Customer Reviews for

Bad Moon Rising (Pine Deep Trilogy #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    chilling, thrilling and exciting horror

    Thirty years ago in Pine Deep, Pennsylvania blight came upon the land killing crops and farm animals. This affected Uber Griswold, a Serbian werewolf, who lived in an isolated part of town drinking animal blood. After the affliction occurred, he went on a killing spree, murdering many humans until the Bone Man killed him and interred his body in the swamp. For years Griswold was in hibernation until he abruptly awakened and telepathically contacted his friend Vic Wingate who was making plans to bring Uber back to life. --- Criminals Karl Ruger and Ken Boyd stop in Pine Deep when their car breaks down. In some mystical way Griswold turns them into vampires without killing them. Some know what they are including Crow and his pregnant lover, Val as both had family killed by Uber years ago. Now Vic and Karl who worship Uber as their deity make plans for Halloween that if successful will destroy the town and much more perhaps the country. With the confrontation coming soon, certain people will make a difference depending on which side they align with. --- BAD MOON RISING is a chilling, thrilling and exciting horror tale that will appeal to fans of Salem¿s Lot. That audience and others will appreciate Jonathan Maberry¿s fine work as the key players especially the paranormal are three dimensional while starring in a complex plot that keep readers wondering who will win this battle between good and evil. --- Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Absolutely loved it

    Very good series..loved the folklore..vampire-zombies and werewolves..oh my
    C H

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Great Book!

    I started reading the Pine Deep Trilogy primarily to have something to distract me while I wait for the next book in the Joe Ledger Series (also by Maberry) to arrive in stores. However, Jonathan Maberry has definitely captured my full attention with this book series. Werewolves? Vampire/Zombie hybrids? Bring it on. I can't put this series down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Cobra

    Name~ Cobra

    Gender~ She-cat

    Description~Varies, but most of the time she is grey with darker flecks and light green eyes

    Power~ She can change her apperance and eye color, but she prefers to stay the same

    Age~ 13 moons

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    excellent monster trilogy!

    Be sure to read all three books in order. Great characters with lots of blood, gore, and creepy bad guys (both living and dead!). I am a Stephen King fan and I would rank these with The Stand and Salem's Lot. I highly recommend them!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2011

    Outstanding conclusion to Pine Deep trilogy

    If you're checking out this review BEFORE you purchase "Bad Moon Rising", then stop all engines and go out and buy the first book in the trilogy, "Ghost Road Blues". While, it would be possible to read "BMR" before you've read the first two novels, it will make SO much more sense to you if you read them in order. "Bad Moon Rising" continues the supernatural tale involving the good folks of Pine Deep, PA ("the most haunted place in America"). Like the best works of Stephen King, author Jonathan Maberry does an outstanding job developing characters throughout the trilogy and creating clear lines of good and evil. Don't be overwhelmed by the size of the books. The pages will fly by as you find yourself immersed in the world of vampires, werewolves, ghosts, and nasty people created by Maberry. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    Highly Recommended--Must Read

    First off, my copy for some reason was missing 30 pages towards the end, contacted the author via email from his website, who referred me to his agent...Bam new copy in the mail....Even without the missing 30 pages (which was most of big show down) a fabulous book, right up their with Stephen Kings "Salems Lot" and Robert McCammon "They Thirst" outstanding read, zipped through 600 plus pages over long beach weekend. Will order first two books after this posting, while I wait, picked up authors Patient Zero, which is turning out to be a great read as well...Nice to find a nice Vampires are evil books, instead of this good vs bad teen romance stuff that's out their.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wow - Wish it was not over

    I started with 'Ghost Road Blues' not really knowing that this was a trilogy - I just finished this last book 'Bad Moon Rising', and even though they were very long books (the last one especially) I still could not put them down until I was finished. I stayed up until 2 and 3am sometimes reading because I could not wait to see what happened next! I am so glad I found these books - I always try the 'books under $5' and that is how I found this trilogy. I so hope he continues to write great novels like this. My new favorite author!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2010

    WOW!

    This is my first time I have every made a rating on any of the books I have read but, I had to talk about this one. I have read all 3 books,Ghost Road Blues, Dead Man's Song, and Bad Moon Rising, from beginning to end over a course of 2 weeks and I couldn't stop until I was finished.
    This was the BEST horror story I have ever read. I thought Val and Crow were the best and my heart went out to Mike. I just wanted to hug him and protect him from Vic.....Vic was worst than evil!
    All the characters in the story were great and I hope that some day there will be book number 4.....I'll be waiting....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A "BITER"

    This is the third book of a trilogy. It's a great book and literally a real biter ! You won't be able to put it down. I read the other two books in this series and this book answers all the questions that remained from the first two. I enjoy the author's style of writing. I can't wait to see if Maberry writes another book in this series. I would love to follow Mike on his path of destruction killing the bloodsuckers !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2008

    Renee's Review

    As a fan of Stephen King, I thought no one could sway me from my belief that the King¿s hold on the most ingenious of imaginations would ever be topped. Then I read BAD MOON RISING, by Jonathan Maberry and I am swayed! The residents of Pine Deep, Pennsylvania have no idea the horror that awaits them on Halloween night just as I had no idea the nightmares that would result from reading such a lavish tale of dark terror, violence, love and death. But that¿s always the result from reading a good tale of horror, so I didn¿t mind. Still amid the violence and death, one of my favorite sentences is a very simple description that says a mouthful. ¿His smile never faded as the minutes of night dropped like cigarette ash on the ground around him.¿ If you love the legends of vampires, werewolves, avenging angels, as much as you enjoy strong characters then you will love this novel, and you will want the story to continue. This is the third book in a trilogy, we can only hope the author decides to revisit Pine Deep and continue the tale with a fourth.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Amazing trilogy!

    As good, if not better, than classic Stephen King. Couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Best Horror Series

    A terrific ending for a great horror series. If you are a horror fan and haven't read them stop what you are reading and get started on them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Great ending to a great trilogy!

    Looking forward to the next one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Killmoon

    Name: Killmoon. Gender: Shecat. Looks: beautiful lynx tabby with red and white fur. Eyes: Shimmering yellow. Personality: feirce and fiery to strangers and enemies, monologic and loyal to allies, and trusting and clingy to a mate. Mate: single. Dont have much time for love, yet i am looking. Kits: never. Clan: no.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Fearpelt

    Name:fearpet gener:male appearance:he is like a ghost and is able to materilize into anything mate/crush:none and none

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Sparkfur

    "Because i dont know you"

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Shadowtooth

    Im a warrior for this clan.ok,fine.I might mate with shadowheart.
    I asked her if she wanted to mate with me.she said maybe.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Destructo

    Surrender now, if you were here in 2011 you know what i can do. You have till tomorow.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Burrowfall

    A brown tom with dark brown front paws.he has a torn ear on his left side.he is brave and cunning.has no mate and is medicine cat for this evil empire

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3