BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Backstage Pass (Sinners on Tour Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 305 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(183)

4 Star

(87)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

So once again, I've hit a book that is almost too much for my p


So once again, I've hit a book that is almost too much for my poor brain to wrap around. I am on sensory overload. So I am going to break this baby down into two segments: the story and the sex. Sound good? Let's do this!

The story. Myrna is a sexual behavior professo...

So once again, I've hit a book that is almost too much for my poor brain to wrap around. I am on sensory overload. So I am going to break this baby down into two segments: the story and the sex. Sound good? Let's do this!

The story. Myrna is a sexual behavior professor at a conference. She happens to see members of her favorite band, Sinners, having a great time drinking in the hotel. She introduces herself to the band, and quickly becomes acquainted with them. They would all love to get down with her, but she has her eyes on Master Sinclair, lead guitarist. Brian "Master" Sinclair is actually the master at getting his heart broken. He repeatedly falls for his girlfriends, only to have his heart stomped on when they cheat, usually with his bandmates. When he meets Myrna, Brian is immediately smitten. He falls hard for the beautiful professor with an exciting sexual appetite. The problem is, Myrna doesn't want love. She only wants right now. So Brian sets out to win Myrna's heart. To give her a reason to stay with him. Forever.

BACKSTAGE PASS was a terrific story. I love a great romance with a strong, secure female lead. Myrna is a force. She knows what she wants, in life and in the bedroom. Her lack of naivete was a welcome change from what I typically see in romance novels. Brian was beyond wonderful. I'm a firm believer that there are fewer things in life sexier than rock stars. When you add the fact that Brian is a hopeless romantic, a one woman man..well, that just seals the deal for me. I absolutely loved him. The road these two take, in getting to really know one another, the give-and-take that transpires as they slowly build a relationship, was gorgeous. I loved that author Olivia Cunning really took her time with Brian and Myrna. Stories like that make the payoff so much sweeter.


Now for the smexy times. *rubs hands together* This is one. hot. book. HOT! Listen, you know how I just said that rock stars are the sexiest things ever? Scratch that. Rock stars who hear music when they're making love and use their lover's body to write the notes on are the hottest things ever. Ever. I just...my brain wants to 'splode when I imagine it. Hot. As for the adventures of Myrna and Brian. Talk about wild. I totally felt like I should take notes while I was reading. Myrna is determined to explore every naughty fantasy she's ever had. Brian is more than willing to share them with her. I have to admire her, the woman knows what she wants and has the cajones to say it. I won't go into all the naughty bits, and there are a lot. Let's just say I will never look at cherry suckers the same way ever again. *falls over dead*

It would be an epic understatement to say I really liked this book. BACKSTAGE PASS is a book I shall re-read many times, probably when I need a good pick-me-up. I am ridiculously excited to read book two, ROCK HARD. I already have book three, DOUBLE TIME, on pre-order. Olivia Cunning is now an "auto buy" author for me. So if you like hot guys, strong women and sexy times, this series is for you!

posted by Andreat78 on June 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Pass On It

Boring, predictable, and incredibly unrealistic. None of the characters had any likeable traits. The plot was completely unbelievable - a college professor studies the behaviors of groupies, but never realizes that she's doing exactly the same thing? I have no desire or...
Boring, predictable, and incredibly unrealistic. None of the characters had any likeable traits. The plot was completely unbelievable - a college professor studies the behaviors of groupies, but never realizes that she's doing exactly the same thing? I have no desire or plans to read the other books in this series.

posted by UrbanGurl on July 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted July 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great book if you are interested in a love story with great sex

    Great book if you are interested in a love story with great sex scenes !!! can not wait to start the second book:)) enjoy enjoy enjoy !!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Wow

    This is such a great book! I have put this on my list to tell my fellow readers out there!!!! Money so well spent!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2011

    Solid Debut

    To be clear, this is an erotica novel. Except for the abundance of super hot sex, though, it doesn't read like most erotica at all after the first 10 percent of the book. There is an actual plot, and the characters have depth. There is a connection between the main couple that goes beyond the next orgasm. I will admit to having serious doubts about the validity of the positive reviews at the beginning of the book. The scene detailing the initial meeting between Human Sexuality professor Myrna Evans and The Sinners seemed stilted and forced, not at all realistic on a lot of levels. But once Myrna decides to travel with the band for the summer, the story started to grab me and by the time I was halfway through, I didn't want the book to end. I am so delighted that each Sinner is getting his own story!

    Brian is a beta hero to die for. He is looking for love, a connection, something permanent and real. After we meet his parents, his motivations become more clear. He wants Myrna from the first, and is way more invested in their relationship than she appears to be.

    Myrna is harder to get to know and like. We get her motivation in the form of inner dialogue that regurgitates her experiences with her stalker ex husband, but the lady has some deep seeded issues that make her kind of hard to like. That said, the reader can understand why Myrna is the way she is, and when she tells off Brian's father, she redeems herself mightily.

    The boys in the band are well drawn, with surprising depth. Again, I am looking forward to each one of their books. Especially Trey.


    The good - Characters. Sex. Ms. Cunning writes realistic men. They act like guys, not like women think they want guys to act.

    The not as good - Myrna is tough to get to know and like. Also, the story requires some suspension of belief. Back in another lifetime (late 80's, early 90's), I knew a lot of local band folk, and knowing how they acted made it hard for me to buy in to certain parts of the storyline. The partying, the drinking, the sex - very realistic. The guitar god going for a 35 year old in a suit? Who wants them to clean their tour bus? Not so much. And to her credit, the author addresses the age issue. Small, nitpicky issue that probably would not bother your average reader, but kept pulling me out of the story.

    Some parts of the story were not really resolved. There is a menage scene that had heavy emotional impact, in which a plot twist was alluded to, but nothing came of it. This was the most intriguing scene in the entire book for me, though. Lots of potential for angst, and I am sure we will hear more about the issue that was uncovered in an upcoming book.

    All in all, I was won over by Backstage Pass. I was impressed with the depth of the characters, especially Brian. Looking forward to the rest of the series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Totally hot and steamy but...

    $8+ for less than 300 pages?!? Rethinking purchasing the others in this series after i look at the info of kilabytes. Fool me once.....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    Whoa

    Ok. You want something hot, steamy, and open-minded, this is your book. It is well written and fasted paced. I was a little concerned about the amount of certaint bodily fluids being thrown around but, hey to each thier own. Heres the deal...you want something NEW, this is it. It is truly what you would expect to happen in a rock band hotel room...and more. All the characters are pretty likeable..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Backstage Pass (Sinners on Tour #1) by Olivia Cunning Omg, pleas

    Backstage Pass (Sinners on Tour #1) by Olivia Cunning
    Omg, please don't think I'm a total perv for reading these books but I had no idea how 'explicit' this one really was. I selected it from a Goodreads list and promptly figured out why it was so highly rated. Cunning is a great writer unlike a lot of romance novelists. This is the first in a series where Cunning writes about a metal band called Sinners who have 5 bandmates. In this story she follows the unlikely romance between a college professor and the bassist in a heavy metal band. Explicit, ah-hem, scenes are written very well without being corny and it gives a pretty accurate (not that I was ever a groupy) view of the life of a rock band on tour. Hey, I was alive in the 80's and went to many a concerts, plus I saw the movie Rockstar with Marky Mark. Anyway, I just really got lost in this story. It was a page turner.
    If you are looking for a well written, sexy read, this is your book. Great characters, plot and you won't want to put it down until the last page. I will report back on the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Good

    Gonna like this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Very sexy

    I love her books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    Highly Recommend!

    HOT HOT HOT!! This definitely a book I will read again and again! Master Brian Sinclair...mmm mmm mmm! He is sweet, SEXY, loveable, protective, kinky, talented...what more do you need?!? The other characters in SINNERS are just as riveting. They all make you wan tot dig deeper into their character. I loved that there was actually a compelling storyline along with a lot of SEXY TIME! :) Great read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Great read

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Myrna, a college Human Sexuality professor is thrilled to see th

    Myrna, a college Human Sexuality professor is thrilled to see the members of Sinners after speaking at a seminar. She talks with the members for awhile and invites Brian, the lead guitarist back to her room so she can take care of him. Little did he know that she just wanted to nurse him back to health after his drinking binge. The next morning when they both wake up it gets freaking hot. While having sex, Brian starts humming and asks for something to write on. Not finding anything, he writes his new riff on her back and later shows his band members. This pretty much cements Myrna's place of being with Brian and around the band.

    The sex scenes are all scorching, but I found it a little bit repetitive with Brian scrambling for a piece of paper and a pen to write a song. The story revolves around Myrna and Brian, but includes the rest of the band as well, since most of the book is while they're at shows, on the bus, at a hotel, etc. It is well written and was one of those books where I had to read it in one sitting. I fell in love with the characters and had to know more.

    I suggest this book if you like erotica, and rock stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2012

    The biggest problem with great books is that you never get aroun

    The biggest problem with great books is that you never get around to reading them fast enough. That’s the case with Olivia Cunning’s Backstage Passes, the first in her Sinners on Tour series.

    It’s the story of a woman we know as Myrna, a psychologist who happens to specialize in human sexuality. She’s also had a very private thing for sexy guitarist Brian Sinclair, a thing she never expects to come anywhere near fulfilling – until she runs into the band. She’s staying in the hotel for a conference. The band, sans security, is on tour. Myrna likes Brian. Brian, even in his drunken state, likes Myrna. He’s not too drunk, so off they go, embarking on a torrid affair that is really this book’s strength.

    Now, I’ve read plenty of erotica. I have plenty of friends who write it. None handle the merge of sex scenes and storyline as adeptly as Ms. Cunning. The action doesn’t grind to a halt while Myrna and Brian to get it on, for pages at a time. It makes sense within the story, and even though it does last for pages – hey, he’s a rocker. What do we expect, if not longevity? – it’s inventive, hot, and just tawdry enough to let us see that Myrna’s not merely living out her fantasies featuring Brian Sinclair, she’s living out every fantasy every woman has ever had about a rock star.

    Best of all, Cunning lets Myrna experiment with sex in a safe setting – and is brave enough to let her not like certain elements, at least on the first go-round. Brian is also evolved enough to accept her comfort level. Is it too idealistic? You read and decide.

    For all the good, there are some issues. Brian’s parents are a bit too good to be true, and the good psychologist finds a solution to the estrangement from his father that doesn’t take any particular skill to work out. Myrna herself seems awfully unaware of sex, its ramifications, and other mental issues that you’d expect of an expert in human sexuality. Not that she should walk around spouting off sexual facts or commenting on what it means when Eric gets involved in an encounter with Brian without it turning into a threesome, but she should have more awareness of what’s at play here. And finally, the situation with her ex comes into play too late, almost as if it’s an afterthought, a spot where conflict via a subplot was called for, so something materialized out of thin air. While many romances would have Myrna more aware of the threat Jeremy posed to the point where it gets to be too much, some middle ground in the form of an inkling earlier on would have been better.

    And then there’s the rock and roll details. The band drives its own tour bus? Roadies are enlisted to drive Myrna’s car? The bus seems more like a Winnebago, which is fine if you’re on the Warped Tour, but The Sinners aren’t doing Warped. They’re represented as being on a bus. Also, when you’re on a guest list, you need to show ID, which means you can’t have a cutsie last name given to you by an impertinent band member. There are other details that suggest this isn’t Ms. Cunning’s area of strength, but she redeems herself by creating a band full of characters who live and breathe. They aren’t cliché in the least.

    Still, this is an erotic romance, and it’s there that Ms. Cunning shines. She’s smart enough to let her rockers have warts, and she lets Myrna not only see them, but accept them. The exception would be the conflict with his father, where it’s Myrna to the rescue so she can prove her love for her man.

    I don’t know many people who read erotic romance for the storyline or the authenticity of the rock and roll lifestyle details. Not as their first desire, anyway. It’s about the sex, and I’ve read enough of the erotic stuff that I’ve got no issue saying that she’s one of the best out there—although I will apologize to my many friends who write erotic romance. This is by no means a cut to you guys. Rather, it’s high praise for Ms. Cunning, whose sex is inventive and creative. It fits the story – and best of all, as the relationship progresses, the sex scenes become mentions, nothing more. It’s a mirror for how a real-life relationship plays out: all hot at first, then tapering off into something comfortable and right. And while the loss of these wildly fun scenes is noted, the storyline is strong enough, despite its flaws, to keep our interest. And those characters? You just want to spend days more with them.

    I can’t wait to pick up the second book in the series. It’s sitting on my shelf, waiting for me.

    Like I said, you can never get to the great ones soon enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    Loved it!!!

    This was a hot book to read. I couldn't get enough. LOVE Brian! Looking forward to the rest if the series. :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Not for the faint of heart

    Good story with a lot of steam. Love the series so far

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2012

    Definitely erotica! Beside that it is a good well written full

    Definitely erotica! Beside that it is a good well written full length novel - but most definitely erotica!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Ummm¿where to begin!

    Even though this book was filled with a whole lot of super hot, steamy and in many ways - unconventional sex - I found it to be entertaining considering how the story developed and that it had a plot. WARNING: This book contains hot, steamy and naughty naughty naughty! Most people may need a LONG COLD SHOWER after reading this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    Worth reading! Great story. Erotic read but has an interesting p

    Worth reading! Great story. Erotic read but has an interesting plot and believable characters. Actually, a 4.5 stars book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    OMG!!!

    Ok. I decided to get this book after reading about it on a blog. They compared the characters to the guys from Avenged Sevenfold (so sexy) and I had to get it. Boy oh boy!! What a ride!! I enjoyed this book ALOT!!! I can't wait to enjoy the others. There is a lot of drama. Some points I really wanted to knock Brian in the head. I love that she was his muse...his inspiration...and his writing pad. LOL!! I bought this on my nook but want to get all of them in paperback.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    A Day in the Life of a Rock Star

    Capitivating from beginning to end. The complexity of being a talented musican while dealing with developing love, can be like a game of chess - challenging to navigate.

    This story is about lead guitarist Brian "Master" Sinclair and Mryna Evans. Their story is not for the faint at heart. Their intimate interaction is forward in nature for they entertain an adventurous style that could be considered too much. However, the character and personality Brian posseses makes him seem real and not a fictitous, for he implements patience and consistency. A tender heart but not a push over, Brian. Mryna, is emotionally stilted due to her past yet slowly manages to get over it to proceed with future with Brian.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    Loved it and hated it

    I had mixed feelings on this book. I love the premise of the book. Growing up in the 80's, who didn't have a crush on a rock star? I'm married to a bass player who got out of the scene when he turned 30, so I didn't have to deal with the groupie stuff, thankfully! First, I hated Myrna's name. It annoyed me every time time I saw it on the page. She meets Brian, a famous musician that she happens to admire, by chance while she's at a work conference and immediately starts an affair with him. This book is very steamy, but some of it was a bit over the top (i.e. sticking our tongues in strange holes on the first date). Maybe if that activity came later on in the relationship, I could have accepted it easier. I had a hard time believing the connection between Myrna and Brian, other than the great sex. Which was constant. It was hard to see why he loved her. Most of the story is them having sex, the rest is Myrna being a b*tch and pushing Brian away while he pines for her and she flirts with all the other guys. I thought Myrna came off as being a sl*tty b*tch most of the time, I found it hard to like her. Maybe there just wasn't enough character development for me to really understand her. For a 30-something divorced professional woman, with no hint that she had a very wild past, to just start having wild sex with a stranger, and parade around naked in front of the band members, and let someone else watch, and then have a threesome without any hesitation seemed really unrealistic. I didn't really buy that all the band members were really into her, either. They're surrounded by gorgeous, easy girls, and I didn't read anything that made Myrna sound like she was exceptionally gorgeous, sweet, or unique. Except that she wears business suits. I know its a book, but come on, we need a little bit of logic and realism. Brian acts jealous one moment and then the next he is asking a bandmember to "hold her so I can go deeper" and then have a threesome. Seriously?? I could understand this behavior if they were all drunk and stoned at the time, but they seemed to all be straight sober throughout all these scenes. I loved how the author made it obvious that condoms were used during intercourse, but there didn't seem to be any worry of STD's during all the oral. LOL. All in all it was a quick steamy read, but if you're into character development, and really "knowing" the characters, I think this story fell short. I will read the next two in the series, I just hope Myrna isn't sucking her way through those too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5