BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Bad Childhood, Good Life: How to Blossom and Thrive in Spite of an Unhappy Childhood

Average Rating 4
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

This book saved me from myself

Dr. Laura, has a wonderful way to smack a hardheaded person, such as myself right upside the head to see exactly how thing are. this book i have recommended to many of my friends because she taught me you create what you know and if you have had a bad childhood, then s...
Dr. Laura, has a wonderful way to smack a hardheaded person, such as myself right upside the head to see exactly how thing are. this book i have recommended to many of my friends because she taught me you create what you know and if you have had a bad childhood, then somehow if you don't recognize that has formed you as a person, then you carry it on and create the same atmosphere in your grown up family and YOU don't have too. You can stop the madness yourself and let it go. i didn't realize the man i hated the most growing up (my dad) i had started to become - hence, i started to really hate myself and brought on depression. After reading this book my eyes were open (but i must say you have to be ready to open your eyes) and i have made enormous changes in my life and my family sees it as well.

posted by melanie555 on November 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Getting past the past !

I was the victim of abuse from the ages of 8 to 13. There is not even one present day friend of mine who knows this. Only my family. I have had counseling, and have read various books to heal some wounds that still need healing. Now in my thirties, things are finally ge...
I was the victim of abuse from the ages of 8 to 13. There is not even one present day friend of mine who knows this. Only my family. I have had counseling, and have read various books to heal some wounds that still need healing. Now in my thirties, things are finally getting better. Bad Childhood - Good Life is a book worth reading, and offered some helpful advice. But... In hopes of helping some others who, for one reason or another need help in getting past the past, I am sharing the best book I've read in two years. I 'gambled' last month and purchased a book from a new author. I must say it has helped me more than any of the others. Passengers Side, by John Michael Forosisky. Chapter 11 is called 'letting go'. Something I needed to do. This book showed me how to do it. So buy both, but I think you'll get more from the latter. I've already emailed the author to thank him. But I thought the least I could do would be to give him a plug here, and hopefully help others like me (who may read this) that need an amazing book like Passenger's Side, to help them.

posted by Anonymous on January 12, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    This book saved me from myself

    Dr. Laura, has a wonderful way to smack a hardheaded person, such as myself right upside the head to see exactly how thing are. this book i have recommended to many of my friends because she taught me you create what you know and if you have had a bad childhood, then somehow if you don't recognize that has formed you as a person, then you carry it on and create the same atmosphere in your grown up family and YOU don't have too. You can stop the madness yourself and let it go. i didn't realize the man i hated the most growing up (my dad) i had started to become - hence, i started to really hate myself and brought on depression. After reading this book my eyes were open (but i must say you have to be ready to open your eyes) and i have made enormous changes in my life and my family sees it as well.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I wish I had read this book 10 years ago!

    Very useful book that helps you to put past history into perspective and to take the approach of responsibility for your own actions and behaviours. This book helped me to let go of some things that I had been holding on to for many years and to really understand how hurtful (to myself) that displaced anger can be. It's one that I plan to read again in about 6 months to remind myself of the powerful message.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2008

    The Best Counsel Ever on Bad Childhoods

    Over and above the many self-help, psychology, books and methods I have read and studied over many years of interest in such subjects, 'Bad Childhood, Good Life' is the most accurate, real, true and practical assessment I have ever come in contact with. Page after page I would think. 'This is the best thought, or information I have ever heard, I need to share it with ....., it would surely be an answer to their prayers, needs or struggles.' Then I would turn the page and have the very same thoughts at the end of that page. The book, in my opinion, is the absolute ultimate saving grace for many, many wonderful people who will read and practice Dr. Laura's advice.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Great book. I wish that I would have read this book years ago.I

    Great book. I wish that I would have read this book years ago.I recommend this book for  all therapist and individuals with bad childhoods. It was a confirmation that I am on the right track. At some point in one's life, you must take responsibility for your own actions. Change happens when we own what is ours and move on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    This book saved my marriage

    This is not a read once book ... I've listened to it four times and am now going through the book and highlighting the lessons I need to practice and live. I hesitated reading this book for years because I felt bad that I would be saying my parents did a crappy job raising me when in fact they both did the best they could with what they new to do. My issues now are mine, not theirs; not my wonderful husbands, not my step children and certainly not my new and old friends. The best thing Dr. Laura said was a bad childhood is not limited to the physically abused, children of addicted parents or victims of sexual assault. It gave me permission for my anger HOWEVER, and most importantly, taught me that my behavior now is my choice and my responsibility to change to make my life as happy as I expected it to be. Thank you Dr. Laura for this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    Great book for finally letting go.

    This is a wonderful book, that changed the way I viewed my past, and helped me come to terms with and understand many things.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2006

    It's a Choice...

    This book was exactly what I needed right now this moment in my life. Actually, I could have used it a decade or two ago! I have been at a crossroads for most of my adult life and I am 44-years-old now...I'm not sure why I couldn't just let go of my childhood and move on. I just want what we all want - to be happy. This book tells about many different people and how Dr. Laura helped them to become aware of their choices. That is what it all boils down to - choices - and making the right ones for yourself. I could relate to so much in this book. It truly changed my life and is allowing me to finally let go of my past and say good-bye to my family - something I have needed to do my whole life. I am buying this book for my brother and also my adult daughter, so she can better understand why I am doing what I am doing. I may even buy one for mother dearest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2005

    Becoming a better Parent

    Readers interested in this book might also be interested in Lisa Dunning's book: 'Good Parents Bad Parenting-How to Parent Together When Your Parenting Styles are Worlds Apart.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1