Customer Reviews for

The Bad Beginning: Book the First (A Series of Unfortunate Events)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1357 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(978)

4 Star

(217)

3 Star

(79)

2 Star

(36)

1 Star

(47)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

91 out of 101 people found this review helpful.

I'm Hooked!

I bought the Lemony Snicket book 1 to get motivated to continue with my desire to write my own children's story. Surprisingly, I am hooked! I read through book one and couldn't wait to get book 2! I am now on the 4th in the series and look forward to reading each and ev...
I bought the Lemony Snicket book 1 to get motivated to continue with my desire to write my own children's story. Surprisingly, I am hooked! I read through book one and couldn't wait to get book 2! I am now on the 4th in the series and look forward to reading each and every one! I won't miss a book! They are fun and great reading for ALL ages. So get started and enjoy!

posted by greeninoakpark on January 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

A disappointed reader

Given all the recent talk regarding this book, I felt compelled to find out exactly what was the content of such a book that my young nieces and nephews might be reading. To my disappointment, I found a poorly written book that merely and obviously attempts to capture ...
Given all the recent talk regarding this book, I felt compelled to find out exactly what was the content of such a book that my young nieces and nephews might be reading. To my disappointment, I found a poorly written book that merely and obviously attempts to capture the profitable audience of children with a series of books, much the same way Harry Potter has. In addition, I was also horrified to find a plot consisting of an incestuous relationship, which undermines the sanctity of marriage by presenting it as just a legal means to an end. Upon completion of this book, I was forced to return it for fear that one day my nieces and nephews might find it in my library and want to read it.

posted by Anonymous on December 5, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Every book went down hill

    So i eventually lost intrest in book twelve and in book eleven i just kept reading the same few semtences over and over because i kept stopping on that page and the next

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Good but...

    I cant see letting kids read this. Adults hitting kids, threatening to murder kids, torchering kids, even having a honeymoon with a little girl. I would NOT want my child reading this. Yet as an adult i found that its perversely entertaining

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Lemony Snicket

    Cute, fasr and easy read. Great for kids.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    A bad begining

    I liked the story it was good but the only bad thing about the book was it was a little short book

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    Pretty good

    This series was pretty good. I read it when i was 10. The plot was very interesting and throughout the whole series, these three kids kept getting in these bad situations. Very unfortunate. They also have this stalker throughout the whole series named Count Olaf. He wants the Baudelaire fortune. And yes the kids are rich but their parents dies in a fire that burned their house and all of their stuff. The only reason i rate it three stars is because the MAIN CHARACTERS are so annoying!! All three of them!!! I hate it how Violet has to put her stupid ribbon in her hair to think right. I hate how Klaus is so smart and UGH Klaus was SOOO annoying!! And the baby was just... ugh... she was getting to be like the other two kids! But other than that the series was great. And !!!! SPOILER ALERT!!!!!!!! The end of the series wasnt a happy ending...? Weird right. It wasnt bad, but not too good either.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Sorta depressing

    This series makes me really sad and depressed. I give it 3 and ¿ stars. And theres 2 many big words for younger children.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Series of Unfortunate Events

    When I was about eleven I read this series and thought that it was really good(which is why I gave it three stars and not less) I tried rereading the series when I was older and could not stand the way that the first part of every chapter was completely unnecessary That said the story line was good and my favorites were the Austere Academy and The End

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Good book

    I likethis book i have read the series up to 7 where i stopped reading because the same thing happens ever time: they get adopted they catch onto his plan, the adopted parent dies, theyguy gets away repeat.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Anonymous on january 10th

    This series is very interesting at first, full of adventure. But, after having read many of thebooks, it became boring. The same story repeats itself every book, with different place settings. I recommend the first book to anybody, but reading the rest of the series is a waste of time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    Okay book

    Thisbwas an okay book becaise the book talked about how the kids did not know about there parents* then the book said that they got adoted. If you agree with me then text back if you dont text back too. Boring

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Good

    It wasn't terrible. It was actually rather good. However, it s definitely geared towards a very young audience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    To lemeny smicket

    U are a fake u cad get a life

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Hmmmmm

    Its ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Hi

    I loved the book but mostly at the end the author just tries to mash it all up in the end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Interesting

    Interesting, like a kind of fairy tale. The story had a lot of twists and turns in it. It'll be interesting to see what other mischief the thee children get into as the story continues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Hello?Hello?HELLO?!

    Will someone tell me if this book is good? ~~AgentAdventure461 from 39 clues
    Go Janus!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Ok series overall.

    These books are good...but they get a little boring after a while. A surprise ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    K

    Good book and a quick read. I got through like five of them but kind of lost interest because they are a little repetitive. I still would like to finish the series to find out what happens to the kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Sad

    It's a great book, but so sad! I cant read the rest of the seires; its too sad!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Info about the books

    Well the series is about lemony. Its called all the wrong questions series. He goes around asking questions he should not be asking as a little boy i guess. If you Search "all the wrong questions" youll see the first book of the series ( the first result) you can pre order it for ten dollars. It comes out on October 23. Post for more info.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4