Customer Reviews for

Bad Monkey

Average Rating 4
( 215 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(102)

4 Star

(55)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Carl Hiaasen has a very distinct writing style and he serves up

Carl Hiaasen has a very distinct writing style and he serves up a doozy of a tale in Bad Monkey. Hiaasen is one of my favorites and Bad Monkey does not disappoint.

posted by JesseG1 on June 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

This is first time I have read any of Carl Hiaasen's books.  It

This is first time I have read any of Carl Hiaasen's books.  It will probably be my last.  I do not understand why an author feels he has to use every four letter he knows and use every vulgar scene he can imagine.  If he feels like this what adult humor and entertainme...
This is first time I have read any of Carl Hiaasen's books.  It will probably be my last.  I do not understand why an author feels he has to use every four letter he knows and use every vulgar scene he can imagine.  If he feels like this what adult humor and entertainment is meant to be I feel he as really misunderstanding his audience.  I really found it interesting to read that Mr. Hoarseness is also an author of children books.  I must look some of  his children books and see if he is capable of writing using clean language.  I could truly enjoyed this story
without the crudeness.

posted by 7230196 on June 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 102 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Carl Hiaasen has a very distinct writing style and he serves up

    Carl Hiaasen has a very distinct writing style and he serves up a doozy of a tale in Bad Monkey. Hiaasen is one of my favorites and Bad Monkey does not disappoint.

    32 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Once I got started, I couldn't put this book down. It was a grea

    Once I got started, I couldn't put this book down. It was a great book from start to finish. There are lots of fun twists and turns. Five stars.

    19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved Bad Monkey. It is a total literary departure from the no

    I loved Bad Monkey. It is a total literary departure from the norm. The characters are well developed. The plot line swims along beautifully. All lin all, a great book.

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Bad Monkey is a wonderful book. It is my first time reading the

    Bad Monkey is a wonderful book. It is my first time reading the work of Carl Hiaasen and I was very surprised at just how much I loved his writing. The characters are well developed and the plot is strong. I really enjoyed this book and fully recommend it.

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    I am a long-time fan of Hiaasen, and I usually prefer his earlie

    I am a long-time fan of Hiaasen, and I usually prefer his earlier books, but Bad Monkey is FANTASTIC!
    I've had a rough few weeks with few smiles, and it's the one thing that had me shaking with laughter and scaring
    people on my commute as I cackled in glee over Drigg's and Yancey's misadventures. READ IT! And for the adults who
    are still scared of "bad words" -seriously? Grow up. 

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Proboly great

    I havent got it yet but i know it will be good because iv read all of his other books and they were awesome the best books iv ever read

    5 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    It's a good mystery and fun to read.

    It's a good mystery and fun to read.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    The best book ever

    The best book ever anhas lot of good chapters

    AND HAS A GOOD CHARTER FOR THE BAD MONKEY

    3 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    I think some thing may be wrong with me...

    ...I love Carl Hiaasen! He is absurd and somewhat vulgar. His plots are absurd! His characters are absurd and quirky and flawed. And yet beneath all the absurdity, is a cynical jibe ar society's relationship with our environment as well as our greed and wayward moral compass. Still, with all that going on, his stories are tight and well crafted and strangely plausibleand you never know what direction the story will take. Oh yeah, he often makes me laugh out loud!
    Bad Monkey is typical Hiaasen. Andrew Yancy is climbing the law enforcement career ladder...backward! Starting with Miami-Dade P.D., moving to detective with the Monroe County Sheriff's Dept. and finally getting demoted to Restaurant Inspector. So when a tourist reels in a human arm and the story doesn't seem quite right, Yancy see's it as an opportunity to maybe get back in the Sheriff's good graces and get his job back. But first he must negotiate his way through a plethora of strange, evil, lazy, self absorbed characters to get to the truth and bring the neer-do-well to justice. And don't forget about the monkey!
    If you're offended by strong language and/or sexual situations, this isn't for you. For that matter, neither are any of Hiaasen's other adult books. So save your time, money, and our review space. If these things don't bother you, have fun and enjoy the ride!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Classic Hiaasen

    Hiaasen’s great strength is his characters. Here we have a disgraced detective with a pedophile paramour, a timid sheriff, a gorgeous coroner, a desperate conman, the conman’s gold digging wife, and, of course, a very bad monkey. When a fisherman snags a human arm off the Keys, boating accident and shark attack look like all there is to it. Detective Yancy, on leave for sodomizing his mistress’s husband with a Dust Buster and reassigned to roach inspector, knows in his gut that there is more to the story, so he begins an unauthorized investigation with the help of the very sexy Miami medical examiner. Throw in numerous scam artists, a few murders, some eco-vandalism, a voodoo priestess, a little arson and a hurricane and you’ve got pure Hiaasen. Oh, I almost forgot, there is even a cameo appearance by Johnny Depp.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2013

    Take a Monroe County (Florida Keys) detective busted down to res

    Take a Monroe County (Florida Keys) detective busted down to restaurant inspector, a medical examiner with an interest in a little kink on the side, a doctor’s wife with a secret past and the good doctor himself with a secret present and a past incident he only wishes was kept secret, a voodoo priestess, etc. etc., and top it off with the arm of a former scam artist and an ill-behaved monkey rumored to have worked with Johnny Depp on the “Pirates” movies – and you get a satiric masterpiece that could only come out of the mind of Carl Hiaasen.

    Like a good sports fisherman in South Florida, Hiaasen made sure he hooked me at the earliest opportunity, gave me a little slack, pulled back … and eventually landed me. I have yet to read (or in this case, listen to) a Hiaasen novel I haven’t liked, and his most recent work ranks right up there with his other masterpieces. Numerous subplots swirl around, sometimes coming tantalizingly close to each other or even touching, until they begin to come together as the novel reaches its climax and conclusion. Of course, a few recurring gags, one of my favorite features of the authors’ works, can be found, as well.

    Unlike his earlier works, Hiaasen actually moves a good deal of the action out of South Florida. Admittedly, the Bahamas isn’t THAT much of a stretch, BUT it did constitute a risk for the author – one which I believe paid off.

    Carl, you’re going to have to write just a little faster … the only one of your novels (excepting the YA ones) I haven’t read yet is Skin Tight. I’m afraid to start it, because once I’ve caught up, what will I have to look forward to.

    This book meets all of my qualification for 5 stars. It grabbed and kept my interest, I liked the characters, I could feel the locale almost as though it were another character in the book, and it feels like it will stay with me after I’ve moved on to my next book.

    POSTSCRIPT: I listened to this novel on an audio book, read by the memorable Arte Johnson. I was a little disappointed in that the man who created so many memorable characters on Laugh-In back in the late 1960s stayed relatively subdued as he gave voice to the characters in the novel. But midway through the CDs, I realized this was by design. Mr. Johnson recognized that these were Hiaasen’s characters, not his own, and he wisely avoided the temptation to allow his vocal exaggerations to distract from what was already a funny text.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    AWSOME READ

    Carl Hiassen has done it again. Bad Monkey was funny & an enjoyable read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    I love the story. It's a fascinating read. I can't put this book

    I love the story. It's a fascinating read. I can't put this book down, it keeps me up all night.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    L

    This is asweome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    It is zack

    Are you a half blood

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommend

    I loved this book - like all of Hiaasen's books. After reading it, I gave it to two people for Christmas gifts.

    Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Brian

    Purnurple

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    I have read every one of his books. This is not his best work,

    I have read every one of his books. This is not his best work, but then given the high quality of his novels, I would still give it 5 stars. It is full of the flawed heroes and oddball villains we have come to love/hate in his stories. I am always anxious to see how the bad guys come to their hilarious and ironic ends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    Enjoyed it!

    Great read! Fun characters with a well thought plot! I will definitely read more written by him

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    This book was ok

    I loved the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 102 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6