+ Stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    What a Ride!

    Another winner by Joshilyn Jackson – full of southern wit and some strong bad-ass women! I listened to the audio version (highly recommend as she is quite the storyteller) and she does it so well! Gripping, full of suspense and quirky characters, and as usual the author knows how to entertain southern style!

    This book covers so much, from abuse (father and husband) the author tells the story from a first person point of view and the main character (Ro) has two different personalities (Roe Grandee) –the lovely submissive housewife, which can be as sweet as honey no matter how much she is a punching bag and (Rose Mae Lolley) - grew up when her mother left her with her father which began abusing her. Later she became (Ivy) to hide from her abuser. As usual, at the hand of abuse – she stays as there are good times thinking he would change until the bad next time comes around once again.

    After many trips to the hospital, she finds a friendship with her next door neighbor (loved her), and when she takes her to the airport, she meets a tarot card reader (who happens to be her mom). She tells her she must kill her husband before he kills her.

    She plans a few different ways to make this happen (trying to shoot him herself), develop a new identity and leave town, and trying to track down an old boyfriend to do it for her.

    Full of emotionally damaged characters: Rose, her mother, her father, her husband, all who are dealing with the consequences of a life of bad choices. A page- turner from the first page to the last, full of humor, sass, and southern mischief!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    Poiuig Wwqqqwzseww

    S

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2013

    Once I got to the middle it was hard to put down.

    Once I got to the middle it was hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Sacary!

    The guy who wrote this book is ugly! The gril looked more like a rancore!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    This is an excellent exploration of how screwed up womens psche can be from mom to daughter.

    Another great one by Ms. Jackson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Excellent!!

    Great story teller. Couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Homerun!

    Each book gets better and better. My fav isbthe first one i picked up,w which was The Girl Who Stopped Swimming. All of her books are amazing. Never disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Loved it!

    Another great read from Joshilyn Jackson!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Never disappoints

    As a DV survivor, I found this book extremely honest. Once again she has written a book that will keep you turning pages well after bedtime. Certainly one of the best in the field.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Awesome book, awesome author.

    Awesome book, awesome author

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    What is it about Southern writers?

    I love the way they love the language. Joshilyn Jackson creates ripping good stories with characters that are complex. People you care about warts and all. These are people who want to be better, but are stuck in their humanity. I love these books...they're like dessert.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    highly recommended

    this is a great book, I think people can identify with it in more ways than one, the mask that ro puts on everyday

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    Joshilyn Jackson does it again!

    Another wonderful read from Joshilyn Jackson. Ro Grandee is living a life that she's very familiar with, since she's living the life of her mother. Why, though, is she still with her abusive husband -- unlike her mother who left when she was only eight? And when did the feisty Rose Mae Lolley, her previous self, start hiding beneath bruises and long-sleeved shirts without fighting back, simply content to remain Ro Grandee? Ro isn't sure how it happened, but she realizes that she needs to find Rose Mae somewhere within herself again and become something greater than she's ever been: herself. In the fight to find herself, she will learn more about her past that will launch her into her future. Will that lead to a strong, self-reliant woman, or one who just goes back to what she's always known? A perfect read for anyone who isn't sure if she can find her own strength without relying on others to provide it -- or for anyone who isn't even sure she needs to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    Kritters Ramblings

    Wow, what a book! I definitely took a few days to fully digest this book. Full of very serious issues - parental abuse, spousal abuse and more.

    A story about a young woman in a horrible relationship who finds herself on a quest to find herself, her past and her future. I couldn't believe the adventures she had been through, she was one tough chick. I am still processing the book and am excited to say I have talked my book club into putting it on the list for the next year, so I will be rereading it in May.
    I loved how her life parralleled her mom's life and the ending which I cannot spoil just took me for a spin. A powerful story about how a child's upbringing affects them for the REST of their lives. And also how we as children usually repeat our parents mistakes.

    I would recommend this book to all of my female friends, especially those who have both strong and interesting relationships with their mothers. Definitely a must read, especially when you are ready for a thick one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    Meh...

    I was a little disappointed with this book. I had very high expectations because this is the follow up to one of my favorite books, gods in Alabama. There were times when I was fully invested in the plot, and others where I simply thiught the storyline was forced and farfetched. Overall, it was a quick, fun at times read, but I still say skip it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    Compelling

    This book had me from the very beginning. It was a fascinating story and the heroine was someone that I really rooted for. I couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5