Customer Reviews for

Bad Blood (Alexandra Cooper Series #9)

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2007

    I want to be like Alex!!

    BAD BLOOD by Linda Fairstein is a spectacular book of great charm, intellect and superbly puzzled mysteries that capture the reader from page one!! The psychological, forensic, and physical clues were written into the story just as an outstanding prosecutor would build up the evidence in a trial. Instead of being glued to the TV, I was glued to my chair with book in hand, until the final words on the final page. Information about the New York underground water tunnels and subway system added an extra dimension to this thriller--as did information about cancer and blood work. Excellent characters added a warmth that was needed to add balance to the book. Often when I start in the middle of a series from an author, I feel that I need to go back to the first book just so I can know what is happening with the characters that are brought back in the later book that I am reading. With this book, I need to go back to Fairstein's earlier books because I just fell in love with Alex, Mike and Lem and I want to see how their interactions played out in earlier books! With Firstling's research and explanations, I would gladly have her as my defense attorney, but please keep her writing books for my entertainment instead!!! Her carefully layered plot and clues built one upon another. She sutedly built this book to a fevered pitch , yet the only thing that the reader could expect was the unexpected!! One of the best crime novels where police procedurals, law, geography, and sexually violent criminal information worked together to make a perfectly completed puzzle!!! Can not wait until the next book comes out!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    Great book / series

    Love the Alex Cooper series. Great bunch of characters. Page turner from the get go. Really like Linda's style of writing. LOTS and LOTS of NYC history goes into these novels. This novel here you not only get a great fictional read, but you get a great trip into the underground world(subways, tunnels, old closed subway stations, etc) below the streets of NYC.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Recommended

    Love the characters and the history lessons in all of this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    A MUST READ CHECK IT OUT !!!!

    Great book keeps you on the edge of your seat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Excellent story

    This was my first novel by this author. I highly recommend her writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Linda Fairstein, Bad Blood

    In the ninth book of the series, assistant DA Alex Cooper seeks a conviction against prominent businessman Brendan Quillian for the brutal strangulation of his wife. That Brendan was conveniently out of town at the time of the murder increases the obstacles in Alex's way, but fails to convince her of Quillian's innocence. An explosion deep below the city in the midst of a massive dig to improve the city's water supply proves to be more than simply a distraction to her case when Quillian's own family seem to be involved.

    The first time I read a Fairstein mystery involving her central character Alexandra Cooper I was mildly entertained. But I have to say, I very much enjoyed this one, Bad Blood, despite my tendency to prefer foreign settings. The characters are compelling, the story was wonderfully complex with enough twists and turns to keep me wanting more. Well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bad Blood

    In the ninth book of the series, assistant DA Alex Cooper seeks a conviction against prominent businessman Brendan Quillian for the brutal strangulation of his wife. That Brendan was conveniently out of town at the time of the murder increases the obstacles in Alex's way, but fails to convince her of Quillian's innocence. An explosion deep below the city in the midst of a massive dig to improve the city's water supply proves to be more than simply a distraction to her case when Quillian's own family seem to be involved.

    The first time I read a Fairstein mystery involving her central character Alexandra Cooper I was mildly entertained. But I have to say, I very much enjoyed this one, Bad Blood, despite my tendency to prefer foreign settings. The characters are compelling, the story was wonderfully complex with enough twists and turns to keep me wanting more. Well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2008

    Wondered if it would ever end ...

    I enjoyed the other books by the author but I had to make myself finish this one. And I was disappointed with the ending. It does seem like the author writes from experience, which is good. However, this book just missed the mark somewhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2007

    Keeps you on the edge of your seat!!!

    Particularly exciting and fast paced! An excellent read based on the true events going on now regarding New York's water tunnels. I love Ms. Fairstein's novels for their authenticity. Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2007

    BAD BLOOD TOPS THE LIST

    MS. FAIRSTEIN has outdone herself this time. This is a non-stop read. You are kept in suspense from the time you start reading chapter one until you finish reading the last chapter, and even the Acknowledgements, wondering what will happen next. You won't be wondering for long what mess Alex Cooper has gotten herself into this time, and if her partners in crime, Detectives Wallace and Chapman, will rescue her in time. And in the middle of investigating the case involving sandhogs and several homicides, Ms. Cooper officiates at the wedding of her childhood friend up at Martha's Vineyard. 'Whats a sandhog?' you ask. You'll have to read this masterpiece to find out. What are you waiting for? Get out to your local bookstore and get the book. You won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    exciting legal thriller

    Manhattan prosecutor Alexandra Cooper knows proving beyond a shadow of a doubt that Brendan Quillian killed his wife Amanda will be difficult especially since the businessman has an out of town alibi, but she feels she has a strong case. Quillian is in trouble based on powerful circumstantial evidence. However, countering it is the testimony of Kate Meade, a friend of the accused since they were teens and a wife and mother she is the ideal witness. Alexandra completes her questioning feeling rather good about where she ended. That is until Quillian¿s defense attorney Lemuel Howell affirms that Kate and Brendan were having an affair the credibility of this important witness falls apart. Cooper is shook because the revelation was hidden from her by Kate. --- Cooper struggles to regain the upper hand in a trial that has fallen somewhat apart. However, an explosion rips the third water tunnel construction site that should have nothing to do with the Quillian murder trail, but does as Alex finds a link to Brendan. As she digs deeper into the Quillian connection to the water tunnel explosion, Copper places herself in jeopardy seeking conclusive proof that Brendan is a cold blooded killer. --- BAD BLOOD opens with a gripping courtroom scene and never slows down after that until the final confrontation in a dark tunnel. This legal thriller is as equally exciting during the trial scenes and the investigative scenarios. However, some like this reviewer do have problems with prosecutors playing the role of undercover ¿cops¿ rather than letting the pros do the job. That quibble aside, sub-genre fans will receive plenty of entertainment as Cooper struggles to save a case that unraveled over an affair. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2