Customer Reviews for

Bad Luck and Trouble (Jack Reacher Series #11)

Average Rating 4
( 300 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(156)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Classic Reacher Novel

Unusual for Jack Reacher but in this story he has a little help from his friends. Great story line delivered in the usual masterpiece. If you like Lee Child`s previous works then you will love this. I am a Reacher fan, if you are too then read Soft Target by Conrad Jone...
Unusual for Jack Reacher but in this story he has a little help from his friends. Great story line delivered in the usual masterpiece. If you like Lee Child`s previous works then you will love this. I am a Reacher fan, if you are too then read Soft Target by Conrad Jones, its a brilliant thriller. I read both these books on holiday and loved every minute of them.

posted by Anonymous on April 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

It was a good story and I basically enjoyed it. But I was turned of a few times by the authors injecting his strong approval of PETA and a negative jibe at hunting. Very distracting. Hard to understand why he would do this when he focuses on violence and the use of guns...
It was a good story and I basically enjoyed it. But I was turned of a few times by the authors injecting his strong approval of PETA and a negative jibe at hunting. Very distracting. Hard to understand why he would do this when he focuses on violence and the use of guns without much compassion for those being killed. I enjoyed all his previous books, but not sure I can support a New York/British liberal who advocates for the activites of a fringe nut group lilke PETA. Big mistake for a successful fiction author, writing in a non political genre, to interject his beliefs. A turn off.

posted by Anonymous on July 3, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not one of the best Reacher books

    Alive but broken, a man is tossed from a helicopter like garbage into the California desert. Big Mistake!

    '"You DO NOT Mess with the Special Investigators!"'

    That slogan was and still is true of the MP Unit that loaner, drifter, equalizer, avenger Jack Reacher commanded. When Frances Neagley sends him an encrypted call for assistance, Reacher is on his way to find her and the person(s) targeting the Unit for death or disappearance. With a few of the Special Investigators, Reacher applies old fashioned police work to the investigation, rather than bending and making his own set of rules to complete this mission. Why his Unit?

    Child leads Reacher, Neagley, and the others through a labyrinth that keeps the reader on the edge of his/her seat most of the time. Though this 11th Reacher installment drags in some places and Jack's intense fascination with numbers almost had me putting BAD LUCK and TROUBLE down a few times, it will not disappoint Lee Child fans - it's just a little different than the prior Reacher books that I tend to like better. Hopefully, Child will pair Jack up with one of the unit in later books.

    Frances Neagley has helped Reacher in the past and she is in a different world than he is now, so we'll have to see what Lee Child has up his sleeve for the man who has no address, no ties, or does he? He is loyal to his special investigators and to those in need of his help.

    Will Jack Reacher finally grow up and be in this world, loyal to his brother and sister investigators while not quite breaking the Rule of Law to help a distressed person?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2009

    Fun and good escape reading. You will become a fan of Jack Reacher

    Good Reacher tale with all the usual twists and turns. The action hero( Reacher) never fails to get the bad guys and rough them up . Good relaxing reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    Hello?

    Enyone wanna chat

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Not my favorite

    Not awful by any means, but not great either. While the book had moments of serious action, there were also too many flat periods. I love the series, but there are a few clunkers in there. This one is middle of the road.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Seems like your boy has left rain

    Want me to take over?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2008

    A reviewer

    Alive but broken, a man is tossed from a helicopter like garbage into the California desert. Big Mistake! ''You DO NOT Mess with the Special Investigators!'' That slogan was and still is true of the MP Unit that loaner, drifter, equalizer, avenger Jack Reacher commanded. When Frances Neagley sends him an encrypted call for assistance, Reacher is on his way to find her and the person(s) targeting the Unit for death or disappearance. With a few of the Special Investigators, Reacher applies old fashioned police work to the investigation, rather than bending and making his own set of rules to complete this mission. Why his Unit? Child leads Reacher, Neagley, and the others through a labyrinth that keeps the reader on the edge of his/her seat most of the time. Though this 11th Reacher installment drags in some places and Jack's intense fascination with numbers almost had me putting BAD LUCK and TROUBLE down a few times, it will not disappoint Lee Child fans - it's just a little different than the prior Reacher books that I tend to like better. Hopefully, Child will pair Jack up with one of the unit in later books. Frances Neagley has helped Reacher in the past and she is in a different world than he is now, so we'll have to see what Lee Child has up his sleeve for the man who has no address, no ties, or does he? He is loyal to his special investigators and to those in need of his help. Will Jack Reacher finally grow up and be in this world, loyal to his brother and sister investigators while not quite breaking the Rule of Law to help a distressed person?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2007

    Mediocre Jack Reacher

    I used to believe there were three sure things in life: death, taxes and a great Jack Reacher novel. Now there are only two. The problem is that with prior works Lee Child has established a bar which might be unfair to apply to all his work. But I have expected from Reacher justifiable violence, clever plots, complicated stories and heroic deeds. The problem here is that the plot just didn't sell and some of the characters were too stereotyped. I can see some people who wouldn't think twice at throwing people out of helicopters to certain death, others who would cover up a potential apocalypse, but they wouldn't be from the background that some of these characters have. Good fiction writing requires us at times to suspend belief, but it does so by bringing the plot line close to reality. Here there was a gulf between the two. With most Reacher novels he is an innocent bystander who gets pulled into the game, rises to the occasion, and saves the day. Here he is more of an obsessed avenging angel set on destruction. To be sure, some of the twists are pure Reacher, clever, original, etc. but I think this can be best summarized as bad plot + average characters = a mediocre book, at least when applied against the Reacher standard. He acts best alone, not in tandem with others. I am still a Reacher fan and only view this as an excused absence, not a dismissal. Let's hope the next one puts him back on top.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2007

    What's up, Lee?

    I couldn't wait to buy this book, ordered it 3 months before it came out. Not enough action for Jack Reacher, we like to really see him rough and tough. Sorry to say I put it down three quarters through. But, that won't stop me from buying the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2007

    Not up to his usual level.

    I really like Lee Child's work a lot, and I think he's one of the best out there. This book, though, was disappointing. The plot was very linear, there were few surprises, and I wasn't crazy about the 'team' approach he took with the protagonists. While Child's prose tends to be fairly minimalistic, in his other books this is a very effective narrative technique. In this book the writing lacked 'zazz.' The book was certainly readable and somewhat engaging, but ultimately, unmemorable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3