Customer Reviews for

Bad Company (Sean Dillon Series #11)

Average Rating 3.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2003

    Great Beach Book!

    Another one of the exciting romps in the life of one of Higgins' most delightful characters, Sean Dillon. An easy read and certainly enjoyable!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Who doesn't loved Sean Dillon. Another great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Boy's room

    Same as girl's room

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    Great writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good book to "Get away from it all"

    The usual Jack Higgins, fast moving. Keeps ones interest up and a great
    book to leave reality for a while. The characters may be a bit
    off the wall but it all goes with the story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2004

    What a great book

    Jack Higgins does a wonderful job portraying WWII action and also new age action. He is able to put you in their shoes. He is also able to tie in a wonderful story line which will leave you guessing to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2003

    Bad Company Bad book

    I expected much more from Jack Higgins. Have read all of his other books and loved them. It seems that in this book, he took a little bit from each of his other books, put the bits in a hat, picked them out and stuck them in a book. This book was a real disappointment from a great author. The readers deserve more than he gave in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2003

    Higgins Strikes Again

    While there may be some predictability in 'Bad Company,' such as knowing that Sean Dillon and Gen Ferguson will always defeat the baddies, Higgins does a great job of tying in something from the past into the present and delivering a quick reading, exciting yarn. (And BTW show me a series that does not have some predictability...) Enjoy yourself, grab this title, kick back in your lounge chair, turn to page one and let the fun begin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2003

    dillon & company are back!!!

    i don't know why the first few reviews i read don't like this novel. it has everything, dillon, the general, blake johnson, ms. bernstein and it continues the saga of the rashids. at the end of the previous book, i wondered what would happen next. i think that this was a great way to end this particular adventure for everyone involved with rashids. it brought a new element into the mix and the device of using the 2nd world war as a backdrop was inspired writing. that all judith hutchinson

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2003

    DO I CARE ABOUT ANY OF THESE CHARACTERS?

    This is the first Jack Higgins¿ book I¿ve ever read, and I regret that I¿ve even read it at all. What a waste of my time! I almost couldn¿t and didn¿t want to finish it. Since I don¿t have any prior knowledge of all the characters that appeared in other Higgins¿ books, I thought, except for Baron Von Berger, NONE of the characters have developed enough depth for me to know and to even care about them. As far as I know they¿re nothing but a group of thugs and murderers that are feuding over personal vindication in the name of contrived heroic excuses. Halfway through the book, as soon as Baron Von Berger faded into oblivion, I started losing interest in this book. The motivation for Von Berger to declare war against Dillon & Ferguson over Kate Rashid was, at best, weak and contrived. I couldn¿t find character to relate to or to root for. The plot¿s thin and the emotion¿s void. It¿s extremely disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2003

    He woke up and realized his term paper was due tomorrow

    I thing Higgins is a good writer; however, this book was terrible. It started off really well, then it flopped. It seems to me that he was rushed to come up with an ending and a due date. The book ended so quickly it was ridiculous. No detail at all, wham bam you're dead. Just jumping from one short event to the other short event without much detail, and the final scene was about as exciting as watching my hair grow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2003

    Jack seems to be mailing it in?

    I think the Sean Dillon character is tremendous, but Higgins seems to be getting away from him. Too many Nazis officer titles that you can't keep track of in the story. Who Cares? If I want to read a history book I'll buy one. The subject today is terror and the middle east, stick to this area and he'll (Higgins) be back as a writer. One more turkey and it's time to look elsewhere for entertainment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2003

    Disappointed

    I have been a Higgins fan for the last few years, and have read everything he has written that I can find. This includes books written under his real name Harry Patterson. This book was so predictable and boring I have to wonder if it was written by the same person as the others. There were absolutley no twist in the plot and the real Sean Dillion is out to lunch. I will place this volume on the shelf with all the other Higgins books, but it will not be a book that I could recommend to my friends. Where is the Jack Higgins of 'Flight of Eagles','The Eagle Has Landed' and others that should be considered as classics. I hope that the next will be a return of the Jack Higgins that I have enjoyed reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2003

    What happen to Jack Higgins?

    I was so disappointed in this book. It was as if the familiar characters lost their dimension and the language became trite and stilted. The plot dragged on and the one interesting new character, the baron, who had a strong start faded into the woodwork. Sean Dillon, my favorite, lost his edge. What happened?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2003

    ho hum

    Jack Higgins is a master thriller writer who fills his books with merciless action, suspense, twists, and great characters. This latest novel, however, was sub-par. It read as if it were pieced together at light speed, and with little originality. No action and silly villans. It seemed like an afterthought to the previous Rashid stories. Time to move along. The best aspect of the story was one of Higgins strengths, the WWII element. This kept it interesting, but just not enough. I look forward to his next and better efforts to rekindle the Higgins (and Dillon) flair.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent thiller

    During the last days of World War II in the European theatre, Baron Max Von Berger, a sturmbahnfurher of the SS is given Hitler's diary by the dictator personally. The Baron takes the diary and hides it in a secret niche in his home Schloss Alder near the village of Nevstadt. The diary contains never before released information about Hitler suing for peace with the United States and both countries then would invade Russia.<P> President Roosevelt sent Senator Cazalet, the father of the current United States President, to meet with Hitler's representative in a neutral country. Roosevelt rejects the idea of an alliance but if the truth about President Cazalet's father ever comes out, it could topple the government. The president appeals to English operative General Charles Ferguson and his colleague Sean Dillon to get the diary, which will be no easy feat. The Baron and his son hate the president, General Ferguson, Dillon and several of their friends for their role in the death of Kate Rashid, a terrorist wearing the clothes of a legitimate businessperson.<P> Jack Higgins can always be counted on to give his fans a riveting thriller and his latest novel is one of his best. BAD COMPANY starts off at light speed and goes quickly into warp drive, never easing up on the throttle so that readers never quite catch their breath. There's a dark undercurrent running throughout all the characters and the only difference between the heroes and the villains is that the heroes carry a badge. This is one thriller that is on it's way to the bestseller lists.<P> Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2