Customer Reviews for

Bad Monkeys

Average Rating 4.5
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    Entertaining but convoluted

    Not a bad way to spend a weekend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2007

    Doesn't live up to Set this House in Order

    After reading Set this House in order, was looking forward to Matt Ruff's new book. The book was a good read, but was not as captivating as his previous novel. The book does offer lots of twists, that you have to stay focused when reading. If you have never read a Matt Ruff novel, read Set this House in Order first.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Wonderful

    Wonderful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Beyond words

    I wish I could appropriately summarize this book to convince you to read it. No words could give this book justice. Just when you think you understand what is going on, this book sends you through a loophole. It's one fantastic mindblowing page turning novel which leaves you wondering if this is all Nods doing. All I can say is read the book, if for no other reason than just plain curiosity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    I thought this book was outstanding.  The fantastic weapons, the

    I thought this book was outstanding.  The fantastic weapons, the elements of the secret societies, and the wild action made for a great read.  One of the few books that I read straight through in one day.  Would love to see this as movie series with Matrix-like effect.s

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    What a ride

    Entertaining surprising fun

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent

    The only problem with this novel is that it ends too quickly. I wanted the story to continue on and on. The story is exciting and the characters were terrific. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    I did not expect to like this book as much as I did.

    I did not expect to like this book as much as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    Good, not great

    Interesting concept and easy to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Thoroughly entertaining non-hardcore sci-fi/fantasy

    Read in less than a day and enjoyed it thoroughly. Enough detail to keep it fast paced, but understood. Character development was handled appropriately for the type of story and didnt belabor points. Well done for what it is; a good day off from reality that will give you something to think about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2012

    Genius Writing

    I had actually bought this before and loved it so much i lent it to my best friend, needless to say, he never returned it. Anyway, i bought it again hoping to read it because of its amazing story that kept me guessing and enjoying the ride for the whole time. Matt Ruff delivers a very thrilling and intelligent story, there aren't that many like this nowadays. Can't wait to read it and share it with my boyfriend so he can see what is was that made me so happy to finally have it in my hands again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Fun little tale

    Truly enjoyed this odd little book. So now I have to go in search of sequels and other titles by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Great first two acts, but...

    The characters and plot development are original and fully realized until the climax of the story, which the author makes needlessly convoluted and unltimately anticlimatic. That being said, I would definitely read another novel by the author as the first two-thirds of the novel show considerable potential.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    About Bad and not about Monkeys

    The novel is well written and very inventive. It is NOT about apes, monkeys, or wristcuffs. The protagonist, good Jane, is developed over time, but other characters are simply sketches. This doesn't significantly hurt this insanely-paced thriller.

    The book is a quick read, and very hard to put down. While it hints at important aspects of human relations now and then, it is primarily a novel for escape. Use this book to fill a rainy day, and then give it to a friend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2009

    Made Me Wonder, Made Me Think, Made Me Interested!!!!!

    The whole book was just outstanding! It has made me return to my roots, my roots of enjoying reading books. The story made me think about life and the weird things that happen to us.

    How it creates who we are by chance encounters. That sometimes the truth of life is too much for us to handle so we escape to our "own" reality. Sometimes our turth is too much for other people to handle so they pretend like we are not telling the truth.

    As soon as I finished this book, I read it again and actually enjoyed it more! I highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Thank you Matt Ruff

    Thank you Matt Ruff for getting me out of my literary slump with this enjoyable story.

    I had started reading and stopped too many books in short time; unable to find something I was in the mood for. Bad Monkeys was just the novel Easy to read with an interesting storyline, great characters, and perfectly timed plot twists.

    I wish I could work for either the Bad Monkey department or the clowns....haven't decided yet. Plus I want an "ant farm" too......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A fun romp! DON'T MISS THIS BOOK!

    This has been another pass-around book that has made me go buy a second copy. Maybe a third, as my son refuses to give up the latest copy. Because of Bad Monkeys I have bought everything I can get my hands on by Matt Ruff. Don't go through life without reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2009

    Read like a quirky movie

    The plot had lots of twists and turns. It was funny and off the wall in a looking glass sort of way.

    It vaguely reminded me of the movie 12 Monkeys crossed with Dead Like Me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Bad Monkeys is a fast-paced psychcological thriller. That is a must read for anyone who thinks "they're always watching".

    In Matt Ruff's newest book "Bad Monkeys" it starts off in a movie styled white room. there is only a table a chair and a 40 year old girl, named Jane charlotte. Jane is on accused of murder and admits it. She says she is a member of a secret society that fights evil not crime. Jane recollects the whole story of how she became a member from her life as a teenager to the present day. <BR/><BR/>This novel is definitely a page-turner. I picked it uo form the library simply because of it's cover and it turned out to be one of my favorite books of all time. The characters in the story are good, but what really makes the whole shibang is the plot. Four or five times during the story i was sure i knew the plot, then bam. An ACME anvil would plumet straight on to the page, and i would be in a tornado of suspense and confusion. Describing the book is almost impossible. Imagine James Bond, Jack Bauer, and Jason Bourne all in one book and you have summed up this novel. Also at the end for those readers who like a bit of a tear jerker you won't be dissapointed. <BR/><BR/>Overall I'd say read this first 30 pages and if you don't like it then keep reading because it's that good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2008

    first read by Matt Ruff

    This was the first book I have read by Matt Ruff and enjoyed every minute of it. I took it on vacation and finished it before I arrived at my location. I am looking forward to reading his other novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3