Customer Reviews for

Bad Monkey

Average Rating 4
( 229 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(110)

4 Star

(60)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

33 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

Carl Hiaasen has a very distinct writing style and he serves up

Carl Hiaasen has a very distinct writing style and he serves up a doozy of a tale in Bad Monkey. Hiaasen is one of my favorites and Bad Monkey does not disappoint.

posted by JesseG1 on June 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

This is first time I have read any of Carl Hiaasen's books.  It

This is first time I have read any of Carl Hiaasen's books.  It will probably be my last.  I do not understand why an author feels he has to use every four letter he knows and use every vulgar scene he can imagine.  If he feels like this what adult humor and entertainme...
This is first time I have read any of Carl Hiaasen's books.  It will probably be my last.  I do not understand why an author feels he has to use every four letter he knows and use every vulgar scene he can imagine.  If he feels like this what adult humor and entertainment is meant to be I feel he as really misunderstanding his audience.  I really found it interesting to read that Mr. Hoarseness is also an author of children books.  I must look some of  his children books and see if he is capable of writing using clean language.  I could truly enjoyed this story
without the crudeness.

posted by 7230196 on June 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Fun Novel With A Zany Cast of Characters Andrew Yancey is havin

    Fun Novel With A Zany Cast of Characters

    Andrew Yancey is having a rough time. He is about to lose his job. It turns out that cavorting about with the wife of a rich and politically well doctor, then publicly assaulting the doctor in a fight is not the best way to keep your job in the Sheriff’s office. Even though he is about to by cashiered the Sheriff asks Yancey to do him a little favor. It seems that a human arm has turned up on the fishing line of a tourist. The Sheriff would like to pass the problem off to Miami. So he asks Yancey to take the arm up from the Keys to the city in the hopes that this case will go away. Miami doesn’t want the arm, the Sheriff doesn’t want the arm. Yancey thinks that there may be foul play. In the meantime Yancey is given a new job as a Health Inspector. Counting roaches and rat droppings is not why he went into law enforcement. So he keeps the arm in his freezer hoping to solve the crime and get reinstated.




    This fun novel has a cast of zany characters and hilarious scenes. As Yancey tries to solve a crime that no one even thinks happened he is also waging a private war against a developer who is building a huge mansion next door to his home. He is getting to know a new girlfriend, a coroner, who has some interesting ideas about how to have a good time. He has an Oklahoma lawman asking questions about the married woman he was having an affair with. As if that wasn’t enough he also has to deal with a voodoo queen in the Bahamas who has a voracious appetite for men, a shady real estate deal, and a fisherman who just wants his land and his obnoxious pet monkey back.




    While the characters are quite funny and even enjoyable at times they aren’t always very likable. After all the “hero” of our story is a cop who likes to get high and fool around with married women. The dialogue is fun and well written for the most part. The only real problem with the novel in the Bahamian patois. Writing in patois is difficult and reading it is even more difficult. I found it very hard to “hear” the dialect as I was reading. Perhaps that is just my own problem and others will find those passages easy to read. Don’t let this one quibble get in the way of reading the novel. I had a good time reading it and more than once attracted attention to myself by laughing out loud while I was reading it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Very entertaining and engaging. I laughed out loud several times. Most fun I've had reading a book all year. Much better than his earlier novels, and those were great, too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2014

    A Good read

    This book was good....The monkey was funny!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Not a bad read

    A good resd Nothing like reading a Hiaasen novel on the beach.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2014

    My first Hiaasen book.

    Love mystery and crime novels - the book was full of twist and turns. Sometimes I found the humor more interesting then an actually laugh out loud. I would recommend this book as out of the box type of writing ,to those who need something to side track them from their regular authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    Fun read

    Good summer reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2014

    ¿Bad Monkey¿ took a little bit to get going but when it did I fo

    “Bad Monkey” took a little bit to get going but when it did I found it very entertaining. A mix of mystery, beach life and humor makes this book a fun read which takes a bit of a ride. The characters are fun (if a bit flat) and quirky and the story is well written. A perfect story for reading by the pool or on the beach!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Love Hiaasen's books, and this one is no exception. Who the he

    Love Hiaasen's books, and this one is no exception. Who the heck is "anonymous" who wrote the 1 star review on 6/22/13.....he's vulgar and constantly uses four letter words? Hiaasen? WOW......I may need a refund, as clearly my book must have then been missing a ton of words!! Back to the review - we have a very likeable hero, a simple yet kind islander who has been ripped off, a greedy evil couple and their thug henchman, a nut job for a voodoo queen, a blockheaded developer in the keys, roaches in restaurants, a sex-crazed former teacher (straight out of today's routine news headlines) and her idiotic former student, a very hot coroner and, of course, the star of all the Pirate movies....not Johnny Depp, but the psychotic monkey. Trust me, they all weave in and out through the whole book and, at times, it is laugh out loud funny. Really have an appreciation for this author and will continue reading his fine works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Highly recommend

    Funny book, with twists and turns. After living in Miami and visiting the Keys it brought back memories. Don't be put off by the cover or language in the beginning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    Classic Hiaasen

    Of course it's funny and fast and well plotted. And once the monkey appears, he steals the show.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Moderately recommended

    Entertaining, but getting to be a bit of a formula. Gruff, outsider, irresistable to women solves mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Skyghost

    "I will."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    Fun read

    The early part of this book is a lot of fun...but I feel the last few chapters lose the edge and drag a bit. But overall its a book that held my attention for the most part, and was a good ADULT read. The profanity is substantial.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2013

    Great Read

    Very funny and sarcastic. Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    OK Summer Read.

    Sort of funny. So-so storyline. Not Hiassen at his best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Very enjoyable

    My husband and I both enjoyed this book a lot. As usual, there are a bunch of oddball characters and some of the situations that arise are hilarious! The story moves quickly and ultimately all of the characters intertwine. The ending was a little bit anti-climactic and there were a lot of loose ends to be tied up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    My firts reading of Mr. Hiaasen. I was enthralled. I enjoyed the

    My firts reading of Mr. Hiaasen. I was enthralled. I enjoyed the characters immensley. I already ordered another novel by the author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    A good, fast read

    Not as funny as I was led to believe, but at times it was. A good mystery with picaresque characters galore. It was a good book for my mobile devices because it did not require deep thought.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Great Book, Dumb Title

    Bad Monkey takes the reader on a wild romp. Well worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    South Floridians uncensored

    Most of us just pass through South Florida without really experiencing the zanies who live and thrive there. Hiaasen has captured the non tourist world and given it to us in a raw unfiltered drink that can be sipped, swilled or chugged.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3