Customer Reviews for

Bad Girls of the Bible: And What We Can Learn from Them

Average Rating 3.5
( 181 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(65)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Finally An Insightful Look At Women In The Bible!

I admit that the 99 cents for this eBook was my main incentive, but after I started to read it, I ordered her other book Unveiling Mary Magdalene. Liz Higgs writes like she's sitting across the table from you and just talking girlfriend to girlfriend. Through several ...
I admit that the 99 cents for this eBook was my main incentive, but after I started to read it, I ordered her other book Unveiling Mary Magdalene. Liz Higgs writes like she's sitting across the table from you and just talking girlfriend to girlfriend. Through several translations of the bible and history she puts these women in a context that I've never read about before! Not only does she bring them to life in the modern world, she explains the world that they lived in and it gave me an understanding I didn't have before. Whether you are just starting your journey of faith or have been a life-long Christian, this is a must read!

posted by Solitaireyqueen on August 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Bad Girls of the Bible and What We Can Learn from Them is a book

Bad Girls of the Bible and What We Can Learn from Them is a book that affords a somewhat humorous and practical, in-your-face approach to Bible study. Written in a contemporary voice, the author shares her interesting views on women from the Bible such as Eve, Delilah a...
Bad Girls of the Bible and What We Can Learn from Them is a book that affords a somewhat humorous and practical, in-your-face approach to Bible study. Written in a contemporary voice, the author shares her interesting views on women from the Bible such as Eve, Delilah and Michal. One thing’s for sure, you will either love this book and style of writing or…

Phone Tree Rating: 3/5 Stars ***

posted by KimTeamer on March 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 181 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    The most inspirational thing i jave ever read.

    Bad Girls of the Bible tells of ten woman who have repented or hsv died sinners. Each should teach you a lesson of wha it means to be a servant or a burden to those around you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2011

    Makes you think...

    I believe if you read this with an open heart and mind, you'll see yourself-past or present-somewhere in these examples of "bad girls". A thank you to my sister Jaimie for sharing this with me. As always, my faith got a boost just when I needed it most. I thank God for that, for giving me what or who I need-even if I don't realize it myself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2011

    Not Interested!

    If this book speaks to your heart and you can relate then I think it would be something you might be interested in. Personally I am blessed by other Christian readings. God Bless

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Surprisingly Deep!

    This book reminds me of those soft centered chocolates where you get a pleasant surprise after you bite into them. It begins like a novel. In fact, each chapter begins with a short story. Each story illustrates a Bad Girl for us to understand in our time and then goes into the good stuff. It's surprisingly deep.

    She (Eve) stopped looking to God for the truth. She stopped looking to her husband for shared counsel. She stopped looking at the good, wholesome fruit already available to her. She even stopped looking to the serpent for direction. Notice: The serpent never said another word. He didn't have to. His temptation was complete. The seeds of deception had fallen on fertile ground." - Pg. 30

    Higgs writes with humor. I'm not familiar with many of her books except for a novel I reviewed previously here. Her humor becomes a surprise-the whispers of a best friend at a girl's get-away. It's cozy and intimate. We learn that Higgs had a rough past that she said raised eyebrows from "good" church-going women. She wrote this book with these reasons in mind:

    I had four kinds of readers in mind while I wrote: (1) Former Bad Girls who have given up their old lives for new ones in Christ and are struggling to figure out how and where they "fit" in God's family; (2) Temporary Bad Girls who grew up in church, put aside their devotion to God at some point, and now fear they can't ever be truly forgiven; (3) Veteran Good Girls who want to grow in understanding and compassion for the women around them who weren't "cradle Christians"; and (4) Aspiring Good Girls who keep thinking there must be something more to life but aren't sure where to look." - Pg. 7

    I learned so much from reading this book. I am giving it away at my next Praise and Coffee meeting in October because I think others can glean much wisdom from Higgs pages. I gave this book five stars because it is written in an entertaining way, easy to read, and like Mary Poppins says, "a spoonful of sugar makes the medicine go down." Indeed. Higgs dishes out the truth with a spoonful of sugar.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    Highly Recommended-Witty and Informative!

    I absolutely love the summer months because it gives me the opportunity to read, ReAd, READ! After finishing yet another of my dad's Kent Family Chronicles, and a library book by my favorite author, my new freebie book arrived, from Blogging for Books (by WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group)..and once again.I like it!

    Bad Girls of the Bible, by Liz Curtis Higgs, looks at 10 women from the Bible that we as humans would label "Bad". I read one other book by Lix Curtis Higgs, Mine is the Night and absolutely loved it. This book has a much different "personality" but is great!

    Liz Curtis Higgs takes each woman's story and begins with a fictional story that we can all relate to. Something that we have either "read before" or have "seen in a movie" or may have "had happen to us". She wants us to see that these women from the Bible are just like us, but even if they didn't, we can learn a lesson from them.

    After looking at a fictional story of each woman, Liz Curtis Higgs then takes the passage from the Bible and breaks it down for us. She lets us in on insights that she has had or that other researchers have thought of. She also uses a quirky way of getting her message across which I found delightfully entertaining! Finally, she talks about lessons we can learn from each "Bad Girl" and some thoughts to consider, which is great for a discussion with a book study or just with friends.

    I think I might be finding a new author that I really enjoy! Add that to the list of great things accomplished this summer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    A new light on bad girls

    I have always enjoyed reading about the various women mentioned throughout the Bible. I was highly intrigued when I discovered Liz Curtis Higgs book, "Bad Girls of the Bible: and What We Can Learn From Them". Ten of the Bible's best known "bad girls" are brought to life in the pages of this book with situations that sound very familiar to all of us. While we don't want to label ourselves as "bad girls" we have to be honest and admit that bad girls of the Bible are often easier to relate to than good girls (like Mary) and some of their traits that labeled them bad were as simple as criticism, lying, etc.

    This book takes the ten women's stories and tells them in a modern day allegory of each Biblical situation. After re-telling the Bible story in a modern way, she breaks the women's life down further through Bible verses and other commentator's opinions and writings. She often brings humor into their lives and stories too. I don't want to give away the 10 women you will read about it in this book, but I have to say I was very surprised to find the Bible character of Rahab in this book! Near the end of each chapter you get to consider what we are supposed to learn from these so-called "bad girls" and the "Good Girl Thoughts Worth Considering" section really hits you where it hurts as it forces you to look into your own life in reflection to that particular "bad girls" life.

    While the author has taken the liberty to label the various characters mentioned in her book as either "good" or "bad", I loved how she ended the book and shared her thoughts about this labeling system. She says:

    .It's simply this: Good Girls and Bad Girls both need a Savior. The goodness of your present life can't open the doors of heaven for you. The badness of your past life can't keep you out either. Not if you truly desire the forgiveness and freedom Christ offers."

    If you enjoy reading about women in the Bible or you are simply intrigued by this title, then I recommend you check out this book. It is a very easy and enjoyable read and you will be amazed how quickly you finish the book and how you view some of these women in a new light.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    Great for Good & Bad Girls Alike!

    I must confess I had already read Liz Curtis Higgs book Bad Girls of the Bible once, when I was younger and still a (mostly) good girl. Even then, when I read it, I loved it. Higgs has an unusual format of writing: first, a contemporary re-write of a biblical story, then an almost verse-by-verse dissection and teaching, followed by a summary of lessons to be learned, and ended with discussion questions.

    Now as a mother, wife, and former "bad girl" I find wisdom and comfort in Higgs' teaching. When I reach the point of feeling like I am going to pull my own hair out if I have to be compared to that hypothetical, ultimate good-girl, the Proverbs 31 Woman, one more time, I reach for Liz Curtis Higgs for good, down to earth teaching, with a little bad girl flair.

    Her conversational tone makes this an easy read and her rock-solid teaching makes it well worth the time. Please check out Bad Girls from the Bible.

    I received this book from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. It didn't have to be positive, but this just happens to be a phenomenal book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    Absolutely Wonderful Book!

    Bad Girls of the Bible
    By Liz Curtis Higgs

    When I saw this book I knew I needed to read it. There was something about the description that completely drew me in. This book was a GREAT read! I read it very quickly, I would read any chance I had, or I'd lay down to go to sleep and read until I got "tired" but never got tired! This book is about ten bad girls in the bible. The girls included are: Eve, Potiphar's Wife, Lot's Wife, Woman at the Well, Delilah, Sapphira, Rahab, Jezebel, Michal, and The Sinful Woman. In each chapter Liz sets up the story by retelling each woman's story in a modern way. I loved this aspect because, for me personally, it helps me remember details better. After each retelling, she then breaks down each woman's story, using bible verses and other commentator's opinions. Liz has a great writing style as well, and brings in a simplistic but humorous take to these stories. At the end of each chapter there is a section on what we can learn from this particular bad girl, then there is also a section of questions you can think on and answer. Overall, I really loved this book! It was educational, but not at all boring, and I am very interested in some more of Liz Curtis Higgs' books!

    I received a complimentary copy of this book from BloggingforBooks . com in exchange for an honest opinion

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2011

    Complete and Utter Crap

    The cover, as you can see, sports a picture of just the eyes of a heavily made-up woman throwing us a come-hither glance. Racy! Provocative! Captivating! Nope, not so much. It turned out to be your run-of-the-mill preachy stuff.

    We start with Eve, whom the author describes as "the original bad girl". Eve's major sin was eating the apple of the Tree of Knowledge despite God having told her not to. We move on to other bad girls such as Lot's wife who was turned into a pillar of salt for turning around for one last look of Sodom and Gomorrah as her and her family fled it's destruction; Sapphira was dropped dead because her and her husband failed to donate all the proceeds from a sale of their farmland to the local religious leaders; and of course, Jezebel, the Big Kahuna of bad girls.

    For each story, the author kindly points out each woman's sins and how we can learn from them today. That's all fine and good. The Bible is good for that, after all. But when the author tells us that the lessons we can take away from the story of Potiphar's Wife (who attempted to lure Joseph and, presumably his Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat, into an affair with her) are to"leave the office door open when we meet with a male coworker" or "make sure we are appropriately dressed" (actual quotes, page 59) to protect ourselves from committing adultery. You know what, screw you lady! I can talk to whomever, wherever I like. I can wear whatever I like. You know why? Because I'm an adult and I have self control over my primal urges. My virtue should not be so easily questioned. And men's virtue should not be so easily questioned, either. She is suggesting that all men and just waiting for a closed door or a short skirt as an invitation to jump me. I would like to think not, in this day and age. And if so, then you are associating with the wrong people, young lady!

    Needless to say, the book did not suit my feminist tastes. If you're a man who likes to put your woman in her place, or you are a woman who enjoys being put in your place, this is the book for you. You will get all the ammunition in the world for why women are the downfall of society and humankind. If you are an intelligent human being, then take a pass on this one.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    I learned a lot from the bad girls!

    Just by reading the title and looking at the great cover photograph of Liz Curtis Higgs peering out from behind a black veil, I knew immediately this wasn't your average "Christian book." And you know what, I was right. But in my opinion, this book is more "Christian" than most other Christian books out there today. Why? Because it teaches forgiveness and redemption, no matter WHAT your background or experiences in life. After all, wasn't that Jesus' core message?
    Liz Curtis Higgs isn't your average Christian author--she freely admits her sordid past filled with promiscuity, drug use, and abusive relationships. She frequently uses her own stories to illustrate the points made in her book. She used to be a radio jockey whose show was so racy it made Howard Stern tell her to "clean up her act." But then Liz found the healing and redemptive powers of God's love, and it's this message which drives "Bad Girls of the Bible." Her non-judgmental and forgiving attitude will make any "bad girl" feel welcome. Most Christian authors today often come off as "holier-than-thou" with no clue about anything outside their own Christian sphere of influence. No matter what you've done, Liz has probably been there and done that, too.

    Liz uses examples of "bad girls" from the Old and New Testaments to show how bad actions can affect our lives, and how we can be healed and forgiven by God. The stories are told with Liz's trademark wit and humor, which makes the book a rather entertaining read. She breaks down the stories verse-by-verse and makes amusing and insightful commentary on each. You don't have to be a Bible scholar to enjoy the book--Liz breaks everything down into bit-sized, easy-to-swallow pieces for your reading enjoyment!

    I would recommend this book to any woman out there, whether you're a "lapsed Christian" or just need a change of pace from the usual conservative Christian fodder that's out there. Liz calls herself an "encourager", and she really is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2011

    Thought Provoking Yet Humorous Read

    The Bad Girls of The Bible And What We Can Learn From Them by Liz Curtis Higgs is a wonderful devotional, and the title says it all. The book takes an in-depth look at ten of the Bible's woman; Eve, Potifar's Wife, Lot's wife, the woman at the well, Delilah, Sapphira, Rahab, Jezebel, Michal, and the sinful woman, separating them into the categories Bad to the Bone, Bad for a Moment, and Bad for a Season, but Not Forever. Each chapter discusses a different woman, opening with a fictional story set in present-day with the plot of the original story, goes into a verse-by-verse look at the story, and closes with the Lessons We Can Learn and Good Girl Thoughts Worth Considering.

    I absolutely loved reading this book. Liz is so thorough in her evaluation of each woman's account! She explains what is really happening, the deeper meanings of things, translations, the customs of that day, and reads between the lines of the dialogue. I never knew what a lot of their names meant, how symbolic the meanings are, and I certainly never really understood what went on in the conversation between Jesus and the woman at the well until I read this book!

    She also looks at the actions of others in the stories, how their actions showed their true selves, and how or if those actions influenced the woman's overall decision making. Liz also relates things to modern days, whether to tell a story about her own life, to use someone well known today to compare with a biblical figure on ability or looks, to show how satan still uses a certain misled idea in our culture, or to get the reader to consider questions asked in Good Girl Thoughts Worth Considering. In addition to doing all that, the whole book is just completely full of clean, tasteful humor and written in a way that gives it a light and enjoyable read, even as the messages of the stories left me with tears in my eyes. This book has my heart felt recommendation.

    I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    Are you a Bad Girl? Must Read!

    When I decided to review this book I started thinking about some of the women that I have read about in the Bible who I would call "Bad Girls". The first to come to mind was Eve. Eve tends to get a bad rap because humanity wants to blame all fo their sufferings on her. She was the first woman and she did disobey God, but in reality what did she do that's any different from the many sins we commit each and every day? I then thought about the woman at the well. The woman who told Jesus she didn't have a husband, but indeed had been married multiple times and was even living with a man she wasn't married to. Again, what is this woman doing that a lot of people in society aren't also doing? Liz Curtis Higgs takes a closer look at these two women and several more in this book. She gives us a little insight into what might have made these women choose the paths that led to destruction. She encourages us to look at our own lives and to see what we can learn from the mistakes that these ladies of the Bible made. We have all made decisions that we regret. We've all disobeyed God and not followed His will for our lives. We've all been a <em>bad girl</em> at one time or another. As Liz says you may have been <em>Bad to the Bone, Bad for a Season, or Bad for a Moment. </em> Either way there is hope for tomorrow. It is never too late to change, to make a difference in your life. You can choose today to turn your life over to God and to live for Him.




    <em>I received a free copy of this book from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.</em>

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    A Must READ!

    I love Liz Curtis Higgs! I have been honored to personally spend some time with her, and I can say that her writing is not only intelligently written and theologically sound, but it shows the true spirit of who Liz is and the humor she pours from her. God has blessed her with an amazing perspective on life. Thank you Liz for showing us how to be a true woman of God no matter how bad we may feel....God created women for a reason, the Good, Bad, and the Ugly, all can be used for His good and perfect will....This is a MUST READ!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    You get what you pay for... This title was free

    I think I downloaded this title for free. You get what you pay for. I was intrigued at first, but the authors take on biblical tales was too much for me, and I found better uses of my time than forcing myself to read this.

    Also, I had to give the book one star for the review to be counted. One star is more than I wanted to give.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    Wonderful!

    This is a great book for any student of the Bible. Solidly grounded in the Bible and very readable. The modern-day "translations" for each of these 10 women is unusual, but highly effective in allowing the reader to empathize with these women in very personal ways and realize that we may not be all together different from these "bad girls" when put into similar situations. Higgs constantly points the reader back to God. A delightful read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2010

    1st book I read of Liz's. I'm a big fan since!

    This was the 1st book I read as I attended a womens bible study. Liz writes so funny! You can't help but be captured by her stories of notable and not so notable women of the bible. Makes you yearn for more! I also recommend; Really Bad Girls of the Bible and Not so Bad Girls of the Bible. You'll be hooked!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2010

    Enjoyable

    A new way of exploring women of the Bible. Helped me to better relate to those who lived so long ago. It gave flesh & blood to those who had only been ideas of the past. It taught me while allowing me to laugh!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Attention all Pre- and Existing Bad Girls!

    This is a must read! Very insightful and easy to understand. This could be an addition to a daily devotional or mood booster. There is something (and someone) for everyone! Sunday school, book clubs, teens---READ IT!... And be BLESSED!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    AWESOME BOOK FOR BELEIVERS AND UNBELEIVERS

    I AM A PASTOR IN AN URBAN COMMUNITY AND OUR WOMEN ARE USING THIS BOOK TO REACH OUT TO THE WOMEN OF OUR COMMUNITY WITH GREAT SUCCESS.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    For the Bad Girl in all of US

    I have read both installments of this book a couple of times. I could never relate to most of the 'good' girls in the bible, but I can relate and see the error in things that I have done or thought about doing in the past. I wish they had these books when I was a teen. I recommend this book and the second installment to every women and especially to teens who like me could not always get what or how they taught in church.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 181 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10