Customer Reviews for

Bad Blood (Virgil Flowers Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 438 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(186)

4 Star

(129)

3 Star

(61)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

superb police procedural

Bob Tripp, in charge of the Battenberg Farmer's Co-op grain elevator patiently waits for Jacob Flood to arrive to deposit his crop; Bob plans to kill Jacob. His scheme works perfectly as the police arrive at the scene and conclude he was murdered by Tripp rather than t...
Bob Tripp, in charge of the Battenberg Farmer's Co-op grain elevator patiently waits for Jacob Flood to arrive to deposit his crop; Bob plans to kill Jacob. His scheme works perfectly as the police arrive at the scene and conclude he was murdered by Tripp rather than the accident the young man claimed happened. They arrest Tripp who is placed in a jail cell with overnight deputy Jim Crocker remaining in the office. While in the jail Tripp dies in what looks like a suicide, but is a homicide while at his home Crocker is also dead with the evidence pointing towards a female.

Because of a conflict of interest, Warren County Sheriff Lee Coakley asks BIA Agent Virgil Flowers for assistance. They drive separately to Homestead where the killings occurred. The pair learns that two of the victims belonged to the cult World of Spirit where rumors of rape, incest, and young teen brides are acceptable practices. Virgil and the sheriff also know they have no legal admissible evidence as the cult members stick closely together circling the wagons. Knowing the innocent are being harmed, the two law enforcement officials continual their diligence, but remain clueless.

With his fourth Flowers (and the zillion Prey tales) thriller, John Sandford once again affirms he is amongst the top echelon in the police procedural sub-genre. Virgil has a wicked sense of humor that distinguishes him, but when it comes to a case he is serious and meticulous. With plenty of murder, mayhem, and more, fans will enjoy the investigation by "F" Flowers and the female sheriff.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on July 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Total Turnoff

Who doesn't like "that effing Flowers?" John Sandford brings Virgil back in the fourth of the Virgil Flowers series. Smooth writing and good characters are what usually make Sandford's books so satisfying.

I've read and enjoyed all of John Sandford's books. Sandford ...
Who doesn't like "that effing Flowers?" John Sandford brings Virgil back in the fourth of the Virgil Flowers series. Smooth writing and good characters are what usually make Sandford's books so satisfying.

I've read and enjoyed all of John Sandford's books. Sandford has continued the smooth writing, but my problem with BAD BLOOD is the subject matter -- sexual abuse of children. We all know it happens but I have to admit that I hate it and I hate reading about it, especially in fiction.

If you're reading one of Sandford's books for the first time, skip this one. Overall, despite my love of Sandford's character, Virgil Flowers, this book was a total turnoff for me. Lynn Kimmerle

posted by Lynie on October 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 129 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted September 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A bit shocking!

    This is set in small town, Minnesota, about a religious cult which involves sexual deviance, (Sodom and Gomorrah). Suddenly, the town goes from one murder to four murders, all seemingly cult connected. There is a lot of snappy dialog, fast-paced action and a great vengeance section that will make your mouth drop open. A real page-turner!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    thrilling page turner

    Great Book. Couldn't put it down. Each murder connects together to ultimately reveal a shocking revelation in a small Minnesota farming town. However, be forewarned that the material in this book is very crude.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2010

    Sandford just gets better and better, even with a totally new twist.....don't miss this!!!

    John Sandford is one of the most solid mystery writers out there today and thankfully, while dealing with his tried-and-true characters, he is still finding new ways to make them intriguing and fresh. Since revealing that Harry Bosch and Mickey Haller are half-brothers, Sandford has a new plot twist -- the evolution of their relationship. In this book, he puts them together working on a case from the prosecution perspective instead of Mickey's traditional defense status. Personally, I learned more about how lawyers put together their cases than I have learned even from John Grisham. But this is not dry legal stuff -- Sandford has created a totally new approach to legal procedure and it has the same depth and intelligence he is famous for. If you are a Sandford fan, don't miss this new approach -- amd even if this is your first time with Sandford, it's a good place to start. Sandford always satisfies......

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    A caracal

    The large cat walked in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Reaper

    Goes and stabs anyone withen reach of his claws

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    A small Minnesota town is shocked when local high school footbal

    A small Minnesota town is shocked when local high school football star, Bobby Tripp, is arrested for the brutal murder of farmer Jacob Flood. Immediately, this opening scene, in which we read the details of Tripp killing Flood, strays from John Sandford's usual practice of hiding the identity of the killer. Knowing Tripp's identity, I was certain that this would be a story that was much different from any of the previous installments in this series.  Sure enough, Tripp is found the next day, dead in his jail cell from an apparent suicide. Upon further investigation, it is revealed that Tripp's death was involuntary which could mean only one thing. . . murder.
    Enter Virgil Flowers. He probably better resembles an aging cowboy/rocker, but there is no denying his skill. Despite his unconventional appearance and behavior, he has become one of the best investigators working for the Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension(BCA). He is called by the town's sheriff, Lee Coakely. Coakley is an attractive, recent divorcee with two sons. From their first encounter, there is palpable chemistry between her and Virgil. But there is no time for romantic excursions. It is soon revealed that the officer who was guarding Tripp's cell has also, apparently, committed suicide. As you can probably predict, his death is quickly determined to be a murder, as well.
    As Virgil investigates, he comes across two possible directions at which to follow the case. The first involves the young Bobby Tripp. As a high school sports star, he was sure to get a large scholarship to continue playing ball at the college level. But an injury left him in his small town. Virgil's snooping reveals that Tripp may have been gay. Stuck in his small town and hiding the secret to his sexuality, it is possible that Jacob Flood threatened to reveal Tripp's secret, leading Tripp to kill him.
    The other thread involves the dead officer's secretive church. Perhaps more reminiscent of a cult, the church is rumored to condone strange sex acts, including pairing underage children with older members. This thread reveals actions dating over 100 years into the towns history and possible connections to previous murders. With all of these issues comming to light, Virgil is thrust into some of the darkest crimes he has ever experienced.
    This is kind of a change of pace for John Sandford's Virgil Flowers series. Yes, he continues to make Virgil one of the most entertaining and relatable characters in crime fiction, but he forces his lovable character into some of the darkest situations he's ever written about. Rape is never an easy topic, especially when it involves children, but Sandford's skills as a writer allow him to touch upon the subject with a delicate hand, while still advancing his fast paced mystery. This is the best Virgil Flowers novel to date, with a strong web of mystery that will keep you engrossed until the very last page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    Another Winner

    I like this series from my favorite author, John Sandford. It gives me my "fix" while I wait for the next Lucas Davenport "Prey" series book to be released. Sandford has created a cool,almost "hippie" character in Virgil Flowers. His single lifestyle and Christian upbringing add an interesting dimension to his stories. Of course, Sandford's use of humor shows up in this book and I found myself laughing out loud while reading a book that deals with a gruesome subject. I will definitely read book 5 in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Good Mysterary

    Sandford easy reading flows well

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    Better

    Flowers series got much better. Not my favorite but worth the read. See how #5 goes, but figure I'll be watching for #6 to come out... or maybe the next Davenport!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    One of the Better of This Series

    After a great debut, I was a little disappointed with the second and third books of the Virgil Flowers series. This definitely redeemed it. There's not much of a mystery here; we know early on who did what. The question is, will they get away with it? Virgil runs into a nasty religious cult in the winter countryside of Minnesota. Its members are involved in such niceties as child abuse, incest, and rape - and will stop at nothing to protect their way of life, even murder. Virgil and an attractive female sheriff (does this surprise us?) are soon up to their ears in their efforts to expose the cult, and in an affair. Well-written and well-paced, this is a fast and absorbing read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great story

    I remain a fan of John Sandford and I love the Virgil Flowers character. The story is somewhat disturbing in terms of the abuse but it is fiction. Unfortunately, things like this happen in every day life. I recommend this story to anyone who wants a suspenseful read. The characters are interesting and the plot is twisted. I look forward to more novels featuring Virgil. It is a nice segue from the Davenport series. I also like that Shrake and Jenkins were brought in. JS has a gift for making you like his flawed characters and I like them too. The story is unpredictible and I like that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bad Blood

    Bad Blood is a murder mystery with religious undertones where Minnesota investigator tries to find the common link between three murders where there doesn't seem to be. As he searches for clues, he learns of a group of farmers with their own church that may be the connection. I don't believe I have read any previous Virgil Flowers stories before but this one certain grabbed hold of me. This is book is sexually explicit and may be disturbing to some. There are some twists and false leads. I found the book to be so intense and the plot so fascinating that I will have to read the previous Flowers stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 129 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7