Customer Reviews for

Bad Cop

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I read the first book of this series and fell in love with the c

    I read the first book of this series and fell in love with the characters. This is the second book of the series and is about vampire Ian and human Alice. Both characters were introduced in the first book.




    This book started a little slow, but I was glad I stuck with it. Also, I was a little lost at the beginning as I had to re-orient to the vampire world and terminology of this series. I had to remember a lot of what had been revealed in the previous book and I think a new reader might become discouraged. A little more time reorienting to the world in which this series takes place would be beneficial.




    Nothwithstanding the reorientation, it was a great story and mystery. I found myself baffled as to who is committing the murders. Ms McCallister did a great job with misdirection in the characters to keep the reader pondering. Alice as a little flaky at the beginning but her character really grew during the book. Ian was a solid character from the beginning, but his self-examination gave his character depth beyond sexy and smart.




    McCallister continues the story of Slavers and really pulls the reader into that mystery as well. More is also revealed of the Immortalis and Legion vs Dominus castes which made me understand them better. Other characters I want to learn more about are Ezra, Ptolomy, and Declan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I am still new to the paranormal romance genre, but I truly enjo

    I am still new to the paranormal romance genre, but I truly enjoyed this book.  The quick banter between Ian (Killian is his full name which I love) and Alice.  Ian was so fun, all that sarcasm and his Irish accent.  And Alice was such a strong independent female.  Loved her shooting scene.  




    The ending was very sweet and emotional.  Loved the chemistry between the two.




    The camaraderie between the male vampires was hilarious.  I loved their interaction.  Would love to see a story for Declan and Ezra. I know theirs would be good.




    I was given this story in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2013

    *i received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review

    *i received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review*
    This is the first book I've read b this author and I will now go looking for more. While not a full length novel this was well written and the characters well fleshed out.
    Alice winds up in charge of a murder investigation where young just turned vamp's are being murdered. She's stressed out by a long term condition her brother is hospiltilised for. Not only that but she has to turn to a dreaded cop in Ian (a vampire) to help in the investigation.
    Can Ian and Alice put aside their past and work together?
    There's tension, dectective work, sadness and joy all in one here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    An interesting and complex story.

    Reviewed by Gemini
    for Read Your Writes Book Reviews

    Bad Cop is an interesting and complex story about Alice Capshaw and Killian “Ian” McCready. Alice Capshaw is the temporary Vice Director of the Vampire Liaison Office which handles the “legal issues, regulations, and enforcement regarding vampire society, the Immortalis.” Killian McCready is a vampire that works for the Legion which is the law enforcement arm of vampire society. He tracks vampires that have committed crimes and he is very good at his job.

    Alice and Ian’s worlds collide when they end up working together to solve a string of murders that involve newly turned vampires. Their attraction to each other is immediate and it plays a crucial role in the murder investigation. Their expected love story is typical but everything else about the book isn’t. I had issue with the caste system that involves the vampires. They had a heirarchy that resembles society’s own upper, middle, and lower class. There was so much politics involved that I felt that it took away from the romantic elements of the story. Since the book was part of a series, I may have had a different perspective if I had read the previous book.

    To be fair, I did like the fact that although this was a paranormal romance, the relationship between Alice and Ian was rather normal. Ian was over 600 years-old, wealthy, and took his job very seriously. Alice was barely getting by before she took over as Vice Director but she was no damsel in distress. She doesn’t like cops due to something that happened to her brother but she can’t ignore her attraction to Ian. They go through the usual roller coaster ride before they finally realize that they belong together. All in all it’s a fun ride minus the politics. I would recommend this book.

    Rating: 3.5

    Source: Publisher

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This was a great read with great characters! Alice Capshaw is hu

    This was a great read with great characters! Alice Capshaw is human and has been temporarily placed in charge of the Vampire Liaison Office (VLO). Because of events in her past she believes in working within the confines of the system to get the job done – no matter the circumstances.

    Killian (Ian) McCready is a vampire and works for the Legion Trackers, the covert organization tasked with enforcing law and eliminating rogues in the Vampire world. He is not averse to bending a few rules to administer justice, especially when those who are guilty have been set free
    “Common sense and the greater good was the entire reason for his covert team’s existence. If they followed the letter of the law, the world might come to an end.”

    Tasked with finding out who is murdering newly changed vampires, Alice and Ian must work together to solve the crime, even though their methods cause friction between them. Despite the powerful attraction Alice & Ian feel towards one another, Ian’s disregard for the law comes continues to come between them.
    "You don’t care one bit about twisting arms and forcing your will, do you?”
    “Sometimes that’s the only way to get things done.”

    As the hunt for the killer heats up and things in Alice’s personal life take a tragic turn, Alice begins to question the circumstances that have led her to take such a hard line on always playing by the rules. Will both Alice and Ian be able to see past their differences and find a future together?

    This is book #2 in the Immortalis series and I don’t think I missed out on much by not reading book #1, Bad Mouth, first. Both Alice and Ian were great characters who bantered back and forth with the right mix of humor and heat. Ian is totally on board with having a relationship with Alice right from the beginning, but she holds him at arm’s length due to their differences. The backstory to Alice’s prejudices and the suspense of the current murder investigation keep you turning pages.

    The supporting cast of characters, including Ian’s Tracker friends and Alice’s friends Piper and Val, were colorful and had me laughing with their banter. I can’t wait to see where Angela McCallister takes the series from here with all these great characters to write about! The vampire lore is also different from other stories, which was refreshing.

    I would definitely recommend this book for anyone looking for a great PNR story with lots of heat, a bit of humor, and some mystery. A great read!

    I received an eARC from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2013

    I really enjoyed reading Bad Cop. Alice's boss Val wants Alice t

    I really enjoyed reading Bad Cop. Alice's boss Val wants Alice to take over for her while she is on leave pregnant with a vampires baby. Alice doesn't really want to take the position as she believes most cops are liars but lets herself get swept away and talked into temporarily taking the position.

    Of course on the 1st day of the job there is a murder that turns out to be a serial killer. Alice doesn't want to have help from Ian the sexy Immortalis Tracker, but begrudgingly she needs his help.

    They work together during this mystery, but Alice knows Ian is holding something back from her. She is determined to figure it out.

    The author does a great job with the mystery, suspense, and romance. There is great chemistry between Ian and Alice. I think I will go back and read the 1st book and then wait for the 3rd book to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2013

    At first I was a little nervous about this one. I'm still gettin

    At first I was a little nervous about this one. I'm still getting used to the whole paranormal genre, not to mention the fact that I'm actually liking them. I was also concerned over not having read the previous book, but it turns out I worried over nothing. I've been lucky to get a lot of ARC's from Entangled (including this one) and I haven't been let down yet. Whatever they don't send me is an auto buy for me, and that now includes book 1 which I can't wait to read Kade and Val's story.

    Alice isn't happy. She's depressed, has migraines and panic attacks. She works all the time and struggles to support her brother who's in a coma. She works at the VLO (Vampire Liason Office). Her friend and boss Val is taking a leave of absence and wants Alice to step in. On her first day a murder case drops in her lap. The victim is a newly turned vampire. The papers for turning the victim into a vampire haven't been filed so technically the case belongs to the VLO, the Legion Tracker who's been assigned feels the case is theirs since it involves a vampire.

    Killian (or Ian) is the Tracker. He doesn't understand Alice's by the book way of doing things. He's willing to work outside the lines if it gets the job done. He agrees to work with Alice, but both are holding things back due to their own past traumas. They must work together to stop the killings and find the murderer while trying to resist the mutual attraction.

    I loved loved loved Ian's character in this book. I always like it when the male character is the one pursuing a serious relationship. I felt really bad for him though with the way Alice kept sending mixed signals! Can't wait for the next book, but at least I can read the 1st one while I wait.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    ARC - Well what can I say, Irish Cop, sexy scenes makes for a gr

    ARC - Well what can I say, Irish Cop, sexy scenes makes for a great book. Ian is the kind of character you fall in love with and want to follow like a puppy. You want to be replaced by the leading lady since he will take care of you, make you laugh, caring side but has flaws...but who cares! With characteristics like Ian you can live with the flaws. This is seriously a road trip read!



    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2013

    Alice hates cops, but she is also broke, she takes over as Vice

    Alice hates cops, but she is also broke, she takes over as Vice Director of the VLO and soon finds herself caught in the middle of a murder investigation and working with a vampire tracker named Ian who plays by his own set of rules. Great read, the story is action packed and Alice and Ian are hot together. Looking forward to the next one in this wonderful series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A woman jaded against dirty cops...To Alice, Ian is just anothe


    A woman jaded against dirty cops...To Alice, Ian is just another bad cop as detestable as the one who destroyed her family. Regardless of her attraction to the charming man, she has no respect for the way the vampire threatens his way into her agency’s murder case and no trust in him when it’s obvious he’s hiding something.

    A cop who tosses the rule books to get his way…Ian doesn't care for Alice’s judgmental opinions on the way he goes about obtaining justice. They are polar opposites, and her humanity makes her off-limits, but that does nothing to weaken his overwhelming desire for her.

    A truth that could tear their new love to shreds…When the new case raises the ghosts of an old case Ian believed long dead and buried, his law-bending ways and the secret that haunts him could end with his execution. The second Alice becomes a target, his heart that he’d thought murdered along with his maker flares into blinding existence. But following the law for her sake could end with a devastating repeat of his past.


    Review:

    Here I go again, reading stories out of order in series. This could be a stand alone, but it does reference people and events that happened in the previous book.

    I like the smart and sometimes snarky dialog between Alice and Ian and even between Ian and Declan. The story was a very action packed, and the pace of the story well written. The book really has all the elements I look for in a good story, with a super exciting ending!

    Alice is smart, determined and tough. She is very distrustful of cops because of incident involving her twin as a teen. She has a tough time trusting Ian, who comes off as a bad cop, but is really just as determined as her and that sometimes leads to choices that come off as bad. Ian really is a sexy, charmer, who protects as what he sees as his. Alice and Ian are really great with each other, in that they bring out the best in each other and holy hotness when Alice and Ian get sexy is it steaming!

    I will definitely go out and get the first book in the series!

    4 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2013

    Alice  works for the "VLO" vampire liaison office and

    Alice  works for the "VLO" vampire liaison office and her boss Val left her in charge while she's on leave.  There is a murder the first day and Ian has bullied his way into helping Alice with the investigation. Their chemistry is off the chart but Ian is a vampire and Alice is a human. Alice has a lot to deal with and doesn't think getting with Ian is a good idea. Ian can't leave Alice alone and she trying to resist him. Alice finally realizes that she wants Ian but when they go to investigate, she is nabbed and being held with a knife to her throat. Ian tries to get the guy to let her go but instead cuts her throat. Ian is going bonkers and gets them to change Alice to a vampire. Alice was kidnapped and Ian does everything he can to find Alice. Ian finds Alice and fighting to get her and is stabbed in the back. Ian is dying and the only way to save him is to mate with him. It was a no brainer for Alice because she finally realized she love Ian, she would do anything to keep him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1