Customer Reviews for

Bad Girls of the Bible: And What We Can Learn From Them

Average Rating 3.5
( 181 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(65)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Finally An Insightful Look At Women In The Bible!

I admit that the 99 cents for this eBook was my main incentive, but after I started to read it, I ordered her other book Unveiling Mary Magdalene. Liz Higgs writes like she's sitting across the table from you and just talking girlfriend to girlfriend. Through several ...
I admit that the 99 cents for this eBook was my main incentive, but after I started to read it, I ordered her other book Unveiling Mary Magdalene. Liz Higgs writes like she's sitting across the table from you and just talking girlfriend to girlfriend. Through several translations of the bible and history she puts these women in a context that I've never read about before! Not only does she bring them to life in the modern world, she explains the world that they lived in and it gave me an understanding I didn't have before. Whether you are just starting your journey of faith or have been a life-long Christian, this is a must read!

posted by Solitaireyqueen on August 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Bad Girls of the Bible and What We Can Learn from Them is a book

Bad Girls of the Bible and What We Can Learn from Them is a book that affords a somewhat humorous and practical, in-your-face approach to Bible study. Written in a contemporary voice, the author shares her interesting views on women from the Bible such as Eve, Delilah a...
Bad Girls of the Bible and What We Can Learn from Them is a book that affords a somewhat humorous and practical, in-your-face approach to Bible study. Written in a contemporary voice, the author shares her interesting views on women from the Bible such as Eve, Delilah and Michal. One thing’s for sure, you will either love this book and style of writing or…

Phone Tree Rating: 3/5 Stars ***

posted by KimTeamer on March 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A good way to know the lives of the Bibles bad girls

    Each chapter deals with a particular "bad girl" of the Bible and why they're considered "bad girls". The chapters start off with a modern day story of these "bad girls" and then a discussion follows with Biblical references to their stories. I loved the "comical" and practical insights that follow because this book can double as a personal devotional.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Great rea

    Loved it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting and educational read!

    Bad Girls is a collection of relatively short stories about women in the bible. You meet each one first through a modern day story which helps you relate to the character. Then Ms. Higgs begins to talk about the biblical character using scriptures and humor to support the lesson. In the book she helps us to understand the motivations of these women and where they came from.

    I've had this on my to read list for quite some time and I'm glad I finally read it. I treated as a devotional reading it a little bit each day for a six week period. I really got a lot out of this book!

    I loved the format of using the modern day story followed by the biblical story. The former was important to helping you relate to the women in these stories. While they were fictional, they really could be any woman that you meet on the street today. The biblical stories were supported by the scripture that told about these women. They brought out points that you wouldn't normally think about when reading these stories in the Bible. I really appreciated that!

    Overall, I thought the book was well written. It did drag out a bit at points but it wasn't too bad. The author's writing style is refreshing and educational at the same time! As a Christian woman, I am always looking for enriching devotionals and this definitely fit the bill.

    Why only 3 stars? I'm not sure. Although I enjoyed the book, it wasn't the absolute best devotional I've read. I did enjoy and would recommend it.

    This is a book from my personal collection.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Goodness At Work

    In reviewing ¿The Bad Girls of The Bible¿, it was quite interesting and very good to read. The author did a wonderful job captivating the reader¿s attention with a brief story that lead into the main character. Each character brings a lesson we can learn from and apply it to our lives for the better. Although these Bad Girls of the Bible may have started off bad, but in the end they worked out for the good of the people. I really enjoyed this reading and will be sharing this book in my Bible Study. The study guide is a great asset while reading the various stories in the book. I would definitely recommend this book to Bible Study class and Women¿s group.

    ¿I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review¿.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2011

    Makes you think...

    I believe if you read this with an open heart and mind, you'll see yourself-past or present-somewhere in these examples of "bad girls". A thank you to my sister Jaimie for sharing this with me. As always, my faith got a boost just when I needed it most. I thank God for that, for giving me what or who I need-even if I don't realize it myself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    A new light on bad girls

    I have always enjoyed reading about the various women mentioned throughout the Bible. I was highly intrigued when I discovered Liz Curtis Higgs book, "Bad Girls of the Bible: and What We Can Learn From Them". Ten of the Bible's best known "bad girls" are brought to life in the pages of this book with situations that sound very familiar to all of us. While we don't want to label ourselves as "bad girls" we have to be honest and admit that bad girls of the Bible are often easier to relate to than good girls (like Mary) and some of their traits that labeled them bad were as simple as criticism, lying, etc.

    This book takes the ten women's stories and tells them in a modern day allegory of each Biblical situation. After re-telling the Bible story in a modern way, she breaks the women's life down further through Bible verses and other commentator's opinions and writings. She often brings humor into their lives and stories too. I don't want to give away the 10 women you will read about it in this book, but I have to say I was very surprised to find the Bible character of Rahab in this book! Near the end of each chapter you get to consider what we are supposed to learn from these so-called "bad girls" and the "Good Girl Thoughts Worth Considering" section really hits you where it hurts as it forces you to look into your own life in reflection to that particular "bad girls" life.

    While the author has taken the liberty to label the various characters mentioned in her book as either "good" or "bad", I loved how she ended the book and shared her thoughts about this labeling system. She says:

    .It's simply this: Good Girls and Bad Girls both need a Savior. The goodness of your present life can't open the doors of heaven for you. The badness of your past life can't keep you out either. Not if you truly desire the forgiveness and freedom Christ offers."

    If you enjoy reading about women in the Bible or you are simply intrigued by this title, then I recommend you check out this book. It is a very easy and enjoyable read and you will be amazed how quickly you finish the book and how you view some of these women in a new light.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    Are you a Bad Girl? Must Read!

    When I decided to review this book I started thinking about some of the women that I have read about in the Bible who I would call "Bad Girls". The first to come to mind was Eve. Eve tends to get a bad rap because humanity wants to blame all fo their sufferings on her. She was the first woman and she did disobey God, but in reality what did she do that's any different from the many sins we commit each and every day? I then thought about the woman at the well. The woman who told Jesus she didn't have a husband, but indeed had been married multiple times and was even living with a man she wasn't married to. Again, what is this woman doing that a lot of people in society aren't also doing? Liz Curtis Higgs takes a closer look at these two women and several more in this book. She gives us a little insight into what might have made these women choose the paths that led to destruction. She encourages us to look at our own lives and to see what we can learn from the mistakes that these ladies of the Bible made. We have all made decisions that we regret. We've all disobeyed God and not followed His will for our lives. We've all been a <em>bad girl</em> at one time or another. As Liz says you may have been <em>Bad to the Bone, Bad for a Season, or Bad for a Moment. </em> Either way there is hope for tomorrow. It is never too late to change, to make a difference in your life. You can choose today to turn your life over to God and to live for Him.




    <em>I received a free copy of this book from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.</em>

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    Wonderful!

    This is a great book for any student of the Bible. Solidly grounded in the Bible and very readable. The modern-day "translations" for each of these 10 women is unusual, but highly effective in allowing the reader to empathize with these women in very personal ways and realize that we may not be all together different from these "bad girls" when put into similar situations. Higgs constantly points the reader back to God. A delightful read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2010

    Enjoyable

    A new way of exploring women of the Bible. Helped me to better relate to those who lived so long ago. It gave flesh & blood to those who had only been ideas of the past. It taught me while allowing me to laugh!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3