Customer Reviews for

The Bad Beginning: Book the First (A Series of Unfortunate Events)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1357 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(977)

4 Star

(217)

3 Star

(79)

2 Star

(36)

1 Star

(48)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

91 out of 101 people found this review helpful.

I'm Hooked!

I bought the Lemony Snicket book 1 to get motivated to continue with my desire to write my own children's story. Surprisingly, I am hooked! I read through book one and couldn't wait to get book 2! I am now on the 4th in the series and look forward to reading each and ev...
I bought the Lemony Snicket book 1 to get motivated to continue with my desire to write my own children's story. Surprisingly, I am hooked! I read through book one and couldn't wait to get book 2! I am now on the 4th in the series and look forward to reading each and every one! I won't miss a book! They are fun and great reading for ALL ages. So get started and enjoy!

posted by greeninoakpark on January 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

A disappointed reader

Given all the recent talk regarding this book, I felt compelled to find out exactly what was the content of such a book that my young nieces and nephews might be reading. To my disappointment, I found a poorly written book that merely and obviously attempts to capture ...
Given all the recent talk regarding this book, I felt compelled to find out exactly what was the content of such a book that my young nieces and nephews might be reading. To my disappointment, I found a poorly written book that merely and obviously attempts to capture the profitable audience of children with a series of books, much the same way Harry Potter has. In addition, I was also horrified to find a plot consisting of an incestuous relationship, which undermines the sanctity of marriage by presenting it as just a legal means to an end. Upon completion of this book, I was forced to return it for fear that one day my nieces and nephews might find it in my library and want to read it.

posted by Anonymous on December 5, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    I don't like this book.

    I don't like this book because it will never end happily. I know everyone knows it is the series of UNFORTUNATE EVENTS, but shouldn't there be at least one thing that doesn't go wrong? Personally, I found this book very depressing, and if you like fairy tales and happy endings, this series is probably not for you.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2004

    Unfortunate Events Indeed... for me; an Unfortunate Choice.

    If my sole intention in recommending a book for my 5th grade granddaughter was to enhance her vocabulary, this would get 5 stars. Since it's more important to me that she understand characterizations and be able to identify with positive as well as negative aspects of a story, this is hanging between 'disappointing' and 'poor'. If you also believe that the recommended age group needs to go into their young teens with some semblance of trust and respect for adults, you might want to make other choices too. I've read in other reviews that this series has more to offer than the Potter books. I appreciate the value in having a fair balance in good versus evil whether the genre includes wizardry or frightened, orphaned and abandoned children. I love reading of young people who are inventive, intelligent and finding their way to being independent problem-solving life adventurers. Those traits were more obvious to me in the Potter books than I've been able to glean from these. Possibly because there are many trustworthy, solid adults in the former books where these appear to be devoid of such individuals. I was disappointed that these children are set upon to resolve their horrendous situations with no implied or even behind the scenes respectible adult figures. My negative review is based solely on content and not on the writing style and abilities of the author. I admired the use of the language and the unique methods used in definitions.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Wow

    This is only 83 pages

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    This is an ok book....

    I have read this book about three to four times and when i last read it i realized how pathetic and redundant it really is. I mean about every page it tells us how sad and angry the baudelair children are after their parents left them yadayadayada..... WE GET THE POINT! The same goes to the next three or four books but then after that they get a little bit more exciting.... :) Most of the plot line is very redundant and has been in a lot of books.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2005

    Wasn't anything like the books!!

    I think that this movie was bad. It didn't go anything by the books except for that Violet was an inventor, Klaus was a big reader, and Sunny was a Biter. If you really want some really good books read the series of unfortunate events. They are way better.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2002

    Come On, The First One Stunk!!!

    I've never read a beginning book that stunk really bad but all the sequels rocked!!! He continuously says the same thing over again (exp.= not wanting to give the other siblings a false sense of hope). Lemony (or whatever his real name is) kept on fumblig on his words and talking about irrevelant stuff. I just got bored. The only thing that reassured me was how short it was (I could finish in an hour) so I could move on to the sequels. In fact the only thing this book establishes was the characters and an evil villain who gets eviler in the book's sequels. That about sums it up. READ IT FOR THE SEQUELS!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2000

    quite interesting

    i have just bought book 5, this is the first one i have ever read of the series,and sort of thought it was a depressing book. i mean, dont take it the wrong way but i think i will stick with Harry if i wanna read any more mystery books. but on a last note, if this is a true story, i feel very, very bad for all those kids who are in that school.....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    It actually wasnt that good

    This book wasnt really good at all. For me, there were only a few tiny parts of the story that were actually interesting. When I was reading the books, if I had another book on hand, I would read that instead. The only reason I finished the series was because I kind of forced myself to. Another reason was because me and a friend were racing to get through them first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Maybe

    Ive read every single book of series of unfortunate events exept for this one.but im positive that this one is as awsome than all the rest!! I cant wait to read it :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    RIPOFF!

    I only got 83 pages of the book and im positive thats not the whole book!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    A waste of time

    I think that this book was not worth the time of money it was very predictable if you were to waste your time reading any of these books i would suggest teading only bbooks 1 Auater Academy and the last one these boojs were so terrible i could not even finish the whole series

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    How are you

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Mm..............Good

    Seen the the movie very good want to read the book ......... so let see what happs LOL (l will tell u later book lovers)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    Series of unforntunate events

    A very different book not for younger readers it is a very sad series and no it never ends happy not for everyone:(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    very depressing book for kids

    I won't be reading this to the grandkids. After their parents die in the first chapter the children are sent to live in squalid conditions with an abusive uncle who wants to steal their money and kill them.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    What age group is this for??????

    I would read this book if i knew what age group its for

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    A bad beginning

    So depressing that it was depressing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    Dumb

    Idid not like this. It makes me sad. It is stupid do not buy it!!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2011

    True Story

    I swear this is a true story, i finished this book in an hour and a half. I am only ten years old. But i loved this book anyway

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2006

    What a True Title...

    At first I loved this book. I read it in fifth grade. Last year I read it again and realized how disappointing it was at a higher level. I don't like sad endings either which defines the whole series. I'm not trying to dicourage you from reading this book, please do! It will help you to realize that there are other types of books out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2