BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Bad Case of Stripes

Average Rating 4.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2014

    I tried to read this book with my daughter and didn't get a posi

    I tried to read this book with my daughter and didn't get a positive reaction. She is 6 and when we go to the bookstore she will cover this book with other books because she is afraid of it. To make matters worst now is in her class and she is very afraid of it that doesn't even want to go her class. I respect that might be a good story for some but others the illustrations are scary for some.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2014

    They had this son at the pre-school where my children attend and

    They had this son at the pre-school where my children attend and they read it to the 3 year old class. Ever since my son has been afraid to sleep by himself and cries and has severe anxiety since he was read this book.
    Over a year and a half later they read this book at his pre-k and he once again has been so afraid of everything (over two weeks ago). I would highly not recommend this book to anyone or any school with small children. My son is now afraid and this book has scarred him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    A really fun book about peer pressure and simple remedies for mo

    A really fun book about peer pressure and simple remedies for most problems....my grandkids simply adore this book! My (now 20yrs old) oldest granddaughter even dressed up as Camilla one Halloween when she was about 8yrs old. It's fun to read and use all kinds of voices! Highly reccomend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2012

    I bought this book at a school book fair when I was 9 years old

    I bought this book at a school book fair when I was 9 years old and I absolutely loved it. I read it several times and took it with me everywhere. It made me laugh and was definitely the most creative book I have ever read. The illustrations were beautiful and I'd stare at them for a long time before turning to the next page. I borrowed it from the library recently and still enjoy it as a 20 year old. I do know a girl who was terrified of the book though so I would be careful. But the other kids had no problem with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    I read this book to my 2nd grade class at the very beginning of

    I read this book to my 2nd grade class at the very beginning of the
    school year. They thought it was hilarious! We talked about how we are
    all different and we don't need to worry what those around us think. The
    kids also made their own stories about their bad case of the ______ and
    those were just as funny as the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Fantastic

    I have enjoyed reading this book to children for years now. Filled with humor and beautiful illustrations, this story of self-acceptance is one we can all love and learn from.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Colorful and Healthy !

    I plan to share this book in a couple instances at least in which a child needs to more fully accept who she/he is. Honesty "rocks" but is often so difficult. Being true to self - for as many of us as possible -seems to be a very important thing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2010

    Beware of this book

    I have an almost 9 year old son, now in 3rd grade, who has been reading since he was 2 years old. He has developed into a very sophisticated reader, reading well past the 6th grade level, and is described by his teacher as a "ravenous reader". He has read some of the Harry Potter series, among others, and has also watched movies such as Willie Wonka and the Chocolate Factory, and The Wizard of OZ, with no problem and has been entertained by them. He even has watched much of the Lord of the Rings series with no problems. He is also an avid writer of his own stories, hence, he has a very vivid imagination. He picked up this book in the classroom the other day and read it by himself from cover to cover. Needless to say, it has very strongly affected him, he has been terrified for the past 3 days and will not sleep by himself any longer (he is an extremely sound sleeper, too). He cannot get the images out of his mind and he cannot even talk about this book as it scares him so much. From the reviews on B and N, namely Publisher's Weekly, this book truly does "continue to haunt children long after the cover is closed". For a little boy with a vivid imagination, the illustrations and content are over the top and beyond. Maybe preschoolers' imaginations aren't as developed at their age so they do not "see" it the same way. But for an 8-9 year old who's been around a little longer, they might look into it a bit more and relate to the story and pictures in a horrifying way. I certainly would not expect a school to have a book meant to haunt kids, but unfortunately this one actually can. Beware......

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Lima Beans Rock!

    Every little kid goes through something similar to this in their life. This is a great book to help little kids get over feeling different.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    cutest story with a good meaning behind iT

    When i was in daycare, the kids LOVED this story. They asked me to read it everyday, and I so realize why. The pictures in this book are amazing, whoever drew these definitely needs a kudos. Any kid would fall into this story easy, just with the pictures alone. I love the story line behind it, on how people would 'judge' her and what happens. It's a great way to show kids on what can happen when you judge others and how to be yourself. I think every library, school and day care needs to have this book in their possession. I plan on even purchasing it for my own future kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Cute

    My kids like this and it has a good story behind it. Helps to teach that you should not try to pretend like you are someone else, do not fall into peer pressure and just be yourself. Good for building confidence and VERY cute illustrations. Alice the Fairy is the BEST though!! So funny and it's my kids' favorite book (even my 3 year old boy!!)...he also likes the No David books by David Shannon too. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2009

    Very cute to read before starting school

    My three year old loves this book. Although it was a little long for her, she sat through it. We had a lot of fun reading this book. It is especially good to read before school starts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    Oh no, My Family Caught the Stripes!

    My family always enjoys reading this book together at bedtime (or any time). The characters are funny and the pictures are amazing. There is so much to look at and every time we read the story we see something else we hadn't seen the last time. The story has a great message as well. Don't be afraid to just be yourself.

    I am a preschool teacher and this book is also one of the class favorites. We read this over and over and over again. It never gets old.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A book from my childhood

    I remember buying this book at a book fair in my school. As soon as I started reading it I was hooked. It was one of my favorite books. I lost the book sadly, but still I remember the story. It is a wonderful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    Great Kids Book

    My students in 6th grade had a good time using this book in their reading response groups. I like it when you are just getting started working with groups. Very easy and simple.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A great self esteem booster for kids.

    Another colorful tale from David Shannon this one talks about the horrible things that can happen if you let other people decide who you are.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2008

    A Great Book and a Great Moral

    Camilla Cream awakens to a very unexpected transformation on her first day of school. Camilla finds herself convered in stripes and is terrified at what people may think about how she looks. Camilla goes to school and low and behold when the class is saying the Pledge of Allegiance, her stripes turn into stars and stripes. Throughout the story Camilla goes through many changes in her appearance. Camilla's parents hire many doctors to try and break the case and figure out what is wrong with their daughter, but nobody their parents bring in to help her can figure it out. Until one plump old lady comes knocking on the door to offer her assistance. The tale takes a critical turn for Camilla when the little old lady tells her the secret to getting rid of the stripes is to be herself. A beautifully illustrated book whose pictures bring the story to life. A Bad Case of Stripes brings the struggles that children have everyday into the forefront; the struggles of being yourself, self-esteem,and bullying. Truly a wonderful read for the whole family, and a great book to introduce to students.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2007

    great book about just being yourself

    great illustrations! Great story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2005

    Outstanding

    My two 4 year olds love this book. I thought it may be too long for them, but they sit very still and listen to every word. The illustrations are phenomenal. I love reading it to them!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2005

    be yourself!

    i am the mother of three. 7, 5, and 3. all my children really enjoyed this book. my three year old loves it the most. she carries it with her and can say most of it by heart. the art work is simply splendid and what a wonderful message - not to be afraid to be yourself. thank you david shannon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2