Customer Reviews for

Bad Mouth

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I truly enjoyed this new twist on a vampire story. Kade is a dam

I truly enjoyed this new twist on a vampire story. Kade is a damaged, sexy alpha male who hates humans, and Valerie is a tough as nails human who hates vampires. True opposites attrracts to give us a hot, mysterious read. The author  does a wonderful job with world buil...
I truly enjoyed this new twist on a vampire story. Kade is a damaged, sexy alpha male who hates humans, and Valerie is a tough as nails human who hates vampires. True opposites attrracts to give us a hot, mysterious read. The author  does a wonderful job with world building, witty dialogue and steamy love scenes that any and all lovers of vampire stories will want to read again and again. 

posted by Jan-RN on May 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Get you some Kade!  This a the 1st book in what I hope will be

Get you some Kade! 

This a the 1st book in what I hope will be a series. The world building of a two caste vampire society is promising in this enjoyable
enemies to lovers romance. 

The Great: Kade. He is simply a wonderful hero. Blunt, grumpy, foul mouthed and willi...
Get you some Kade! 

This a the 1st book in what I hope will be a series. The world building of a two caste vampire society is promising in this enjoyable
enemies to lovers romance. 

The Great: Kade. He is simply a wonderful hero. Blunt, grumpy, foul mouthed and willing to grow as a person and accept startling new
 truths.  

One of Kade's defining traits is that he is very blunt and crude. I love it. He is funny. The writer could have/should have gone even
further with this quirk. It would have upped both the humour and sexy factor in this book. 

The Okay: The heroine is fine.  I like that she is tough and brave and does things even though she is afraid. I like that she accepts new
truths as well. She is a little slow on this. 

I would have liked the couple to have more interactions than they did. I know this is an action adventure book but more couple time is
always good. I loved their banter. 

The writing is this book is compelling and engaging. What keeps this book from being rated higher is a feeling of compression. There were
 aspects of the book that needed more time and did not get them.

The sex (which is hot). We have hot scenes but they never make it to a bed in my recollection. 

The world building. I am fairly quick on the uptake but I don't follow the rules of this world as of yet. I have general idea but while she
 avoids info dumps, certain ideas are not fully explained or reasoned out. 

I like this writer a lot. I started following her on Goodreads. I can't wait for more of the the special that is Kade to come out in her books. 

I received this book for my honest review. 

posted by northamericanwordcat on June 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This was my perfect book! Bad words, paranormal mystery, suspens

    This was my perfect book! Bad words, paranormal mystery, suspense, hot love scenes, a bad-ass hero and an intelligent heroine. The spin put on "traditional" vampire society/folklore was unique as well. I CANNOT wait for Angela to write more books!!! I am a HUGE fan!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The title Bad Mouth evokes the impression of profanity and this

    The title Bad Mouth evokes the impression of profanity and this book does have some. But, I really liked the profanity because it was not overdone and it made it feel like real conversations between adults instead of adults who talk like junior high students while attending school.

    I give this book a solid 3.5 to 3.75 star rating. The only thing holding me back from giving this book is that I would have liked more description and explanation of the Dominium vs. Legion vs. Immortalis caste of the vampires. I did not personally feel this part was fleshed out enough for the reader. I have some idea of the workings of the castes, but didn't gain much of that knowledge until the last 20% of the book. I think the issue was more the author hitting a page/word limit and not due to a fully envisioned vampire world in which this story take place.

    That being said, I really enjoyed the characters: Kade, Val, Ezra, Ptolomy, Alice, Gun, Luc, Killian, and more (so many great characters). Angela McCallisterdid a fabulous job with the characters. The overall story is of killings going on that Kade is sure humans are perpetrating and Val is equally sure vampires are at fault. Where it leads the characters to is engaging. Kade and Val's budding relationship adds the element of romance to the mystery. This book is well worth a read for those who enjoy paranormal romance.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2013

    What an excellent vampire/romance novel. I love a good vampire s

    What an excellent vampire/romance novel. I love a good vampire story, but this one was brilliant, it has great one liners, great characters and story line. Apart from Kade, the sexy vampire, you also had Ezra and his constant smile. Kade and Val made a great couple, which added to the steamy sex scenes.

    An excellent and highly recommended read for all fans of vampire/romance.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2013

    Kade Rollins is a dark, sexy, tortured vampire who is assigned t

    Kade Rollins is a dark, sexy, tortured vampire who is assigned to help the vampire/human liaison officer, Valerie Craig, investigate a series of brutal murders. Did humans commit them, or vampires? Trouble is, Kade hates humans and Valerie hates vampires, both have their reasons. This story puts a bit of a twist and some "bad" language into what could be your run of the mill "vampire" tale. Kade and Valerie overcome their preconceived prejudices against the other's respective races and manage to find love. A book with some "bite" to it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Get you some Kade!  This a the 1st book in what I hope will be

    Get you some Kade! 

    This a the 1st book in what I hope will be a series. The world building of a two caste vampire society is promising in this enjoyable
    enemies to lovers romance. 

    The Great: Kade. He is simply a wonderful hero. Blunt, grumpy, foul mouthed and willing to grow as a person and accept startling new
     truths.  

    One of Kade's defining traits is that he is very blunt and crude. I love it. He is funny. The writer could have/should have gone even
    further with this quirk. It would have upped both the humour and sexy factor in this book. 

    The Okay: The heroine is fine.  I like that she is tough and brave and does things even though she is afraid. I like that she accepts new
    truths as well. She is a little slow on this. 

    I would have liked the couple to have more interactions than they did. I know this is an action adventure book but more couple time is
    always good. I loved their banter. 

    The writing is this book is compelling and engaging. What keeps this book from being rated higher is a feeling of compression. There were
     aspects of the book that needed more time and did not get them.

    The sex (which is hot). We have hot scenes but they never make it to a bed in my recollection. 

    The world building. I am fairly quick on the uptake but I don't follow the rules of this world as of yet. I have general idea but while she
     avoids info dumps, certain ideas are not fully explained or reasoned out. 

    I like this writer a lot. I started following her on Goodreads. I can't wait for more of the the special that is Kade to come out in her books. 

    I received this book for my honest review. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2013

    I truly enjoyed this new twist on a vampire story. Kade is a dam

    I truly enjoyed this new twist on a vampire story. Kade is a damaged, sexy alpha male who hates humans, and Valerie is a tough as nails human who hates vampires. True opposites attrracts to give us a hot, mysterious read. The author  does a wonderful job with world building, witty dialogue and steamy love scenes that any and all lovers of vampire stories will want to read again and again. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2013

    My thoughts: Wonderfully written.  A new idea in a vampire roman

    My thoughts:
    Wonderfully written.  A new idea in a vampire romance is hard to come by these days, but this book is both original and creative.
    I fell in love with the characters.  I was hooked in the first few pages and couldn't put the book down.  
    It is fantastic to see Kade and Valerie struggle with their beliefs, prejudices and desires.  
    Betrayal and trust are forefront for them both as they come to trust and care about each other.  
    The storyline is twisty and clever.  The characters come to life and grab you.  
    I truly enjoyed the book and hope there is more to come!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2013

    I give Angela McCallister¿s Bad Mouth a well-deserved 5 stars!!

    I give Angela McCallister’s Bad Mouth a well-deserved 5 stars!! Mouth-watering, drop-dead sexy, bad-boy vampire Prince paired with tough as nails, tenacious, gets what she wants, human liaison to the vampires, and you know the covers of this book will be getting steamed up and quick! It has been a while since the sexual tension and mounting emotions between characters has put me on edge, but Kade and Valerie sure got my heart racing and my blood pumping. 
    Not only are these two on opposites sides of the playing field, one hating humans and one hating vampires, they have to work together to bring down someone or something bringing down both of their worlds. If that wasn’t complicated enough, the more time they spend together, the more they learn about each other, the more their knowledge of the other’s species eludes them. 
    Kade’s personality is top notch, not being able to control the things that come out of his mouth and Val refuses to let anything scare her.
    Angela’s writing is fantastic!! With well written characters and wonderful flow of the story, I found myself lost in the world of Bad Mouth.
    Thank you, Angela, for this wonderful novel!








    (I received an ARC for my honest review and this is my honest to goodness, straight from the heart review!)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this book for many reasons, but the primary one was the

    I loved this book for many reasons, but the primary one was the main hero, Kade. I absolutely enjoyed his irreverent bad mouth (this book is *perfectly* titled! LOL). His yummy factor was also highly appreciated.

    I've read quite a bit of vampire romance, and this one had some of my favorite features of the race, (sleep in daylight), but it was also quite original in many ways so it didn't feel like that same old same old. **I'm not going to give spoilers, you'll just have to read it! :)

    Other things I loved about Bad Mouth included realistic dialogue, compelling and original turns of phrase, stakes (pun intended!), as well as great secondary characters whom I'm really looking forward to reading.
    McCallister's world building is fantastic and just right - not too much where I was lost and not too little that I couldn't follow what was happening. She resisted the urge to over-explain, which I always hate, and the ending is so damn satisfying. She thought of everything. Two thumbs up!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    Vamps galore

    Slow stat but good finish

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    Ayden

    Smiles. "Its alright." (((Hey im sorry but i gtg. I wont be on for a day ir two. Ttyl. Bye!)))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    Stormy

    Sighs then looks at you "bye see you when you get back" forces a smile

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2013

    Many authors have been gracious enough to give away their books.

    Many authors have been gracious enough to give away their books. I've been fortunate enough to win several of these. For this I am eternally grateful because I wouldn't have been to read many with out it. So far, I have not been disappointed with any of them. This was no exception. This was a great book. I will forever grateful to authors who love their fans to this extent. I loved this book and while reading it, I had to laugh at the title. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2013

    I first saw this book being offered on Netgalley, and had reques

    I first saw this book being offered on Netgalley, and had requested it, then got the offer from one of the lovely ladies at Entangled Publishing to be a part of the blog tour. Well of course I wanted to, plus it just sounded so interesting. And yes I know I have an aversion to the vampers, but I actually liked these. :) It’s not what I expected, which is what made this part of a great ride, and it’s fresh and different from most others. Plus, to my romance readers, you’ll be finding a cold shower in need when you read this one, and my vamper lovers will become big fans! I myself love the Big Bad Wolf if you know what I mean :)  




    Valerie is a great character, however, I think I like that she’s judgemental-as most of us humans are. We get caught up in some things that shouldn’t matter. But, with her past situations, I think I would be a vamp hater too. And then she meets Mr Vamp who rocks her world :) HEHE I love when that happens. She’s determined, she’s almost a bully, but in a nice way-if that’s possible- and she’s really seriously dead set on getting rid of the vampires.  I felt bad for her in this aspect because of her husband, but I’m glad things are working out :) Hmmm, sometimes men have a way of being the worst and the best things in the world! 




    Kade is HAWT! Even I can say, as a vamper, he’s hot! BUT, boy does he need a good spanking, and not the dirty kind. You know, he’s royal, and spoiled, boy if I thought I had a potty mouth, he’s definitely got me beat! I have to giggle when I think about him, because I’d like to think that I’d probably give him a complex. Not only can I cuss more than him-sometimes- but I could probably knock his peg down a few notches. Which is why I loved him for Valerie. She’s a little uptight, and he’s so… not. And he hates humans as much as she hates vampires. I kinda giggle a good bit because of this. But Kade’s got some complex to his that’ll have your head spinning a little. I think that part is what made me like him so much. 




    You know I am always a big fan of the side kicks- as secondary characters almost always make the story for me. There’s several here that will play a part, but Ezra is my favorite… I almost wanna put him on my book boyfriend list…. I need to know a little more *to the author- hint hint* and maybe we can work around that :) I also kept thinking of Julius Ceasar and Brutus, and their type of world, when I read this. The way royalty is reminded me of that type of thing, not the queen of England type of Royalty. It definitely made for an interesting take on the vampers. :)  




    I am really interested to see if there will be more, at least set in this world, from this author. I really liked this one. It’s got action, seriously crazy creepiness, and some crazy romance that’ll leave everybody breathless and ready for more. I am really glad that I requested this one on Netgalley, otherwise I would have missed out! So, everyone go get theirs! 4.5 ACTION PACKED BREATHLESS PAWS! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2013

    Can I just say I really didn¿t put title and book together until

    Can I just say I really didn’t put title and book together until the very end. You would think I would have figured it out earlier but really, I was enjoying myself too much to put two and two together. Bad Mouth was a great paranormal romance with an added mystery and action elements. I like when a story has some added unexpected twist…especially if I don’t see them coming. The plot manages to contain a few new items that I have not encountered before in a vamp story which considering how much PNs I read, says a lot. 




    The star of this book is very much Kade. His ‘bad mouth’ and cocky attitude really made this a entertaining story. Yes, he is full of profanities but really, it is not too over-the-top extreme. With all the creative situations author Angela McCallister put the characters through, sometimes the word ‘f**k’ is called for! I found Valerie to a tough strong woman. When you put the two of them together, sparks fly in more ways than one. Actually all the characters were great. There are a few secondary characters (hint-hint Ms McCallister - Ptolomy and Ezra!) I would love to see get their own stories.




    If Bad Mouth is any indication of what we can expect in the future from Ms McCallister, then consider me a new fan. Most definitely a great story to spend the afternoon reading. An excellent piece of work that I will be recommending! 
    I received this book from JeepDiva for the express purposes of an honest review. The opinions and rating of this review are solely mine and in no way was I compensated.




    Stars – 4 Flames - 3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2013

    Great Read from a New Writer!

    Bad Mouth is an unexpected story about vampires. It is an well-developed alternate world where vampires & humans coexist, but w/ lots of animosity & mistrust between them. The heroine, Valerie, works for the government agency that has jurisdiction over the vampires but she is not the usual detective. She is usually just a paper pusher & does not go out into the field. Kade is an important vampire in their caste system of Immortalis, Legion or Dominium & is called upon to work with her to solve a crime where there are gruesome murders. The conversation among the characters seems real & highly believable. I enjoyed seeing the male friends interact with each other. The sex scenes are hot & leaving you wishing there were more! Sometimes I got confused in how exactly all the characters interact w/ each other but I'm sure more will be explained in future books. I look forward to reading more about these characters as the series continues. I believe another successful vampire world has been created. I met Angela at an author event & wanted to read her book after meeting her & hearing about it. I bought it w/ my own funds & gave an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    Val works for the VLO and has it in for all vamps since her x hu

    Val works for the VLO and has it in for all vamps since her x hubby was turned into one. Then there was a 'blooding' case that she had to solve and asked for help from the Rex and he set her up with a vamp partner named Kade. Kade doesnt like humans...Val doesnt like Vamps. Watching them fight their feelings for each other was funny. I loved that Val had her wise cracking come backs to Kade. Just when you THINK you know whats going to happen....you dont. This is my first book from Angela McCallister and I have to say that I love the characters and want to see more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    I haven't fully finished this book. I wanted to leave a review b

    I haven't fully finished this book. I wanted to leave a review because I promised I would. Excellent!! I would recommend!!

    -Rachael Willing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1