Customer Reviews for

The Bad Guys Won: A Season of Brawling, Boozing, Bimbo Chasing, and Championship Baseball with Straw, Doc, Mookie, Nails, the Kid, and the Rest of the 1986 Mets, the Rowdiest Team Ever to Put on a New York Uniform--and Maybe the Best

Average Rating 4
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

BASEBALL BEATS THE SOAPS!

As a woman with little knowledge of baseball I happened on this baseball book about the Mets win in 1986. I loved the humor and perspective Pearlman gave to those outragously bad boys.

posted by Anonymous on May 2, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not good

Really inconsistent from chapter to chapter. The writer appears to change his opinion of the players from one page to the next. He starts off claiming to be a fan, and occasionally this comes through, but most of the time you get the impression he hates them. Indeed,...
Really inconsistent from chapter to chapter. The writer appears to change his opinion of the players from one page to the next. He starts off claiming to be a fan, and occasionally this comes through, but most of the time you get the impression he hates them. Indeed, if they are as much scunbags as he indicates, who wouldn't?

Plus, the book often seems to be a paean to the Mets' opponents. Since i bought it to read about the M ets, I didn't much appreciate that.

posted by sansmerci on October 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2004

    BASEBALL BEATS THE SOAPS!

    As a woman with little knowledge of baseball I happened on this baseball book about the Mets win in 1986. I loved the humor and perspective Pearlman gave to those outragously bad boys.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    Great story

    Read yrs ago as met fan remember series was12 when it happened

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Great book

    I could not put this book down. Very fun read for any eighties baseball fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    Great job

    Alot of good info

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read

    Well worth the bargin book price that I paid for this. I didnt go in with much expecation but it ended up being one of most well written books I've read in a long time.

    This era of Met team took place before the intenet age and unrivaled access to sports teams and athletes. This book makes it seem like you have today's kind fo access to a team from the 80's. A team the likely had the most interesting cast of charachters of any team ever.

    Would reccomend this book to anyone with even a passing interest in baseball or sports in general. It also bares out to have a lot of truth. Many idolized these players, but the book called them out as kind of jerks and squanderers of talent. Strawberry, Doc Gooden, Dykstra all have remained jerks. Straw may be on his path to redemption but he's been there before and thrown it back away. Time will tell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2008

    A new look at an old favorite

    I lived the '86 Mets when I was growing up and I thought I knew how wild and wonderful they were. But it turns out I had no idea. Jeff Pearlman's look inside one of the most storied and star-crossed sports teams of all time is gripping, well-researched, and in many cases shocking. He discovers, with surprising details, the depths of the Mets' perversion. He takes the reader inside the clubhouse, onto the team plane, into the bar and even into the jail cell. Those are unexpected 'pleasures', but the beauty of the book is how those stories -- many of which avid Mets fans will be hearing for the first time -- are woven throughout the fabric of the Mets' incredible season. Because while the details are stunning, it's still the Mets' run to the 1986 World Series championship that makes them relevant. They're not just another championship team, and they're not just another team with boorish behavior. The two are related, and by the book that's clear. I never knew the Mets like I thought I knew the Mets. Now, thanks to this book, I know them too well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2006

    The Second Greatest Team ever: The '86 Mes

    The Bad Guys Won was an absolutely amazing book. When Frank Cashen first arrived with the team in 1980, the Mets were a washed up bunch of losers. Then they traded away Mike Scott, George Foster, and Rusty Staub retired. By 1983, in came new players like 'Straw' Strawberry, 'Mex Hernandez.' By 1984, they'd sign 'Doc' Gooden, and hire a new manager, under the name of 'Davey' Johnson, who's philosophy was, 'Run as wild as you want, just as long you keep winning games.' 'Kid' Carter, Kevin Mitchell, and Bobby Ojeda came along in 1985 and New York sent Calvin Schiraldi to Boston. By 1986, it was all set: Gooden, Darling, Ojeda, Fernandez, Sisk, McDowell, Orosco, Aguilera, Carter, Hearn, Hernandez, Teufel, Heep, Backman, Santana, Knight, Wilson, Dykstra, Mazilli, Hojo, Strawberry, and some others. And with Davey Johnson and his philosophy, the team steamrolled to 108 victories. They trashed airplanes, bars, spent nights in jail cells (Teufel, Ojeda, Darling, and Aguilera), they hated every team, every team hated them, and yet they won 108 games. Unbelievable. In the NLCS, they beat Houston in six games and in that sixth game, they beat Houston 7-6 in 16 innings. They'd face 24-year-old fireballer Roger Clemens (24-4) and the Red Sox in the World Series. After Buckner's error in the 10th inning of Game 6, they'd win Game 7 8-5. The Bad Guys won it all. Unfortunately, it wouldn't last. Gooden and Strawberry were overcome by drug abuse, trades and retirements occured, Davey Johnson left the team, and by 1991, they were left with nothing. They've only reached the World Series once since (2000) and lost to the Yankees in five. To many people, the future once again looks bleak and dismal but the '86 team will live in the hearts of Mets fans forever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2005

    A fantastic read...a real page-turner

    I had heard an interview Jeff Pearlman had done for this book and as he relayed some of the stories of the 1986 Mets I was amazed. Only being eight years old during the season (but still a huge baseball fan) I really remembered very little about the team. All the drugs, parties, sex, disgusting practical jokes etc. were unfamiliar to me. I bought the book and was not disappointed. I finished off the book in no time as the humor and great stories kept on coming. Pearlman did a fantastic job. He certainly has a bright future if he can continue with strong efforts like this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2004

    Bad Guys Won

    I love sports books, and this is one of the best I've ever read. Pearlman is a very funny writer (I first saw his articles when he was a young writer in Nashville in the early 90s), and this is a great forum. The Mets were crazier than anyone could ever imagine: The food fights, the women, the drinking. Pearlman presents it in a very breezy way. I really love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2004

    Bad Guys Won

    I've read a lot of baseball books, and few provided as much enjoyment. Unlike a lot of the recent releases, this is anything but a stiff biography. The '86 Mets were crazy, and you learn a ton about them here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2004

    A Victory to Remember Put In Context

    The 1986 Mets/Red Sox series was the first world series I ever followed. A New Yorker attending her freshman year of college in New England (where everyone was an adopted Sox fan), I made a bet on my hometown Mets when they were down 0-2 and got my laundry done by a cocky Sox fan for a month! Mr. Pearlman has done an excellent job of putting the series into perspective and providing colorful background on the players who pulled out that unbelievable come-from-behind victory. His humor and incredibly deep reporting made the book a fast read that delivered enjoyment and well as extensive knowledge. I'd recommend it to anyone, sports fan or no.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2