Customer Reviews for

Bad Heir Day: A Comedy of High Class and Dire Straits

Average Rating 2.5
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Fun

originally posted at: www.longandshortreviews.blogspot.com ***** Anna's sense of self-worth hits tock bottom. As a "wanna-be" writer, she cannot seem to write anything but entries in her diary nor can she make a relationship work. Heeding advice from Geri, a girl she me...
originally posted at: www.longandshortreviews.blogspot.com ***** Anna's sense of self-worth hits tock bottom. As a "wanna-be" writer, she cannot seem to write anything but entries in her diary nor can she make a relationship work. Heeding advice from Geri, a girl she meets at a wedding, Anna takes a job as a writer's assistant. Her life takes major turns not the least of which is being a nanny to the eight-year-old horror, Zak, the writer's son.

Zak and his parents, the writer Cassandra and the aging rock star Jett, make the term dysfunction family come to life. Happenings in their lives are not for the faint-of-heart to read. Caustic humor about the "one-ups-man-ship" of the wealthy and of secret habits flabbergast at times.

Geri pops up often as Anna works toward "finding herself". Geri's irrepressible optimism, creative thinking, along with her uninhibited life style brightens even the gloomy old castle on the dreariest of the isles of Scotland. She sees possibilities that no one else even dreams of. She even enlivens the repressed Jamie whom Anna believes to be hopeless.

Ah, finally, Robbie, the poet, adds a touch of mystery, then, Mrs. McLeod and Nanny help stir the happenings on Skul Isle. These characters influence Anna's finding her way and quite remarkably bring hope for Cassandra, Jett, and Zak.

Wendy Holden writes a fast-paced, witty satirical comedy that reveals the imperfections of people but also shows how they rise above personal flaws and defeats to find fulfillment in their lives.

posted by LASR_Reviews on August 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Yuck

Very unpleasant book. Not funny at all, but filled with despair and gloom and disgusting descriptions of incredibly ugly and rude people. Bleh.

posted by Bijou1313 on July 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted August 30, 2010

    Fun

    originally posted at: www.longandshortreviews.blogspot.com ***** Anna's sense of self-worth hits tock bottom. As a "wanna-be" writer, she cannot seem to write anything but entries in her diary nor can she make a relationship work. Heeding advice from Geri, a girl she meets at a wedding, Anna takes a job as a writer's assistant. Her life takes major turns not the least of which is being a nanny to the eight-year-old horror, Zak, the writer's son.

    Zak and his parents, the writer Cassandra and the aging rock star Jett, make the term dysfunction family come to life. Happenings in their lives are not for the faint-of-heart to read. Caustic humor about the "one-ups-man-ship" of the wealthy and of secret habits flabbergast at times.

    Geri pops up often as Anna works toward "finding herself". Geri's irrepressible optimism, creative thinking, along with her uninhibited life style brightens even the gloomy old castle on the dreariest of the isles of Scotland. She sees possibilities that no one else even dreams of. She even enlivens the repressed Jamie whom Anna believes to be hopeless.

    Ah, finally, Robbie, the poet, adds a touch of mystery, then, Mrs. McLeod and Nanny help stir the happenings on Skul Isle. These characters influence Anna's finding her way and quite remarkably bring hope for Cassandra, Jett, and Zak.

    Wendy Holden writes a fast-paced, witty satirical comedy that reveals the imperfections of people but also shows how they rise above personal flaws and defeats to find fulfillment in their lives.

    6 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Yuck

    Very unpleasant book. Not funny at all, but filled with despair and gloom and disgusting descriptions of incredibly ugly and rude people. Bleh.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Bad

    If I hadn't bought this as an e-book, I would say that this wasn't worth the paper it was printed on. I found it failing my expectations, which were very low to begin with. -- Catwak

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Not Even for a Penny

    The sample started out promising with a great character in quirky Brit Anna. It starts falling apart in ch. 3 and ultimately failed to deliver.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Thumbs down

    I thought the fowl language was unnecessary. I deleted it after the first chapter.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Bad heir day

    Loved it! So much fun,such bad language. Not for the feint of heart. Sweet in a lusty way with romantic endings for all.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Don't bother

    Neverending ridiculousness. After 75 pages there was still no discernable plot. Too bad I couldn't give it ZERO stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    Very disapointing....

    I bought this book because it was a 99¿ book & was highly rated but it was a complete let down. By far the worst book i've bought on my nook.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2012

    So far I've been disappointed in this book. While the writing i

    So far I've been disappointed in this book. While the writing is good, the plot isn't what I was hoping for. I'm unable to feel sympathy for any of the characters, due to their extreme shallowness. I don't much care for people who behave in this manner (children included!) and don't watch "reality" tv, so I am having difficutly in reading this book. I've been sticking with it hoping the story improves, since bits and pieces of it give me hope. However, it appears that this one will definitely be going in the Archive-Don't Reread it section!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    One star is too many.

    $0.99 was too much for this book. Nothing redeeming about this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Negative and repulsive

    Interesting but too negative and repulsive to continue reading. Deleted from my library. Couldn't get past the vulgar language.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    Not worrh it

    Very depressing character. I kept waiting for something good to occur, or a happy ending. But the grass was always greener for someone else. Don't read unlesss you are looking for a depressing, not well written story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Okay not great

    Not the best book nor the worst. I did relate to the plight of a budding author & what it takes to survive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2013

    I immediately got a clear sense of how miserable Anna┬┐s life is

    I immediately got a clear sense of how miserable Anna’s life is when I began this book. The author doesn’t waste precious time or pages dragging the reader through a maze of miscommunication and inner dialogue to bring us to the conclusion that Anna’s life is crap. I rather enjoyed that this information is thrown into the mix right from the start. It’s important that I learned this sooner rather than later because only then would I understand how Anna could end up working for Cassandra Knight, a vile, cruel, rude beyond belief, arrogant witch of a woman who is so full of herself it will make you sick. Anna takes a job with this horrible person, thinking the position will be as an assistant to a best-selling author. Instead, she somehow gets roped into being the nanny to Cassandra’s son, Zak, who is just as vile as she is. Unfortunately, desperate times call for desperate measures on Anna’s part.




    Even as horrible as Anna’s time under the Knight household is, this book made me laugh deeply and loudly at some of the antics going on. Cassandra takes center stage with her drunken outbursts and anger management issues. Her son, Zak, is a spoiled brat who behaves like a troll, while managing to deflect it back onto his mother. Then there’s Cassandra’s husband, Jett, an aging rock-star, who can’t seem to keep his trousers on. Throw into the mix several supporting characters who I found to be quite interesting makes for an enjoyable story.




    I liked this book. The story does a good job of making the reader forget her troubles for a while by bringing to light a whole new dysfunctional group of people. It made me laugh a lot and I am still amazed that there wasn’t any bloodshed in the Knight home. I cheered Anna on when she finally gets the opportunity to leave but continued to empathize with her situation when it appears she jumped from the frying pan straight into the fire. This story has many twists which make the plot so interesting. 




    Fans of chick-lit will enjoy the snarky British humor laced throughout the story, but be prepared for the profanity that comes along with it. It didn’t offend me or pull my attention out of the story at all, most likely because I, myself, was directing quite a few profane statements in Cassandra’s direction. This was my first book by Wendy Holden and I am looking forward to reading more from her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    It was okay...

    The sroyline was all over the place. From the description you think there is only one main character, but there are actually two. It was nice to see Anna grow up into an independant person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    blah

    waste of money

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Horrible

    Cannot finish this one and I can suffer though anything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Disappointed....

    I bought this a while ago, thought it sounded cute, i wanted a nice lil romantic comedy, but this is nothing like what i thought. It was horrible most of the way through, with the main character going from one bad situation to a worse one and it wasnt even in a funny way, i just felt so sorry for her, i kept reading cuz i thought its gotta get better, but it didnt... besides just the plot overall kinda sucking, the language was horrible, probably half the book is swearing, especially the further u go, and other crude comments and situations, detailed sexual encounters, as well as people doing stuff to themselves, i was disgusted by the continual appearance of the little boy doing stuff to himself and how crude he was. This was definately like an R rated kinda book, and where i like to stick to pg13 stuff, i wish i had known before i bought it. Ive never written a review before and always thought it was better to keep my opinions to myself, but i really wish i had had a review like this so i wouldnt have bought the book in the first place, hopefully this helps someone else like me...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    A helpless kit

    *a gray and white kit with blood on back,face and paws limp over* can i join? Im lost...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4