Customer Reviews for

The Bad Place

Average Rating 4
( 121 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

My First Dean Koontz book...im hooked!!!!!!!

So my dad got this book and he told me that Dean Koontz is a good writer, and he enjoyed some of his other books. He told me that i should read it, so i did, and i was hooked form the first page!! Dean Koontz Masterfully put this together. I love this book, i stayed ...
So my dad got this book and he told me that Dean Koontz is a good writer, and he enjoyed some of his other books. He told me that i should read it, so i did, and i was hooked form the first page!! Dean Koontz Masterfully put this together. I love this book, i stayed up until 3 in the morning reading it, and i was done with it the next day! i could not stop reading it. it was so awesome, i was actually disappointed when it was over because i wanted it to keep going. Now im hooked on Dean Koontz books. i reccomend this book to EVERYONE!!!!!!!!

posted by Anonymous on November 25, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Decent Read

Once again Dean Koontz continues to amaze with his enjoyable sci-fi thrillers. However i must say that he has definety written better. The storyline is great, the characters are very well defined, but the book is about 100 pages to long. Time must be on hand to read th...
Once again Dean Koontz continues to amaze with his enjoyable sci-fi thrillers. However i must say that he has definety written better. The storyline is great, the characters are very well defined, but the book is about 100 pages to long. Time must be on hand to read this book, and it goes slow. I do admit that the book was incredibly fast paced at the beginning but from then on it was hard to keep up. In the end i was very pleased with the read, it just took a while to get there.

posted by Anonymous on July 6, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2004

    My First Dean Koontz book...im hooked!!!!!!!

    So my dad got this book and he told me that Dean Koontz is a good writer, and he enjoyed some of his other books. He told me that i should read it, so i did, and i was hooked form the first page!! Dean Koontz Masterfully put this together. I love this book, i stayed up until 3 in the morning reading it, and i was done with it the next day! i could not stop reading it. it was so awesome, i was actually disappointed when it was over because i wanted it to keep going. Now im hooked on Dean Koontz books. i reccomend this book to EVERYONE!!!!!!!!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    Chilling, Life-Changing

    I've read quite a few Dean Koontz books, and this book without a doubt is my new favorite. The characters in this novel are so real and likable, Thomas being my favorite. Koontz takes you inside the mind of a person with Down Syndrome and it's truly a great experience. I found myself laughing out loud and other times feeling very sad. Candy is also an interesting, monster of a character. The plot is so hot and intense I couldn't put the book down; definitely a must-read.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    A page turner!!!

    If you enjoy horror books, which is what Koontz does best, you'll enjoy this.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    My childhood memory

    This is the first novel Ive ever read on my own and as a young adult I was surprised at how easily I floated into the story and how I felt the thrill of the mystery of it all... it will always be my first and greatest horror/thriller novel.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    WOW,And I thought work was The Bad Place !

    Great book! I haven't read a Dean Koontz book in a while and after reading The Bad Place, I do have to admit I missed him. The Bad Place is even a worse place than my work and believe me, THAT IS SCARY! After reading this book, the word "candy" will never mean the same for you. You won't regret reading The Bad Place.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    Loved it!

    I really enjoyed reading this one. Koontz did a great job on this book. The characters caught you right off the bat. I just seemed to fall right in to this book, found myself routing for the good guys, lol. The story line was very original, was very intense too! I couldn't put it down until I was finished. Wow! a lot of action, every page was jumping!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    First Dean Koontz book I ever read

    and the last as well! This book scared me so bad that I honestly never finished it from sheer fear. The story was excellent, I just couldn't take the level of suspense. It's taken me 15 years, but I'm determined to finish it this go around!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2008

    great book

    I have been a long time Koontz fan. I must say, this book has not failed to just sweep me away. The characters are unforgetable, and it really puts you in suspence. I throughly enjoyed this book. I couldnt keep flipping pages.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Great book

    I enjoyed it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    weird

    thats all just weird.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2008

    Fantastic all the way to the end

    First of all, I am a huge Dean Koontz fan. However, I was unsure that I would enjoy this book as it was not the usual horror/mystery that I read. This book kicked into high gear right from the start and had me going to the very end. I love the way Koontz took this story and made it like no other. Books like these are exactly why reading is a wonderful way to take you to a world you would never see in real life. And, unless I am reading a nonfictional book, that is precisely what I want. Koontz delivered. He still reigns.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2008

    great fan

    I love dean koontz's humor and theme of love conquering all...that abound in all his novels...great read....but keep the lights on

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2005

    A Decent Read

    Once again Dean Koontz continues to amaze with his enjoyable sci-fi thrillers. However i must say that he has definety written better. The storyline is great, the characters are very well defined, but the book is about 100 pages to long. Time must be on hand to read this book, and it goes slow. I do admit that the book was incredibly fast paced at the beginning but from then on it was hard to keep up. In the end i was very pleased with the read, it just took a while to get there.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2005

    Not a good place at all

    This novel was a disappointment. It did have some interesting, quirky characters (Julie, Bobby & Thomas were original and memorable), and it was fast paced. The plot, however, was too outrageous, and I found it difficult to suspend my disbelief as I can in the best horror stories. Some of the images seemed notable only for their shock value but did not evolve naturally from the story. See below for some outstanding examples of the finest contemporary horror writing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    Very original and striking, I've never read anything quite like

    Very original and striking, I've never read anything quite like it bef ore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2014

    All time favorite!

    My all time favorite book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    Chilling

    The scariest book I have ever read. Gave me nightmares.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2013

    An enthralling book, I couldn't put it down. Everytime I thought

    An enthralling book, I couldn't put it down. Everytime I thought okay it's time to put it down a new twist would come. The ending is the ultimate shocker, you think you can guess it but you can't!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2005

    Extraordinary book that dares you to ever fall asleep again

    From the moment Frank Pollard wakes up for the first time you are held captive in the steel grip of terror. You can feel it, sitting on your shoulder as you read, something you can't control, waiting....waiting for Frank to sleep again. I loved this book!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2005

    One of his best!

    Out of the 5 Dean Koontz's books that I have read, this one is my favorite. There's never a dull moment in this book and will make you never put it down. It will make you be sure that all of your doors and locked and have something to protect your neck.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7