Customer Reviews for

Bad Blood

Average Rating 3.5
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Had me screaming at the ending.

I have been reading Kate books faithfully over the last twenty years. This one's ending had me screaming. Enjoyed it right up until the very end. Unsatisfactory, and highly aggravating, ending for true Kate and Mutt fans. How Stabenow could have left it this way is b...
I have been reading Kate books faithfully over the last twenty years. This one's ending had me screaming. Enjoyed it right up until the very end. Unsatisfactory, and highly aggravating, ending for true Kate and Mutt fans. How Stabenow could have left it this way is beyond me. This series is among my very favorite. Despite the ending.

posted by S- on March 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Major letdown

I'm really disappointed in this one. The writing really felt like it was done by someone trying to emulate Dana Stabenow....the characters, including Kate and Mutt just felt "flat." The story really didn't flow very well in my opinion and to top it off, she left it with...
I'm really disappointed in this one. The writing really felt like it was done by someone trying to emulate Dana Stabenow....the characters, including Kate and Mutt just felt "flat." The story really didn't flow very well in my opinion and to top it off, she left it with a cliff hanger, which in the past has been pretty rare and frankly, is not something I ever enjoy. I actually disliked this one enough that I will have second, and perhaps third, thoughts before purchasing the next one in the series.

posted by Turtlenorthwest on March 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Major letdown

    I'm really disappointed in this one. The writing really felt like it was done by someone trying to emulate Dana Stabenow....the characters, including Kate and Mutt just felt "flat." The story really didn't flow very well in my opinion and to top it off, she left it with a cliff hanger, which in the past has been pretty rare and frankly, is not something I ever enjoy. I actually disliked this one enough that I will have second, and perhaps third, thoughts before purchasing the next one in the series.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Had me screaming at the ending.

    I have been reading Kate books faithfully over the last twenty years. This one's ending had me screaming. Enjoyed it right up until the very end. Unsatisfactory, and highly aggravating, ending for true Kate and Mutt fans. How Stabenow could have left it this way is beyond me. This series is among my very favorite. Despite the ending.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2013

    You wouldn't think it would be all that hard, To take a plot onc

    You wouldn't think it would be all that hard,
    To take a plot once written by the Bard,
    To give chronology a little push
    And transplant it to the Alaska Bush.


    Of Kushkalana's Ryan Christianson -
    Kushtaka's Jenny Mack the boy SHOULD shun.
    Instead, they fall in love and - no surprise -
    in murder mysteries, somebody dies.


    A village full of suspects - make that TWO -
    For Chopper Jim to have to interview,
    And Kate and Mutt are dragged in it, as well,
    With violence from both towns; it must be quelled.


    SOME dwellers in The Park are here to see,
    While others are just mentioned casually.
    The book's main focus is on those feuding towns
    And citizens who will not settle down.


    The ending for our author is a shift,
    She leaves us all a'hanging from a cliff,
    So Dana Stabenow, what will we do
    While waiting 'til next year for your Part 2???

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Very little new information

    While I have been a faithful and loyal fan through the entire Shugak series, this one felt more like a historical summarization of facts and characters. I hate feeling like Stabenow has run her course with Kate and ended it all so abruptly to spare us the misery of deteriorating story lines. If this is indeed the end, I am more than disappointed. But maybe Stabenow will start working again on fleshing out Liam's story . . ?

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2013

    Have read all in the series of Kate Shugak... but what did you d

    Have read all in the series of Kate Shugak... but what did you do this time... !!!!! Is it the end of Kate, have you given me a REAL CLIFF HANGER or is there a new book coming out so that Kate can take another breath ?? if a next is in the making please don't keep me waiting... a loyal reader...

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Loved it!

    Enjoyed it as much as I enjoyed all her other books, which I've read twic already. Can't wait for the next one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    I have enjoyed the rest of this series, but this book is not up

    I have enjoyed the rest of this series, but this book is not up to par. The book is quite short, and it takes about 90 pages to get into the story. I also didn't like the ending. Even a cliff hanger ending should be allotted more than one page!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Not nearly as good as all the others.... I felt like someone els

    Not nearly as good as all the others.... I felt like someone else wrote this one, trying to be like Dana Stabenow.... But still a good book, but not her best..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Oh man... can't wait for the next one!

    Wow! As I have come to expect from Dana's books, this one doesn't disappoint (other than what goes on in it but I don't want to give that away!). I have loved the Kate Shugak books from the first right up to this one, #20! Well written. Like family. I've laughed, I've cried, I've been angry, I've mourned... so, so good. Give her a try. You'll be hooked!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Set against the stunning landscape of Alaska and filled with intricate details, this latest edition to the Kate Shugak story will have you staying up all night.
    Stabenow weaves a carefully crafted story with the twists and turns she is famous for using. While it may seem a bit of a slow start don't believe it.
    The story moves with almost breakneck speed to a stunning climax worthy of an author and a cast of characters beloved by fans of this complex and very human heroine.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    An Alaska original

    Kate Shugak is a "oner," as they say in crossword puzzles. Dana Stabenow does another masterful job in continuing Kate's story. If you like mysteries with a strong female protagonist, the Shugak series is for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Love this author and this character but did not enjoy this book

    Love this author and this character but did not enjoy this book as well as the others and found the ending more than annoying. Like the other faithful readers who have posted; Ms Stabenow will regain my trust when she posts a synopsis of an upcoming Kate novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    One of her better

    Stabenow always highlights Alaska history. Here she blends local history and Kate's history, though Jim Chopin figures more prominently throughout the plot. As a reader I often wonder if I would have handled things the same way Kate does . . she always treads a a delicate cultural and legal line. Lot of dead bodies in this one and the ending caught me off-guard.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Highly Recommended - Stabenow at her best

    I look forward to Dana Stabenow's Kate Shugak books and was not disappointed with Bad Blood. The feud and conflict between families and towns was like the West as it was (and maybe still is). I will not disclose the ending, but guarantee it to be an edge of the seat climax.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    If you haven't read Dana Stabenow, you aren't living.

    Wonderfull, exciting book as usual. That is until the last page.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    I feel cheated. The first 90 pages were a basic rehash of the l

    I feel cheated. The first 90 pages were a basic rehash of the last 19 books. Once that was done, Stabenow once again captured me up in the story. When she is writing fresh, the author has an amazing ability to move the story and make you care about her characters. All I can say is that the end was a cheat. Shame on you, Ms Stabenow, Kate and Mutt deserve more than that.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2014

    Good Story

    I liked this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2014

    Bad Blood

    Is this the end..?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2014

    Good

    Always good, but I didn't want them to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I've LOVED The Kate Shugak books up until now. The only other bo

    I've LOVED The Kate Shugak books up until now. The only other book I wasn't real thrilled about is when she killed off a major character in a previous book, but the story line picked up in future books and she kept the story line flowing. This book just didn't have that. Plus, I HATED the ending. Thumbs down to the editor who told her that was a good idea the formate with the "Acts" as if mimicking a play must not have read any of the other books because it just didn't flow like her previous books. I love Dana's books and and hope she continues with the series. I would hate to see this being the last Shugak book. With that all said, I would still buy any new book she puts out (I own them all), because up until this past book, I've loved her style of writing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3