Customer Reviews for

The Backup Plan (Charleston Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 175 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(76)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

deep character study

War correspondent Dinah Davis has covered many of the recent hot spots. Currently she is reporting on Afghanistan, but has lost her edge since she witnessed the death of a friend and was nearly killed too. Physically Dinah has healed, but her boss tells her she is not...
War correspondent Dinah Davis has covered many of the recent hot spots. Currently she is reporting on Afghanistan, but has lost her edge since she witnessed the death of a friend and was nearly killed too. Physically Dinah has healed, but her boss tells her she is not the same and should return to the States to marry and have babies. Initially refusing to listen, Dinah realizes that her career is over and wonders if her boyfriend Bobby Beaufort still waits for as he promised a decade ago when she chose journalism over marriage. Back home in South Carolina, Dinah¿s mom worries that her daughter has not recovered from her last overseas assignment. Meanwhile Bobby¿s older brother Cord, who thought his sibling was a fool to agree to Dinah¿s backup plan, quickly wants to revise the arrangement by inserting himself as the groom. As Dinah suffers the malaise of post traumatic syndrome, she turns to Cord not her family or Bobby for comfort while he worries whether he will prove enough in the long run. Though the actual backup plan of Bobby waiting for a decade seems strange, fans will appreciate this deep look into the traumas and tragedies civilians in combat areas can suffer. The story line is character driven once Dinah returns home moping and depressed. Adding to her depression is that she realizes her plan is a failure as she finds the sibling more attractive than the chosen one, but does not want to hurt the loyal Bobby. This is a strong tale that showcases the aftermath of horrific situations on survivors. Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Backup Plan

Dinah Davis was a hot war correspondent until she barely escaped a car bombing that killed a dear friend right before her eyes. Her editor sends her home to recuperate, and Dinah fully intends to do so by going to plan B, marrying Bobby, the young man who promised to wa...
Dinah Davis was a hot war correspondent until she barely escaped a car bombing that killed a dear friend right before her eyes. Her editor sends her home to recuperate, and Dinah fully intends to do so by going to plan B, marrying Bobby, the young man who promised to wait until she was home to stay and then become her groom. Bobby's older brother, Cordell, thinks little of this plan, and intends to disrupt it. In so doing, he winds up romancing Dinah himself, and truly falling for the lady, but she has problems. Survivors guilt has made her slide into depression and virtual agoraphobia. Before he can win her heart, he has to mend it. ............... This proves a story can be sweet, yet have grit. Dinah's trauma is credible, though I'll grant that Bobby seemed to be overly beta to wait so long to be her second choice. Yet, despite a minor quibble or two, this is a heartwarming story that celebrates healing.

posted by Anonymous on November 11, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 176 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    deep character study

    War correspondent Dinah Davis has covered many of the recent hot spots. Currently she is reporting on Afghanistan, but has lost her edge since she witnessed the death of a friend and was nearly killed too. Physically Dinah has healed, but her boss tells her she is not the same and should return to the States to marry and have babies. Initially refusing to listen, Dinah realizes that her career is over and wonders if her boyfriend Bobby Beaufort still waits for as he promised a decade ago when she chose journalism over marriage. Back home in South Carolina, Dinah¿s mom worries that her daughter has not recovered from her last overseas assignment. Meanwhile Bobby¿s older brother Cord, who thought his sibling was a fool to agree to Dinah¿s backup plan, quickly wants to revise the arrangement by inserting himself as the groom. As Dinah suffers the malaise of post traumatic syndrome, she turns to Cord not her family or Bobby for comfort while he worries whether he will prove enough in the long run. Though the actual backup plan of Bobby waiting for a decade seems strange, fans will appreciate this deep look into the traumas and tragedies civilians in combat areas can suffer. The story line is character driven once Dinah returns home moping and depressed. Adding to her depression is that she realizes her plan is a failure as she finds the sibling more attractive than the chosen one, but does not want to hurt the loyal Bobby. This is a strong tale that showcases the aftermath of horrific situations on survivors. Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2005

    Backup Plan

    Dinah Davis was a hot war correspondent until she barely escaped a car bombing that killed a dear friend right before her eyes. Her editor sends her home to recuperate, and Dinah fully intends to do so by going to plan B, marrying Bobby, the young man who promised to wait until she was home to stay and then become her groom. Bobby's older brother, Cordell, thinks little of this plan, and intends to disrupt it. In so doing, he winds up romancing Dinah himself, and truly falling for the lady, but she has problems. Survivors guilt has made her slide into depression and virtual agoraphobia. Before he can win her heart, he has to mend it. ............... This proves a story can be sweet, yet have grit. Dinah's trauma is credible, though I'll grant that Bobby seemed to be overly beta to wait so long to be her second choice. Yet, despite a minor quibble or two, this is a heartwarming story that celebrates healing.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    love beats all odds

    a wonderful love story that will leave you really feeling happy. sherryl woods has a talent for writing this type of story. this is the first in a series of three, and not one is to be missed1

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2011

    I do not recommend this book at all for Nook user.

    This Nook book has so many errors. The work "appointment" for example is used numerous times where in no way is it appropriate. This is just one example. I'm sure these errors did not appear in the print edition. I finally stopped reading and even deleted from my list.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2011

    A Very Romantic Read

    This is a riveting story that follows the guidelines of any romantic comedy or drama. You definitely know how it will end but you will enjoy every minute of the ride, although, the author does take her sweet time getting you there. It's the authors 100th book so she is well versed in how to fill you with the desire to turn the page. This is the first piece that I've read by her and am looking forward to adding her works to my library. The Backup Plan is definitely a book for women who love the idea of having a tall, strong hero who saves the heroine from herself. She's got a lot of demons and it takes his pushing and prodding to make her walk towards the light. I'll do you this favor though. The author uses the word "appointment" instead of "dancing". I don't know why but I thought that you deserved that much of a heads up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    highly recomended

    great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Fun and serious story lines

    Love the characters. Cant wait to see where the next in this series takes us. Was kinda hard to figure out how long dinah had been home before the story ends. Would like to have seen a better timeline. Also a couple of places that the story was choppy and you didnt know where the characters were or if it was the same day or what. Overall nice job sherryl woods.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Moonstar

    Hey

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    THIS IS A GREAT START OF A SERIES!!

    Sherryl Woods writes great books and most of them have a southern setting.She makes you feel like you are friends or know someone like the people in the book.Start with this book book first theres two more to go with it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2012

    Great Book

    I read this book over the weekend and I am now excited to read the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2012

    Loved it!

    I really enjoyed this for a quick easy read. Can't wait to read the others in the trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Nice read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Found another great author

    I am definitely adding her to my personal favorite authors list. Love when I can find a 'new to me' author. I am now on the third book of this series and plan on finding more of her books to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fun, light reading

    The first of the three books sets up the series. Entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    Good reading

    Easy reading. Light and airy. Enjoying all her books because they are pleasant to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Hot love story

    Fell in love with this story almost i was part of the characters. Couldn't put the book down!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted April 17, 2011

    Awesome Twist

    I really liked this book. I especially enjoyed the twist in the story. I cannot wait to read the others in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    Absolutely loved it!

    This was my first Sherryl Woods book, but it won't be my last. It kept me engaged, and I loved the characters. I listened to the audio version of it and more than once I took an extra trip around the block to hear what would happen before I stopped the car! If this is what to expect regularly from Woods, she'll be a regular author in my rotation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2011

    Fun read but predictable

    one twist at the end that made this predictable romance a fast, fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 176 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9