Customer Reviews for

Backseat Saints

Average Rating 4
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 9, 2013

    Once I got to the middle it was hard to put down.

    Once I got to the middle it was hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Loved it!

    Another great read from Joshilyn Jackson!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    Kritters Ramblings

    Wow, what a book! I definitely took a few days to fully digest this book. Full of very serious issues - parental abuse, spousal abuse and more.

    A story about a young woman in a horrible relationship who finds herself on a quest to find herself, her past and her future. I couldn't believe the adventures she had been through, she was one tough chick. I am still processing the book and am excited to say I have talked my book club into putting it on the list for the next year, so I will be rereading it in May.
    I loved how her life parralleled her mom's life and the ending which I cannot spoil just took me for a spin. A powerful story about how a child's upbringing affects them for the REST of their lives. And also how we as children usually repeat our parents mistakes.

    I would recommend this book to all of my female friends, especially those who have both strong and interesting relationships with their mothers. Definitely a must read, especially when you are ready for a thick one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    Compelling

    This book had me from the very beginning. It was a fascinating story and the heroine was someone that I really rooted for. I couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2010

    Gripping!

    In Backseat Saints, Joshilyn Jackson spins yet another great story of a young southern woman with a dark history filled with violence and deception. Though her story falls under the categorical heading of Southern chick-lit, Rose Mae Lolley is anything but a Southern belle. In a story that twists and turns itself across the south, Jackson captivates her reader with a gripping storyline. Her language is so descriptive the reader can almost smell the setting and feel the violence.

    While I recommend the book, I must confess that, like Rose Mae's relationships with the men in her life, my relationship with Backseat Saints is tumultuous. On its own, the novel drew me into Ro's story, making me yearn to know more about her and to see to what end she and Thom Grandee would arrive. As a prequel to Gods in Alabama, the novel is a disaster. Humor illuminates the darkness in Gods in Alabama; nothing lightens the darkness and violence of Backseat Saints. Jackson teases the reader that there maybe humor when Ro spits in a cup of cocoa she is preparing for a customer at the diner where she works; but, this turns out to be an isolated incident placed only to allow the reader a glimpse into Ro's underlying psyche.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2010

    hard to put down

    I didn't think I was going to like this book once I started reading it, but the suspense of waiting to see what Rose was going to do, and when she was going to do it, was enough to keep me reading it every free time I had. It's hard to understand why battered women stay with the men who hurt them so much, but this book did a pretty good job of describing Rose's difficulty in deciding how she was going to deal with it, and how she was going to leave him. Just when you think she's in the clear, a surprise happens that you didn't see coming.

    However, I wish the ending was different, that Rose would finally stand on her own two feet. I was mystified by the inclusion of a chapter from "gods of Alabama" until I read it over again and found that it ties the two stories together, which is a neat trick. So I have to say I really liked this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2