BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Bad Boy

Average Rating 4
( 131 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(84)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Bad Boy

I loved it .

posted by Anonymous on September 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Bill Bull

Worst book author can die in a hole

posted by Anonymous on September 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 131 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Bill Bull

    Worst book author can die in a hole

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2010

    Bad Boy

    A very intriguing cover brought me to a not such an interesting book. A story about Walter Dean Myer talks about the details of his Harlem childhood in the 1940s/1950s. He loved home life with his adopted parents, Bible school, street games, and the livelihood of his neighborhood. Although, Myer spent much of his time either getting into trouble or on the basketball court, secretly he was an eager reader and a hopeful writer. But as his picture for a successful future weakened, the values he had been taught at home, in school, and in his community seemed insignificant, and he turned to the streets and his books for comfort. It had a reoccurring theme over growing; learning and growing. For example, when he has to understand hitting someone when they make fun of his speech impediment is not always the right thing to do, and most the time get's him in trouble, but the right thing to do is to just ask them to stop. Even though I did not find the book to be as interesting as I hoped, it was new to learn about someone like Myer to me. His obstacles and ways of overcoming them are unique to what I have seen in my life. It could be the different cultures and times we grew up in or just show how different people can truly be. Much otherwise it was not more than average, not very intriguing, and didn't keep me hooked to want to keep reading. It truly depends on what you like to whether or not you should read this book, for me, not a first pick. But for someone who enjoys history and biography's, this might be your cup of tea.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Read the book in sixth

    Gonna read it again

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    this book rocks

    This book is really good and you will love this story and this one it is very funny :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Morgan evans

    Wow a hit!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    i love the book if you like books that are based on older times you will like it

    i love the book if you like books that are based on older times you will like it

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    This sucks

    Iwould have raher died than read this book . I stopped reading after the first word . I hope this writer dies . He needs a new job and hes stupid .

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Bad Boy

    I loved it .

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Great book

    Ausome book i love it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2014

    Its a good book

    I can reate to some of the things he went through. Its a very nice memoir, if you get past the fact that its a memoir...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2008

    Great book to read.

    Walter Dean Myers, the author of 'Bad Boy', wrote a great story about him and his life that he has lived. A young boy growing up in Harlem who has a love for reading and writing. Growing up he has always wanted to become a writer and now he is the author of many great books. Bad Boy was a great life story about Walter Dean myers and learning about his experiences and adventures was great. He went through tough times and good times and came out successful. This book inspired me to do what i need to do to get by in life and work hard for what you believe in. I'm a senior in high school about to graduate or at least i hope so. I fell behind in a class and now i need to work harder to pass. Reading this book during the class has really pushed me to do my work and get everything done that i need to. I recommend this book to anyone who is having trouble in their life. Reading about a man who grew up knowing what he wanted to do in his life and then becomming successful with it is an absolute amazing goal to achieve and i respect Walter Dean Myers a lot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2014

    Yay

    Yeet

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2014

    Read please

    We need more unny reviews its the only thing i do class

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2014

    Lol

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2014

    To number two

    Ur "dumb"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    This sucks

    This is dum

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    The memoir called Bad Boy by Walter Dean Myers is a fascinating

    The memoir called Bad Boy by Walter Dean Myers is a fascinating book because it shows how the writer matured throughout the book. One example is in the beginning. Walter, when at school would get into a lot of fights because someone made fun of his speech but as he gets older he realises he can’t punch everyone who made fun of him. Another reason  why it is fascinating is because he does a good job at describing the story and how he and the characters looked. Another example in this book is in one part he talked about how tall he was and how he was broader than the other guys in his school. Some things I disliked about this book is it was slowed paced in the beginning and he skipped around a lot. Sometimes he will be talking about how he was reading then in the next chapter he will be talking about how he’s punching someone in the face. I would recommend this book to people who like his books and want to learn more about his life and to someone who is doing a research paper on a famous author. I would not recommend this book to people who hate reading and if they have a low lexile range.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    I would recommend this book for learning experiences only.  This

    I would recommend this book for learning experiences only.  This book helps you realize the racial struggles for the blacks in the late 1900s.  Life was easy for Walter Dean Myers until he grew older and realized the struggles for Blacks.  Later in his life, Walter started skipping school.  That lead to being chased by gangs.  Later in his life he escaped his depression by entering the military.  After that he started writing short stories for children.  In all I would rate this book a four.  For school purposes I would rate it a five.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    panzies

    H

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    I

    Imss villa rica so much i wanna go back these were mt best friends alysha myranda britt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 131 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7