Customer Reviews for

Bad Girls of the Bible: And What We Can Learn From Them

Average Rating 3.5
( 184 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(65)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Finally An Insightful Look At Women In The Bible!

I admit that the 99 cents for this eBook was my main incentive, but after I started to read it, I ordered her other book Unveiling Mary Magdalene. Liz Higgs writes like she's sitting across the table from you and just talking girlfriend to girlfriend. Through several ...
I admit that the 99 cents for this eBook was my main incentive, but after I started to read it, I ordered her other book Unveiling Mary Magdalene. Liz Higgs writes like she's sitting across the table from you and just talking girlfriend to girlfriend. Through several translations of the bible and history she puts these women in a context that I've never read about before! Not only does she bring them to life in the modern world, she explains the world that they lived in and it gave me an understanding I didn't have before. Whether you are just starting your journey of faith or have been a life-long Christian, this is a must read!

posted by Solitaireyqueen on August 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Bad Girls of the Bible and What We Can Learn from Them is a book

Bad Girls of the Bible and What We Can Learn from Them is a book that affords a somewhat humorous and practical, in-your-face approach to Bible study. Written in a contemporary voice, the author shares her interesting views on women from the Bible such as Eve, Delilah a...
Bad Girls of the Bible and What We Can Learn from Them is a book that affords a somewhat humorous and practical, in-your-face approach to Bible study. Written in a contemporary voice, the author shares her interesting views on women from the Bible such as Eve, Delilah and Michal. One thing’s for sure, you will either love this book and style of writing or…

Phone Tree Rating: 3/5 Stars ***

posted by KimTeamer on March 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 184 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted August 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Finally An Insightful Look At Women In The Bible!

    I admit that the 99 cents for this eBook was my main incentive, but after I started to read it, I ordered her other book Unveiling Mary Magdalene. Liz Higgs writes like she's sitting across the table from you and just talking girlfriend to girlfriend. Through several translations of the bible and history she puts these women in a context that I've never read about before! Not only does she bring them to life in the modern world, she explains the world that they lived in and it gave me an understanding I didn't have before. Whether you are just starting your journey of faith or have been a life-long Christian, this is a must read!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2000

    We All Have A Little Bad Girl In Us

    I'm enjoying this book for a number of reasons. The first is that the author has such a realistic approach to the Bible. We all aspire to be like Ruth and Deborah, but we feel more like we're in the ranks of Rahab and Jezebel. So, how do we work with our human nature? Another thing Liz Curtis Higgs does is starts each chapter with an 'updated' fictional story that is more relatable than the originals that took place years ago. She makes Eve into a modern-day Southern girl and Potiphar's wife the wife of a big businessman. Then (another strength of this book) she goes through the Bible line by line to discover the nuances of our bad girl behavior and what we can learn from it. Each chapter has closing questions which can be used for group discussions. Overall, the tone of the book is non-threatening for church-goers and 'bad girls' alike. And, it is an easy read - especially for a Bible study-type book.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    Learn how not to be a Bad Girl!

    There are different types of women in the Bible, both good and bad. Liz Curtis Higgs has decided to focus this book on the "bad" women. This book focuses on Eve, Potiphar's wife, Delilah, Lot's wife, Michal, Sapphira, Jezebel, woman at the well, Rahab and the sinful woman. These women were each "bad" in their own ways.

    Bad Girls of the Bible explains each of these women and the discussion at the end of each chapter enables the reader to explore more.

    I thought this was an awesome book. I really enjoyed reading the modern story, the biblical story, and the short study section at the end of each chapter.

    My favorite part of each chapter was the study section. I know there is a little bit of a "bad" girl in me, so I knew it was important to use the lessons learned and questions to delve into my own life to make sure that I learned from these women of the past. I know I have learned from these women, so I can be a "good" girl.

    This is a book that all women should read, so they know that God is still there for them. Women can learn from the past to do better in the future.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the WaterBrook Multnomah "Blogging For Books" program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2006

    Excellent

    I was walking around in the library and the title of this book caught my eye. I thought it'd be an interesting read, and it really was. I loved how the author opened each chapter with a modernized version of the stories in the bible. I thought it was brilliant, very creative. I also loved how she went through the scripture verses line by line. She helped me look at the stories, and the women in them, in a different point of view. She made me ask myself 'What made them do what they did? Who affected their lives in such a way that thousands of years later we'd still be talking about them, and the way they behaved?' I saw myself comparing myself with the women, especially the last one, the one who wept at Jesus' feet. Jesus looked past her past, and saw her, really saw her, not her sins. If He could see her, then I realized He could see me, even when I feel no one else in my life does. And it took this book for me to realize that. Let me tell you, I cried until I was drained, knowing that Jesus doesn't care about my past, but he cares about me. That filled me with incredible joy. So I guess it's safe to say I will be buying my own copy of this very inspirational book.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A good way to know the lives of the Bibles bad girls

    Each chapter deals with a particular "bad girl" of the Bible and why they're considered "bad girls". The chapters start off with a modern day story of these "bad girls" and then a discussion follows with Biblical references to their stories. I loved the "comical" and practical insights that follow because this book can double as a personal devotional.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Learning something good from the bad

    In her first book on "Bad Girls of the Bible," Liz Curtis Higgs encourages her readers to take a new look at these women who had a problem with sin. It may have been for a moment, for a season, or they may have been "bad to the bone," but each has something to teach us. As each chapter opens, Ms. Higgs gives us a real time story based on the life of the woman she is discussing before introducing us to her. Tying the past to the present, each story shows how Satan continues to tempt in the same manner year after year. Each chapter also offers us hope and steps for change, along with questions to ponder alone or in a group. Come take a new look at Eve, Potipher's Wife, Lot's Wife, the Woman at the Well, Delilah, Sapphira, Rahab, Jezebel, Michal, and the Sinful Woman. Come glean wisdom from their lives.
    I found this book to be full of wonderful suggestions on how to combat the devil; how to win the daily struggle with sin. It gave me new insights into the lives of these women, and how I can grow from studying them. I now want to read the rest of her books!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    showing the correlation between those of the past and those in our present world... wonderful!

    All we hear is how bad women are in the Bible so often, but how often are we taught something from them due to their behaviors? How often do we compare our lives to those of the past, or just condemn all of 'those type' of people due to one action?

    This book shows us the stories of women that are bad in differeing amounts from the Bible, gives us a bit of a different look on their lives and actions, and differentiates between those that are not able to be redeemed due to hard hearts and those that made mistakes and turned from their poor ways.... and what they may look like if they were here today and living next door to us.....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Great rea

    Loved it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting and educational read!

    Bad Girls is a collection of relatively short stories about women in the bible. You meet each one first through a modern day story which helps you relate to the character. Then Ms. Higgs begins to talk about the biblical character using scriptures and humor to support the lesson. In the book she helps us to understand the motivations of these women and where they came from.

    I've had this on my to read list for quite some time and I'm glad I finally read it. I treated as a devotional reading it a little bit each day for a six week period. I really got a lot out of this book!

    I loved the format of using the modern day story followed by the biblical story. The former was important to helping you relate to the women in these stories. While they were fictional, they really could be any woman that you meet on the street today. The biblical stories were supported by the scripture that told about these women. They brought out points that you wouldn't normally think about when reading these stories in the Bible. I really appreciated that!

    Overall, I thought the book was well written. It did drag out a bit at points but it wasn't too bad. The author's writing style is refreshing and educational at the same time! As a Christian woman, I am always looking for enriching devotionals and this definitely fit the bill.

    Why only 3 stars? I'm not sure. Although I enjoyed the book, it wasn't the absolute best devotional I've read. I did enjoy and would recommend it.

    This is a book from my personal collection.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Bad Girls of the Bible and What We Can Learn from Them is a book

    Bad Girls of the Bible and What We Can Learn from Them is a book that affords a somewhat humorous and practical, in-your-face approach to Bible study. Written in a contemporary voice, the author shares her interesting views on women from the Bible such as Eve, Delilah and Michal. One thing’s for sure, you will either love this book and style of writing or…

    Phone Tree Rating: 3/5 Stars ***

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    Couldn't Put it Down!

    I don’t know how I’ve managed to never read a book by Liz Curtis Higgs. She has had 26 books published, most of which have done very well…and yet this is my FIRST experience! Let me start by saying that it will definitely not be my last!

    “Bad Girls of the Bible And What We Can Learn From Them” is an extraordinary, well-written book that examines the famous (or infamous) women in the Bible who did famously bad things. But, more than just a recount of the story, the author provides a walk through Scripture for each character, a modern day piece of fiction to bring life to the story and help you to understand it culturally, and thoughtful questions to allow you to apply the lessons to your own life. There are definitely lessons to be learned from each account, and Liz has a way of writing that brings these women to life.

    Liz Curtis Higgs is an excellent writer. Absolutely wonderful. I honestly can’t say that any other author has so captured my attention. I did not want to stop reading because she drew me in with her personality, her wit, and her incredible writing style. Every chapter is well-researched and scripturally-sound. And, most importantly, each chapter brought me to a place of contemplation about my own life and how I can serve God more fully with my life.

    You can read chapter 1 by clicking this link.

    I highly recommend this book–and I can’t wait to get another one from this series!

    “I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.”

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    Reformed Bad Girl Recommends!

    Ooh, Liz Curtis Higgs, you know how to dig in to the Bible and draw out these women. I feel like I know these ladies personally after reading this book, and I can see my own bad self in plenty of them. I especially respect how the first character, Ruthie, was based on Higgs's own experience. If you've lived it, put it on out there for others to relate to. I believe our Christian witness is so much more powerful when we let it all hang out and reveal how God has changed us and saved us.

    Each of the characters, and I hate to call them characters because they are really historical figures, has a lesson to teach us. I think that even if we <span style="font-style:italic;">think</span> we have done most things "right," we can still see our less desirable qualities in these Bad Girls.

    Whether "Bad to the Bone," "Bad for a Season, but Not Forever," or "Bad for a Moment," Ms. Higgs makes these women contemporarily relevant as she interprets the Scriptures surrounding their stories. Each chapter is a fictionalized account of a Biblical femme fetale followed by an insightful, honest, and sometimes humerous analysis of the Scripture.

    After each fictional account and Scriptural study there are "What Can We Learn" and "Good Girl Thoughts Worth Considering" sections that are certainly thought-provoking. It's easy to judge some of these lovelies and think, "Pfft - I'm not like that, I can't relate," but Ms. Higgs makes it a point to find aspects of each character that even the Good Girl can relate to!

    You will see yourself in some of these characters, I promise. Myself, I'm something like Eve and Lot's wife, wanting something more out of my life than the bounty with which God has blessed me. I'm something like Ruthie and Rahab, having made some bad decisions regarding men and believing the lie that I wasn't worth any more to God than I was to my guys. If I really care to dive in, I can even relate to the wicked Jezebel - self-seeking and sharp-tongued. Ouch. Thanks, Higgs.

    This God-reformed Bad Girl appreciated this book and will absolutely read more of Liz Curtis Higgs's work in the future.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2007

    Bad-for-a-Moment Lot's wife

    This is what Christians refer to as bad. If we spare a moment to read the story we see that Lot and his Wife (who remains nameless), and their daughters (whom Lot had previously offered up to the menfolk of Sodom to rape, if they so chose) have left their home - a place where no doubt they have spent quite some years, and to which Lot's wife at the very least would have some strong sentimental attachment to - so that they can be saved while the Bible God destroys the place - man woman and innocent child. What is the last act that Lot's wife performs, she looks back at the place where she had made a home, a last act of sentimentality for what she was leaving behind. And Christians call this bad. What woman in her right mind would not pause to say goodbye to her past home. Lot's Wife is not the one who deserves the tag 'Bad' not even for a moment. The one who is bad is the Bible God that punished her. No wonder I am no longer a Christian.

    1 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2014

    Was this free

    Was this free

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    BAD GIRLS OF THE BIBLE AND WHAT WE CAN LEARN FROM THEM by Liz Cu

    BAD GIRLS OF THE BIBLE AND WHAT WE CAN LEARN FROM THEM by Liz Curtis Hughes is a Christian/Women/Bible Study. A humorous look at the Bad Girls of the Bible,Eve, Potiphar's Wife,Delilah,Lot's Wife,Michal,Sapphira,Jezebel,Woman at the Well, Rahab and the Sinful Woman. A powerful story of ten women,bad girls of the Bible are showcased with a bit of fiction added. We all have sinned and fell short. Each and every one of us,including these women. Some of the women of the Bible, had no names, or we never hear of them, such the Women at the Well, the Sinful Woman,Lot's Wife, Potiphar's Wife, how humiliating that must have been, to be only called as whoever's wife,sister and such. Powerful and filled with humor,what not to love. A wonderful look into these women's lives, as well as a little fictional story included. There is even a bit about the author and her own trials and tribulations. Oh and a bible study is included. Once again, Ms. Hughes is a powerful storyteller,her characters,those we know and love,those who are fictional, and those we don't like so much are powerful,charming and realistic. If you would like a look at the tramps of the Bible, although, some are not tramps,pick up &quot;Bad Girls of the Bible&quot; you will be glad you did. I loved it! It is humorous,it is tearful,and you will find you have learned something of the Bible you didn't know or understand before. What a novel approach to a Bible Study! I would recommend it for anyone who loves to read humorous stories with a touch of fiction,a touch of truth and a great read. Received for an honest review from the publisher.

    RATING: 4.5

    HEAT RATING: SWEET

    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, Review courtesy of My Book Addiction and More

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    It is a pretty good book for a sample.

    Great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    :fryvtyfh

    Yee

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Izzy to girltalk

    I got blocked out someone plz help!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Bad Girls of the Bible is a Bad Fit for this Reader

    I was given this book months ago to read and review. And I tried. Really and truly, I did. However, there are simply some books and people that are like oil and water and just don’t mix. With that said, after so many months of trudging through this book; I could trudge no more.

    With each chapter, my faith in Bad Girls of the Bible was renewed because of Ms. Curtis Higgs unique take on the various Bible stories. The way she told the Bible stories in her own words was both interesting and entertaining. It was those stories, told her way that made me want to read the book. Then she would shift gears and finish each chapter after her take on the events and move on to the formal, bible-study version of events. She would also move on to what could and should be learned from each Bible story. I simply could not move past the bible-study version portions. They were too dry and formal for me.

    While I did not enjoy this book, I believe those who are serious about their bible-study and faith would find this book to be up-lifting and helpful in any bible-study. However, if you are not involved in a bible-study group and/or you are not looking for a book to assist you with your bible-studies on your own this really isn’t the book for you. This is definitely a book more geared toward an actual Bible Study Group; as opposed to just one person attempting to study the Bible alone.

    Disclaimer: I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Goodness At Work

    In reviewing ¿The Bad Girls of The Bible¿, it was quite interesting and very good to read. The author did a wonderful job captivating the reader¿s attention with a brief story that lead into the main character. Each character brings a lesson we can learn from and apply it to our lives for the better. Although these Bad Girls of the Bible may have started off bad, but in the end they worked out for the good of the people. I really enjoyed this reading and will be sharing this book in my Bible Study. The study guide is a great asset while reading the various stories in the book. I would definitely recommend this book to Bible Study class and Women¿s group.

    ¿I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review¿.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 184 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10