Customer Reviews for

The Bad Place

Average Rating 4
( 122 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

My First Dean Koontz book...im hooked!!!!!!!

So my dad got this book and he told me that Dean Koontz is a good writer, and he enjoyed some of his other books. He told me that i should read it, so i did, and i was hooked form the first page!! Dean Koontz Masterfully put this together. I love this book, i stayed ...
So my dad got this book and he told me that Dean Koontz is a good writer, and he enjoyed some of his other books. He told me that i should read it, so i did, and i was hooked form the first page!! Dean Koontz Masterfully put this together. I love this book, i stayed up until 3 in the morning reading it, and i was done with it the next day! i could not stop reading it. it was so awesome, i was actually disappointed when it was over because i wanted it to keep going. Now im hooked on Dean Koontz books. i reccomend this book to EVERYONE!!!!!!!!

posted by Anonymous on November 25, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not a good place at all

This novel was a disappointment. It did have some interesting, quirky characters (Julie, Bobby & Thomas were original and memorable), and it was fast paced. The plot, however, was too outrageous, and I found it difficult to suspend my disbelief as I can in the best horr...
This novel was a disappointment. It did have some interesting, quirky characters (Julie, Bobby & Thomas were original and memorable), and it was fast paced. The plot, however, was too outrageous, and I found it difficult to suspend my disbelief as I can in the best horror stories. Some of the images seemed notable only for their shock value but did not evolve naturally from the story. See below for some outstanding examples of the finest contemporary horror writing.

posted by Anonymous on July 13, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 122 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2005

    One of his best!

    Out of the 5 Dean Koontz's books that I have read, this one is my favorite. There's never a dull moment in this book and will make you never put it down. It will make you be sure that all of your doors and locked and have something to protect your neck.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2004

    Hooked from word 1

    I was introduced to Koontz by my Freshman year lit. teacher. I dreaded reading, never found it interesting to me, and was failing the class due to it. My Teacher, an amazing woman I will never forget, handed me this book, The Bad Place, by this author I thought was a wack-job. I begged her to find me a smaller book. She wasn't going to budge. Told me to read it over the weekend, and if I wasn't finished with it by Monday she would find me a different book. Needless to say, I was hooked from word one. Couldn't put the book down to save my soul. This book opened up a world of terror, fantasy, thrill, and the occasional love story to me. I will never forget Mrs Williams nor her persistance to find the right book for each person in her class.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2004

    Great Book

    I wasn't able to put it down for a minute!! This book keeps you interested w/ all its weird twists and turns!! Its Sci-fi, Thriller, and romance all in one!! A++++++

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2004

    SPINE TINGLING STORY AND READING

    'You've got to help me find where I go at night. What in God's name am I doing when I should be sleeping?' That's the frantic cry from the tortured Frank Pollard in Dean Koontz's gripping 'The Bad Place.' Something strange, other worldly is happening to Pollard. He has found himself in an alley, not knowing how he got there. His only knowledge is his name, and that he has something to fear. Anguished and terrified Pollard can no longer sleep because when he wakes up he finds strange objects in his pockets - once, his hands were covered with blood. He turns to the husband/wife detective team of Bobby and Dakota to help him. As they probe more deeply into the nether world where Frank goes when he sleeps they too find themselves in great danger. What a frightening scenario! And it is chillingly read by Carol Cowan and Michael Hanson. These voice performers never over dramatize or use histrionics, even when this plot would easily call for major board pounding. But rather they simply read the story in alternate narrative voices, knowing that Koontz's spine tingling words are all that's needed to hold listeners in thrall. - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2004

    Best Koontz Novel EVER!!!!

    Night Chills got me hooked on Koontz but The Bad Place is the best novel I've ever read. The element of the supernatural was so non-cliche and gripping. Everyone needs to read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2004

    My first at Koontz

    The bad place was the first Koontz book i've ever read. It was back in eighth grade when i stumbled upon this book for a school book report. I dreaded reading back them so i just picked out something and i swear, i was hooked. And from then on i developed a love for books and now i love to write my own stories too. I recomend this book to everyone that likes a good book. It is one of the bests.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2003

    Super book even for Koontz.

    I'm a huge Dean Koontz fan, but this book is amongst his best work. He creatively weaves humor with suspense and horror. I just absolutely loved the ending where the Dakota's are at the family doctor's house.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2003

    SCARY

    This is one of the freakiest books i've read, i love it!.... If you havn't read it, you don't know what your missing out on....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2002

    THE BAD PLACE IS GREAT!!!

    I loved THE BAD PLACE... It was a heart-pounding adventure that nobody can resist... once you begin the book... you won't be able to put it down. From page one THE BAD PLACE keeps you guessing until the last page. The ending was the best... it moved me to tears... DEAN KOONTZ IS AWESOME!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2002

    ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!!

    This book was exciting from beginning to end. It was the first Koontz I had ever encountered (Stephen King Fan), and I was truly impressed. I've read it four times already. I now own several Koontz pieces.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2001

    Fabulous through and through

    The Bad Place is an absolutely fabulous book that keeps you guessing from the moment you open it. The characters were amazing and the whole book has an eerie tone (just like all of his others)The end was a bit strange and I am not sure if it was completely believeable, but it worked!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2001

    I had horrible nightmares

    I've read a lot of horror stories but I was soo afraid to sleep or take showers. I was afraid Candy (i know that is a unthreatening name) would pop in and bite me. The book is terrifying and I made my friend read it so we could be scared together. Only read if you don't live alone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2001

    The Bad Place

    This superb Horror/Suspense/Science Fiction (that's how I classified it, anyway) novel is about a man with serious amnesia; he awakens in the mornings with strange things such as blood on his hands, red diamonds, black sand, and he has no idea where they came from. As this man attempts to discover the many mysteries surrounding him, the truth is learned about his disgusting, distorted, yet very fascinating family. For some reason, by the end of the book, I gained a strange admiraton for Candy (James). Keeps you guessing until the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2000

    'Magnificent - Absolutely Magnificent'

    The 'Bad Place' is the first book that I have ever read by Dean Koontz. I have been a fan ever since. The twists and turns of this magnificent story keeps you reading until the book is finished. I loved this book so much that I just purchased it for the 3rd time. I will recommend it but I will never lend my copy again. Put Dean Koontz books on your Christmas list. I did!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2000

    Teleportation problems? Call Dakota & Dakota.

    Quite an interesting book, with several connected mysteries that are gradually unraveled by the Dakota & Dakota detective team. Koontz comes up with such great, original ideas! For example, the mystery of the giant insect that excretes red diamonds was quite clever and off-the-wall at the same time. I thought the scientific explanation of the teleportation was weak, but the bizarre reclusive family was fascinating (and the svelte blond sisters titillating!). Even though they were supposed to be the heroes, the Dakota husband/wife detective team bothered me due to their unjustified brutality, and unrealistically simplistic lifetime goals. (How many people do you know would be happy the rest of their life with just a house on the beach and a vintage juke box?) However, the description of the point of view of the mentally retarded person was very clever ('wreck room,' picture poems, death analogy, etc.) and showed great insight and background research on Koontz's part. Likewise, the unscrupulous entymologists were realistic, as was the description of university administration snooping into private affairs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2000

    Horrible Insult to my Intelligence

    I always heard wonderful things about Dean Koontz books, so I went out and bought two. I read through this one in about 3 days and although it held my attention, the characters and the plot were very predictable. He always uses the same type of characters in his stories that are so perfect they couldn't possibly be believable. He also uses the same theme of pyscho related problems in which there is a fear involved that needs a hypnotist to solve. I'm just incredibly bored with his simplistic eighth grade writing and predictable themes. I'm sorry, Mr. Koontz, but neither of the books I read were worth raving about.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2000

    the bad place

    This book I recommend people to read because its scary. Frank Pollard wakes up during the night with blood on his hands,(etc.). He can't figure it out, so he hires 2 detectives (Bobby and Julie Dakota). They try to solve his problems but still can't figure it out,why this weird stuff is happening to Frank. then they figure out that he teleports in his sleep. And the journey is just starting to begin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2000

    One of My Favorites

    This is the one that made me a fan for life of Mr. Koontz. I have read it so often the cover's coming off. The main characters were so life-like and endearing. By the time you reach the climax, you're absolutely blown away. It is a fast-paced read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2000

    Chillingly realistic...unforgetable!

    I ate through this book in one day, since I couldn't put it down. The characters and settings are put in such a way that you feel you know them and where they are. You can reach out and be there...and what a horror! You empathize with the characters. Frank was truly my hero and I hated getting to the end. Thank you, Mr. Koontz, for writing this masterpiece.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2000

    Awesome

    This book is in line with all his other books. They are all masterpieces of fiction. This bok keeps you on the edge of your seat until the very end when you finally figure out what is really going on. This book wakes you up to the amazing imagination of Koontz.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 122 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7