Customer Reviews for

Backwoods

Average Rating 4
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    A compelling read!

    After a mysterious creature pops out from the trees, Andrew Braddock, a self-claimed "tree counter," crashes his jeep in the midst of the Appalachian mountains. The day started out with a routine research assignment, but is quickly turning bizarre as he fends for his life in a creek. He is quickly pulled to safety by an Army reservist who takes him to a top-secret research facility deep in the Appalachian mountains. As Andrew gets to know these new surroundings, he becomes acquainted with an entrancing nurse, an autistic child, an eccentric scientist, a forceful Major, and a collection of the enlisted, including his very own hero, the alluring Dani. Things are not quite as they seem, and soon Andrew finds himself putting together the pieces to form a truly horrific whole. Will he survive? Will anyone?

    This contemporary horror novel by Sara Reinke pulls you in from the beginning and doesn't let you go until the very last page. Along the way, you're given hints as to the big secret at this "top-secret" facility, but the truth is so much worse than you can even imagine. What starts out as a bit of a mystery quickly reveals a truly horrific experiment gone out of control. With nicely developed characters, the story is an easy and colorful read. Andrew finds himself in a few romantic trysts in this story, but the star relationship is the intriguing connection between Alice (the autistic child) and Andrew. The ending offers a nice sense of closure while still leaving the reader guessing as to what may happen- the perfect mix for this type of horror novel. There is suspense and intrigue, with a good dose of gore thrown in for good measure.

    I loved the idea behind this story. I can imagine such an event actually taking place in some remote location, as terrifying as it is. I was really drawn in by Andrew's character as we both tried to figure out what was going on. Although the major characters were, for the most part, well-developed, I felt Suzette's character didn't quite have the depth that the storyline required. She was somewhat of a major player, but I didn't quite understand her motivation and why she would take the job that she did, with the history that she had. She felt a little unrealistic compared to the other characters. I think the suspense was nicely done, but the gory "finale" lasted a few too many pages for my taste.

    @ MotherLode blog

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Riveting!!! Jmm44

    Exciting--scary--keeps you on the edge of your seat!! Highly recommend

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Great Story

    I chose to read this after reading other stories from her. Really enjoyed reading this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Different story than the usual free book

    This book was pretty decent. Worth the time to read it. Not a masterpiece by any means but it has a strong plot and substantial characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Very good read

    I highly recommend this book - suspenseful, exciting, can't put down, etc. etc.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    Great

    Kept me up .. what a cliff hanger ..cant wait for more

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Great for a free read!

    Free is always good, but even better when the book can deliver an entertaining story and keep your attention from start to finish! Loved this one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Excellent

    Andrew has an accident that lands him at a secret military facility. While there he falls in love, meets a strange cast of characters and discovers more than he wants to know about a secret biogical program. Creepy, engrossing and interesting. A very enjoyable read. Do not miss it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    Very good!

    Not as well edited as others, but i couldn't put it down. Thank you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    nope

    said it was free but it ended up charging me $5

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    A good quick read. Kept my attention

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Ok story

    Following a car accident, Andrew is stranded at a top secret government research facility in Appalachia with military and research personnel. During his stay, Romance begins to blossom for Andrew just as he starts piecing together the grisely research occuring at the facility.

    Overall not an ok book. Didn't leave much mystery to figure out what was going on. Did enjoy Andrew and his story as well as the love story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Awesome!!

    Great book, I highly recommend you read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2013

    It was ok.

    There were several discrepancies. When they brought Andrew's vehicle to the base they said the roads were closed but why didn't he ask then how were they able to get his vehicle? Also, on chapter 5, how can Andrew look down Suzette Montgomery's blouse if she's on the deck above him? She would have to be leaning with her body hanging over and down the deck railing. I think this story needs better editing. I don't know why, but I did not like this story. If those things were so strong and fast, Prendick would have been able to break out of the garage with his scorpion tail. Andrew would have been dead a long time ago when those monsters would throw him so hard against the wall he would dent it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Backwoods Will Knock Your Socks Off!

    Another Free Friday book, and I must say this is the BEST one of the free e-books I have gotten so far. I wish I could give it more than 5 stars. This book is loaded with action & suspense. with just a touch of romance, and also, to my delight, a fair amount of horror! Parts of it reminded me a little of H.P. Lovecraft. It really grabbed me from the first few pages, and held on to my interest until the end. I will have to keep my eye out for more books by Sara Reinke! LOVED IT!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    not great

    this book was like resident evil meets the thing. The author has very little life experience in her writing. seemed to use vocabulary to prove that she had one rather use it to enrich the story. I had so many issues with this book I cant fit them all in this review. Worst book I have read in a very long time. At least it was a free book and I can see why. what bothered me most is the protagonist from AK and works in the woods of KY is afraid of guns and dont know how to use them. he received more blows to the head than anyone could handle. gets stitches on his head and spends the wrest of the story brushing his hands through his hair never to mention the stitches. So many holes in this story it made reading it a chore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    A great read!

    This was a good read, especially seeing as it was free. Again, well worth the time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    dee

    Should have had a better ending. Kind of left you hanging in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    good read

    Interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2012

    Good Book. Wonder if it will continue?

    Good Book. Wonder if it will continue?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3