BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Bad Habits: Confessions of a Recovering Catholic

Average Rating 4
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Honestly humorous

    I could not put this book down! I am the type of person that will not finish a book unless the author grabs my attention in the first chapter. She definitely did this by telling funny stories in a very real raw way. I felt like I was talking with one of my best girl friends. I am totally going to pick up the rest of her books and dive in!! This is a must read if you are looking for a chuckle.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    Me & Jenny survived nuns!

    Great book. Funny & truthful. It's like me & Jenny were raised together. The book wasn't long enough... I want more!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Disgusting

    This should not be tagged as a Catholic book, so it doesn't show up when looking for actual Catholic books.

    This pancaked, painted harlot uses vile language that is fit more for a sailor than a lady, blasphemes Christ and his Church, and shows herself to be an attention-seeking jezebel who is trying unsuccessfully to hide the fact that she is just upset that she is aging very ungracefully. Just one look at her face slathered wiyh a half ton of makeup to try to hide her wrinkles is enough to tell one the type of woman they are dealing with. She feels she wasted her youth in trying to be a child of God, and is now lashing out at the Church she abandoned. Woman, if you hate Christ and His Church, keep it to yourself. Worry about dealing with your menopausal emotional issues in a manner that isn't insulting to billions of faithful.

    2 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    Should be "Lies of a Rejected Catholic".

    I have many friends who attended Mother McCauley high school with only inspiring and positive experiences shared. Some of my friends were in Jenny McCarthy's class and stated *she* was indeed the bully - not the recipient as she likes to claim. This book reads like her last grasp for a career in the entertainment industry because once one ends up on The View, one may as well dig their own grave. Shame on you, McCarthy! Mother McCauley shoule sue your lying, sagging a$$!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Anne Boling for Readers' Favorite Comedian, actress

    Reviewed by Anne Boling for Readers' Favorite

    Comedian, actress and activist, Jenny McCarthy can now add New York Times bestselling author to her list of accomplishments. She had me laughing out loud as I listened to her book, Bad Habits. Jenny was raised as a Roman Catholic and shares a variety of stories concerning her relationship with the church. Jenny was only six years old when she decided she preferred going to church without underwear. What ensues is a laugh out loud moment. Ms. McCarthy must have given many a nun gray hair with her constant questions. Jenny found it difficult to accept things at face value; she wanted to know why and how. Her elementary education was funny but her college life was hilarious. I’m still trying to figure out how she was not arrested for the illegal parking passes. Through all of her antics, her heart is good. She wanted to pay off her parents' bills and take care of them.

    I really enjoyed the anecdotes in Bad Habits. Jenny McCarthy is a great story teller. While most of this book is funny, there are also parts that show Jenny’s maturity and loving nature. When Pickles, the dog, became ill and Jenny takes it to the vet to put her down, I was saddened. My heart was warmed when she sang Christmas carols to gather enough money to buy a Christmas present for her parents. Jenny McCarthy is a very talented person. She writes in a conversational style. I truly felt as if I was sitting across from her as she recounted tales from her life. My copy of Bad Habits is an audio book; it is read by Jenny McCarthy herself. She actually sounds as if she is telling the tales rather than reading them. Kudos, Ms. McCarthy, I love your book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    loved it!

    This is definitely one of the best books I have ever read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1