Customer Reviews for

Bad Luck and Trouble (Jack Reacher Series #11)

Average Rating 4
( 300 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(156)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Classic Reacher Novel

Unusual for Jack Reacher but in this story he has a little help from his friends. Great story line delivered in the usual masterpiece. If you like Lee Child`s previous works then you will love this. I am a Reacher fan, if you are too then read Soft Target by Conrad Jone...
Unusual for Jack Reacher but in this story he has a little help from his friends. Great story line delivered in the usual masterpiece. If you like Lee Child`s previous works then you will love this. I am a Reacher fan, if you are too then read Soft Target by Conrad Jones, its a brilliant thriller. I read both these books on holiday and loved every minute of them.

posted by Anonymous on April 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

It was a good story and I basically enjoyed it. But I was turned of a few times by the authors injecting his strong approval of PETA and a negative jibe at hunting. Very distracting. Hard to understand why he would do this when he focuses on violence and the use of guns...
It was a good story and I basically enjoyed it. But I was turned of a few times by the authors injecting his strong approval of PETA and a negative jibe at hunting. Very distracting. Hard to understand why he would do this when he focuses on violence and the use of guns without much compassion for those being killed. I enjoyed all his previous books, but not sure I can support a New York/British liberal who advocates for the activites of a fringe nut group lilke PETA. Big mistake for a successful fiction author, writing in a non political genre, to interject his beliefs. A turn off.

posted by Anonymous on July 3, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Don't mess with thespecial investigators

    One of myfavorktes inthe series because of Jack with his friends. Would've been better if Jack got to break some legs before the last flight. But he did what he had to do and did it as only Jack could do

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Another Solid Reacher Book

    Although the story is classic Reacher, it wasn't the best book I have read in the series. Currently have two left to go before finishing all 17 he has written so far and wouldn't give this one a full 5 stars. The story and plot line just didn't do it for me the way most of his books do. Doesn't mean not to check it out, I am just saying that there are better books in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    very good

    very good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2012

    What we.....

    This is what we have come to expect from Mr Child and our hero Jack Reacher. Looking forward to more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    haijia

    this is a very good book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    Well written mystery

    Story was well written. Some of details could have been figured out easily by those who read a lot of this style of book. I was pleasantly surprised with the end of the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2015

    Bree

    She coughed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Another great Reacher adventure!

    Just like every one of the 9 other Lee Child books that I have read, featuring his best character Jack Reacher, great story. It is the kind of book that is hard to put down. Easy to read, but packed with tons of information, description, and dialog. I highly recommend all of Lee Child's Jack Reacher books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommend.

    Really a good Jack Reacher Book. Haven't quite finished it yet but it is a good one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Rain

    He blushes oh shure.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    .

    .

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Reacher Strikes Again!

    Not as good as "One Shot" by a long shot and some previous Jack Reacher novels as well, "Bad Luck and Trouble" is nevertheless a worthy thriller by Lee Child. I wouldn't classify it as one of his best because I prefer Jack Reacher the Loner to Jack Reacher the Groupie. What makes Reacher click with the reader is his effectiveness as a loner. As a member of a team in "Bad Luck and Trouble," he loses this effectiveness and much of his luster as a unique character.<BR/><BR/>In the novel, Reacher rounds up his old buddies from his military days, which slows down the action to all but a dead stall, and sets out to investigate the disappearance of another of their military comrades. In the process, they discover an international conspiracy. Prior to that, Reacher and his pals roam around Vegas in this outing and have to whack out a thug who is bird-dogging them and bury him in true Vegas fashion under cement, what else, Mafia-style. After all, what would you expect in a city created by Bugsy Siegel?<BR/><BR/>When all is said and done, this is stilll a fine thriller and well worth the read. If you haven't read a Reacher novel before, however, I would suggest you start with another book in the series, such as, "One Shot," which centers around Reacher the Loner.<BR/><BR/>--Bryan Cassiday, author of "Fete of Death"

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2008

    Reacher Strikes Again!

    Not as good as 'One Shot' by a long shot and some previous Jack Reacher novels as well, 'Bad Luck and Trouble' is nevertheless a worthy thriller by Lee Child. I wouldn't classify it as one of his best works because I prefer Jack Reacher the Loner to Jack Reacher the Groupie. What makes Reacher click with the reader is his effectiveness as a loner. As a member of a team in 'Bad Luck and Trouble,' he loses this effectiveness and much of his luster as a unique character. In this novel, Reacher rounds up his old buddies from his military days, which slows down the action to all but a dead stall, and sets out to investigate the disappearance of another of their military comrades. In the process, they discover an international conspiracy. Prior to that, Reacher and his pals roam around Vegas in this outing and have to whack out a baddie who is bird-dogging them and bury him in true Vegas fashion under cement, what else, Mafia-style. After all, what would you expect in a city created by Bugsy Siegel? When all is said and done, this is still a fine thriller and well worth the read. If you haven't read a Reacher novel before, however, I would suggest you start with another book in the series, such as 'One Shot,' which centers around Reacher the Loner. --Bryan Cassiday

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2007

    A reviewer

    My wife and I have read all of the Reacher stories getting hooked early on. The character grows on you. Does not matter what the plot is...you just like to go along for the ride and see how Reacher handles the bad guys. This time around I wondered if Reacher has spent too much time alone. I wish he just grow up and join the rest of the world...feel like I know him enough to tell him that!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2007

    Could be better

    This book was pretty good. Had a week start to it, but the ending was very good. Jack Reacher is awsome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4