Customer Reviews for

The Backsmart Fitness Plan

Average Rating 4.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2008

    It Is Never Too Late!

    As a female approaching 50, I have attempted many fitness programs only to be interrupted by an injury. I was intrigued by Adam Weiss's book, The Backsmart Fitness Plan, because he emphasizes fitness without injury or strain. After reading through the book, I now understand why my attempts to improve my health through exercise have failed. I have developed a beginners program using the guidelines in his book. My focus is on improving my overall posture, along with weight training exercises. In particular, I highly recommend the stretches referred to in Chapter 4 for proper spinal alignment. The author has the knowledge and experience to provide good tools for exercise without injury and the suggested exercises with photographs make it simple for one to follow.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2007

    Very Good Book

    I have done this workout for 2 months now and I have less pain and lost weight around my waist and my core feels stronger. Easy to follow instructions throughout the entire book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2006

    Backsmart Fitness Plan

    I am a practicing physician (internal medicine), and have recently had the bad luck of needing some help for my back following a sport injury a few months back. After trying the typical ice, rest and meds that I have recommended in the past to my patients with minor improvement, I searched the fitness and healing sections of big chain bookstores, and selected this one. Although it does not, go into detailed descriptions of the mechanics of the spine and musculature, in my opinion that sort of detail is unnecessary except to the curious or student type. This book will be fine for the vast majority of people with the most common kinds of back pain. I found the real value in this book to be the adaptable approach, with exercises that accomplish the mission without ¿causing or exacerbating¿ back pain. I would even recommend this book to people who are looking for a beginner's exercise regimen or the weekend warrior type, regardless of whether they've ever had back pain. I'll confess that as a specialist, in the past I've often referred patients who mentioned back problems who didn¿t improve to an orthopedist, or told them to go find a book because I believed that exercise was the method, but I didn't know the details. Now I do, and I plan to refer many patients with 'typical' back pain to this book rather than to the specialist .Not only is it more affordable then a typical doctors visit, the author offers such an variety of exercises it¿s worth a look.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2006

    Less Pain

    I have lived with chronic pain for the last four years. I am old (61:) and very active physically. I have suffered pain that would normally be associated with having severe lower disk problems or maybe a pinched nerve - plus my low back muscles have been very painful. I work out carefully every day. I have had 2 MRI's in the last year plus a bone scan. I have seen a Neuro Surgeon, Orthopedic surgeon, chiropractor (s) family doctor, spinal surgeon and two physiotherapists. All of them have been helpful in some ways but no one can really help me or tell me what my problem is. I purchased this book along with Framework. I read The Backsmart 1st and started the exercises. I have less pain as the results of the exercises. It is over one month and I awake every morning wondering if my pain is back. I do the morning stretches followed by the modified Pilates exercises and have added the weight training exercises. Extra bonus I have lost 8 pounds since starting the program. Also recommend reading of FrameWork , also helped me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2006

    Backsmart Fitness Plan

    This book from beginning to end was an interesting read. It starts off with a exercise quiz follow by the author talking about his life and how he got started and how he went though different phases of fitness levels and to how he progressed to where he is today. I especially like his wit and his comments . I really liked towards the end of the book he included several routines that are easy to follow and will help you achieve the results you need and want. This book was enjoyable to read and definitely expanded my knowledge base and gave me insider tips on how to get the best workout and results possible! I will always keep this book handy for reference!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2006

    Balanced program

    The Backsmart Fitness lays out a very balanced program that will hit all areas. I would get this book either if you are a beginner or a veteran. I'm sure that one can learn some component to add to your program. The pictures make the exercises easy to follow and the step by step descriptions are very helpful. With many exercises and weeks of programs, one can get a lot out of this book. What some people may incorrectly complain about is that there is no hype, or secret techniques to this book. What people should realize is that the basics performed consistently will take you much further than the 'gimmicks' you find in other celebrity type workout programs.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2006

    Backsmart Fitness Plan

    Whether you're just starting out with a new exercise program or hoping to add a few new ones to your routine this book will help you. I have been training over 30 years and have done my share of yoga, pilates, trampoline workouts (Fat Flush Book), free weights and spinning classes. I too have been diagnosis with arthritis in my lower back and neck. I have gone to physical therapist, chiropractors, occupational therapist and tried many drugs my medical doctor recommend. All of them told me the best thing to do is to strengthen my body and keep moving. The Backsmart Fitness Plan offers means of learning proper technique and practicing them repeatedly so when you workout, it's all second nature to you. It's like having an knowledgeable trainer who you enjoy learning from telling you what to do next and what to look out for that may cause you back problems in the gym. The author breaks down the book into easy to understand manner and sections so you can work your important core or at home workouts with weights. Chapter1 starts with a quiz to test your knowledge and your potential for injuries. Chapter 2 - the author discusses his own back pain issues and how he developed his method of training.- Very motivating to me. Chapter 3 Keys for a successful workout was full of good information on the number of sets and reps to perform during a workout, includes how to chart your workouts. The second half of the book gets into the workouts themselves. I learn new ways to stretch and learn why some stretches I could never do aren¿t good for me anyways. Chapter 4 on stretching- some old ones at the beginning, the later part of the chapter offered some very interesting stretches I could feel right away. Chapter 5 strengthening your midsection- I agree with other reviewers there are some good ab exercises that I haven't done or forgot about. Chapter 6 Balance drills- was very helpful to me since I never tried them in my workouts. Hard to do at the end of your workouts. Also recommend 'Get On the Ball' for more ball exercises besides this book. Chapter 7 Home workouts- easy to follow and can be done just about anywhere. Good if you travel a lot and don't have access to a gym. Chapter 8 Gym workout- The cable workouts was different, while the others are basic recommendations for most gym users. Chapter 9 Creating your workout- this is where you see how to put all the exercises together for a great workout. There is a workout in there for anyone. I changed the order of my workout after reading this chapter. Chapter 10 Diet tips- Simple and straight forward information. The author does not recommend any strange foods or powders to consume to get into shape. Eat more fruits, veggies etc..Mom was right! Chapter 11 Injuries and Preventions- was worth the price of the book I agree with other reviewers. I learn why I was always reinjurying myself with exercises and machine at the health club. Most recommend chapter besides the stretching and stomach chapters. I love Barns and Noble stores and online website- simple and easy to use. I just wished they let you look inside the book like that other online store. My loyalty will remain with Barns and Noble because it's the best! I too bought this book and the other books I list at the bottom based on others comments and looking at the books at the book stores. I wonder what motatives a person to write nothing about the book as the person below does and then it gets posted? Oh and I have no relationship with the publisher, nor the author, but I do hope to the author continues to write on this important subject. I truly think people who wrote about this book was helped in some way. I hope this book review was helpful to you. Also checkout the other books recommended below.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2005

    Backsmart Fitness Plan

    I had been feeling podgy and lethargic and suffered from back pain on and off ever since my daughter was born 2 years ago. I bought this book in an attempt to kick start a healthier lifestyle, get more energy and to tone up. I have tried many types of exercise but I have NEVER experienced such instant and impressive results. I swear that even after the first couple of weeks I looked and felt more toned and by the fifth week everyone kept asking me 'how did you do it!'. I have been working out for 10 weeks now and am already using heavier weights and really enjoying the sessions. I am a single mom who works as well so I do not have loads of time to go to the gym or money for expensive equipment. I have managed the programe with a set of weights and that's about it. The book is really well laid out and the photos are especially helpful. This book covers every base (and includes women training as well), and also provides a nice bio into the doctor¿s life, which sheds some light on how he struggled with back pain and over came his injuries to reach full health. The book also has added authenticity as well by showing everyday people performing the excercises, and tips etc. I would recommend this to any beginner and certainly any one trying to get in shape and has injuries before. The routines cover everything from beginner to more advance moves It is excellent value for money. My friends and family are so impressed since starting ,they want to try it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2005

    Ground Breaking!

    This book is a beacon of rational thought in a field with psuedoscience and chalatans who prey on the desperation of individuals who belive they are destined to suffer from back pain and years of wasted therapy. Dr. Weiss offers hope and the most rational advice I have seen to date in any book on the subject of back pain and exercises, let alone getting into shape without the pain. I found relief with the BackSmart Fitness Plan suprisingly accessible book in which the language is personal and unintimidating and the medical explanations on injuries and prevent are presented with such elegant simplicity that you will think that you are talking directly with the doctor yourself. While Dr. Weiss is an expert, he doesn't push one concept over anthor therapy rather he shows balancment and very useful exercises using body weight ony, free weights, machines and modified pilates and ball exercises never seen before to me or my friends who workout regularly. The use of the wall was very progressive and very fun to do in my workouts. the doctor also discusses the usfulness of the movements and the order in which they should be performed helped me a lot in understanding how the body works at it's best. His discussions add clarity without being condescending or filled with technical jargon like many books on this subject. The photographs(over 100) are so helpful and carefully described that you will not want to part with this book. A great tool to over come my back pain and I have lost 8 pounds since starting this program and i feel my midsection getting firmer . Strongly recommend to any one of all fitness levels having back pain or none at all. Great book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2005

    Great back fitness program

    I was given the privilege to receive a publisher copy of this book before it was released. It's an excellent book with sound advice for people suffering from low back pain to begin rehabilitation of the lumbar spine. This book guides you through simple stretches that are important in maintaining muscular balance and continues with important core stabilization exercises that helps you strengthen both your abdominals and critical deep lumbar muscles. We have begun to incorporate many of the principles of the back smart fitness program with all our patients. Recent research shows that chiropractic spinal manipulation followed by a well-designed exercise program achieves the best results in acute and chronic low back patients. I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2007

    Backsmart Fitness Plan

    This is not only an excellent book for strength training, it also has good guidelines for performing exercises correctly and tips for getting more out of each movement. It goes beyond most similar books in detail and the diagrams are great without being overly complicated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2006

    Backsmart Fitness

    The Backsmart Fitness Plan will offer readers who have back pain like myself a way to improve our strengthen and flexibility while getting into great shape. I gave this book a 5 out of 5 star for it's detailed layout and tons and tons of exercises!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2006

    I really recommend this book

    I really think everyone trying to or looking for better ways to get into shape should read this book. This book gives great workout techniqes and ways to refuel your body. The writer also gives a great backround on how he got to be where he is today(after suffering back pain for years) by using the work out he includes in the book. Since I `ve read this book I picked up on at least 12 new exercises to my workout and a hand full of stretches to use. If you are looking for a new work out program or just looking to improve your shape this is a book that should be added to your library

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2006

    A good manual of exercise advice

    This is essentially a book of exercise advice - exercises and routines designed to help people with back problems. It's certainly comprehensive covering tons of stretches, pilates, swiss-ball, bodyweight, free weights, machines and cables machines. It coveres a lot of non back exercises. Overall it's a good book and one worth buying for the back sufferer who already has the usual back exercise books. It gives you a whole-body approach. It offers good weights exercises that won't hurt your weak back which is useful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2006

    Wall Stretches - a must see!

    I give this book 5 stars because Dr. Adam Weiss has given me a tool I never knew existed - wall stretches! I have, over the years, overused my shoulders, rotator cuffs and delts. Recovery used to mean 'do nothing.' Now that I do the shoulder wall stretches on a regular basis, I no longer have a recovery period! He seems very well versed in athletic injury & recovery from personal experience. I respect this and am grateful for his knowledge.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2006

    Backsmart Fitness Plan

    If you're tired of fads, hype and failure and are prepared to make some small life adjustments this program will work. It's science - not magic. Dr. Weiss understands the lives of people who are in pain and, athletes who just don¿t want to quit! He¿s respectful, encouraging and realistic while building a compelling case for adopting specific life style modifications and challenging exercises that can help you become less prone to injuries while getting into shape. This isn't a diet book. It's a guide to fitness and wellness. Good luck.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2006

    The Backsmart fitness

    Wonderful book, I learned a lot of new exercses and lost weight along the way!Good for everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2006

    Good Book to Have

    I felt that Dr. Weiss did a complete job at giving practical Knowledge and advise on how to take care of your self and implement easy and successful strategies to follow. I would say above many other books in this category, it encompasses the key factors to fitness and health, not just one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2006

    Helps with Daily activities

    The premise is that everyone needs good basic training to take good care of one's body and function well for daily activities such as unloading groceries, lifting kids in and out of strollers etc. The Backsmart Fitness offers functional strength needed for everyday life as well as athletics comes from developing the entire body, not from doing something very isolated like bicep curls that one might want to do for cosmetic rather than functional reasons. The author offers a wide a assortment of exercises that isolate one muscle and the next followed by multiple muscle groups working together at the same time. Since most movements in daily life and sports involve multiple muscle groups this is an excellent choice of exercises from working the stomach to hips and thighs together. This type of training supports those every day movements and is thus also highly efficient for developing overall functional strength and coordination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2005

    Motivating!

    'The Backsmart Fitness Plan' will 'The Backsmart Fitness Plan' will motivate you to change your exercise program and lose weight. The author explains his unique fitness philosophy with detailed descriptions and straight forward pictures of exercises and how to do them. It's a great book with a through, detailed p[lan from stretching, weights, core training(the abs exercises alone was worth the price I paid) , and a simple diet plan. you to change your exercise program and lose weight. The author explains his unique fitness philosophy with detailed descriptions and straight forward pictures of exercises and how to do them. It's a great book with a through, detailed plan from stretching, weights, core training(the abs exercises alone was worth the price I paid) , and a simple diet plan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2