Customer Reviews for

Bad Blood

Average Rating 3.5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Had me screaming at the ending.

I have been reading Kate books faithfully over the last twenty years. This one's ending had me screaming. Enjoyed it right up until the very end. Unsatisfactory, and highly aggravating, ending for true Kate and Mutt fans. How Stabenow could have left it this way is b...
I have been reading Kate books faithfully over the last twenty years. This one's ending had me screaming. Enjoyed it right up until the very end. Unsatisfactory, and highly aggravating, ending for true Kate and Mutt fans. How Stabenow could have left it this way is beyond me. This series is among my very favorite. Despite the ending.

posted by S- on March 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Major letdown

I'm really disappointed in this one. The writing really felt like it was done by someone trying to emulate Dana Stabenow....the characters, including Kate and Mutt just felt "flat." The story really didn't flow very well in my opinion and to top it off, she left it with...
I'm really disappointed in this one. The writing really felt like it was done by someone trying to emulate Dana Stabenow....the characters, including Kate and Mutt just felt "flat." The story really didn't flow very well in my opinion and to top it off, she left it with a cliff hanger, which in the past has been pretty rare and frankly, is not something I ever enjoy. I actually disliked this one enough that I will have second, and perhaps third, thoughts before purchasing the next one in the series.

posted by Turtlenorthwest on March 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Not nearly as good as all the others.... I felt like someone els

    Not nearly as good as all the others.... I felt like someone else wrote this one, trying to be like Dana Stabenow.... But still a good book, but not her best..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    I feel cheated. The first 90 pages were a basic rehash of the l

    I feel cheated. The first 90 pages were a basic rehash of the last 19 books. Once that was done, Stabenow once again captured me up in the story. When she is writing fresh, the author has an amazing ability to move the story and make you care about her characters. All I can say is that the end was a cheat. Shame on you, Ms Stabenow, Kate and Mutt deserve more than that.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I've LOVED The Kate Shugak books up until now. The only other bo

    I've LOVED The Kate Shugak books up until now. The only other book I wasn't real thrilled about is when she killed off a major character in a previous book, but the story line picked up in future books and she kept the story line flowing. This book just didn't have that. Plus, I HATED the ending. Thumbs down to the editor who told her that was a good idea the formate with the "Acts" as if mimicking a play must not have read any of the other books because it just didn't flow like her previous books. I love Dana's books and and hope she continues with the series. I would hate to see this being the last Shugak book. With that all said, I would still buy any new book she puts out (I own them all), because up until this past book, I've loved her style of writing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Nineteen episodes in the Kate Shugak series preceded this novel

    Nineteen episodes in the Kate Shugak series preceded this novel and it would appear that the author has tired of writing about her protagonist. The plot is a thinly disguised rewrite of Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet, or the Hatfields and McCoys or every other tale of feuds. Only this story takes place in 21st century Alaska.

    Two villages, Kushtaka and Kuskulana, on opposite sides of a river, have no love lost between them. One is a dying community, the other prosperous. Basically each is inhabited by a closely related group of people. It doesn’t take much to set off violence between them, and one murder can lead to retribution from the other side. Throw in a love affair between the darling of one town and the number one son of the other, and you have the makings of additional bloodshed.

    Somehow, the excellent background always present before (descriptions of the land, history and cultural traditions of Alaska) are missing from this entry. Additionally, the characterizations, to this reader, do not measure up to past performance “Bad Blood” is readable, just not up to the level one expects from a top series. Perhaps, when the reader reaches the final pages, it becomes apparent why.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    ok read

    Not as good as some of her other books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    I agree with the ratings posted before mine. It took awile to ge

    I agree with the ratings posted before mine. It took awile to get past the beginning and then the ending was not satisfactory. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Butter Battle Book meets Romeo and Juliet

    The Butter Battle Book meets Romeo and Juliet. The series is excellent, and many of the characters will be familiar. This isn't the best of the bunch, but it's not bad, and it feels like not only the reader but also the author pays more attention as the story approaches its climax. The book has some bits of odd grammar: "less than a third of the spruce trees ... as there had been when her parents died"; "courtesy in part because" (this one meaning "in part because"). In the second sentence of the prologue, for "A geologic age before ..." read "A geologic age before, ...".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1