Customer Reviews for

Backyard Bigfoot

Average Rating 3.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Pure BullSh! t ! This should be listed as fiction, but the only

    Pure BullSh! t ! This should be listed as fiction, but the only thing that makes people buy this is that it is sold as nonfiction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Excellent read!

    The author does an excellent and captivating job of describing things that she has seen and things going on around her. Kudos to her out-of-the-box thinking regarding this subject. While I personally have never had an encounter, it strikes me as very unscientific for main stream scientists to dismiss this subject, or any other subject for that matter, offhandedly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2007

    A reviewer

    I confess I started to read ¿Backyard Bigfoot¿ with some trepidation since in my childhood I was deathly afraid of Bigfoot. I also found myself more alarmed while reading the book to discover that not only is Shiel immensely interested in hairy hominids but she has also had some interactions with them! Talk about a scary topic. But as I read ¿Backyard Bigfoot¿, I found myself more and more engrossed in the book. Shiel¿s interactions with Bigfoot occurred both in Texas and her current home in the Keweenaw Peninsula of Upper Michigan--just a few hours away from me! Besides hearing Bigfoot screams and finding their footprints, Shiel has played a game of stick signs with her hairy hominid friends. After finding strange stick formations laid out in the woods around her home, she decided to make her own stick formations nearby, only to return the next day and find her stick signs rearranged into new patterns. The purpose of the stick formations she found remains unknown, other than being a game or a sign that the hairy hominids were simply curious about her and sought to interact with her. But stick signs are just the beginning of what becomes a very gripping narrative. While most authors who write about Bigfoot seek to convince readers that Bigfoot exists, Shiel refuses to go that route. Instead, she speaks with commonsense about science, its often faulty views about evolution and DNA, and where and if the hairy hominid fits into the human family tree. She also details examples of sightings of hairy hominids back to ancient times, including potential references in the Bible, drawings of them from Ancient Egypt, and the attributed Wildman of medieval legends. Shiel makes a very convincing argument that hairy hominids do exist and that a better understanding of them is vital to our own understanding of evolution and human history. And then the strange flashing lights appeared near her home¿Yes, Bigfoot has a UFO connection, but to explain that would give away the fun of reading the book. What I will say is that Shiel is extremely level-headed about her arguments. I don¿t think she exaggerates, fakes evidence, or uses faulty reasoning. I don¿t always completely agree with her arguments and conclusions, but I find them fascinating and possible. I especially commend her common sense in asking valid questions regarding scientific theories about evolution. ¿Backyard Bigfoot¿ is a fast, fascinating, and thought-provoking read. It is the most interesting scientific-based book I have read since Bryan Sykes¿s ¿The Seven Daughters of Eve¿, a book Shiel would obviously find fault with. I recommend ¿Backyard Bigfoot¿ to anyone interested in science, history, anthropology, evolution, and the supernatural who also enjoys a gripping story. Shiel is also the author of a series of adventure novels about Bigfoot. I will definitely be reading those soon. And Lisa, when you do talk to Bigfoot, please tell him to stay over in the Keweenaw. I enjoy reading about him, but I¿m not up for a houseguest in Marquette. - Tyler R. Tichelaar, author of The Marquette Trilogy: ¿Iron Pioneers¿, ¿The Queen City¿, and ¿Superior Heritage¿.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Fun to read

    One of many books about interactions with "the illusive hairy creature". Another piece of the puzzle. Educate and entertain yourself at the same time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Makes you think

    Even if you are a sceptic this book will make you thin!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1