Customer Reviews for

The Bad Place

Average Rating 4
( 121 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

My First Dean Koontz book...im hooked!!!!!!!

So my dad got this book and he told me that Dean Koontz is a good writer, and he enjoyed some of his other books. He told me that i should read it, so i did, and i was hooked form the first page!! Dean Koontz Masterfully put this together. I love this book, i stayed ...
So my dad got this book and he told me that Dean Koontz is a good writer, and he enjoyed some of his other books. He told me that i should read it, so i did, and i was hooked form the first page!! Dean Koontz Masterfully put this together. I love this book, i stayed up until 3 in the morning reading it, and i was done with it the next day! i could not stop reading it. it was so awesome, i was actually disappointed when it was over because i wanted it to keep going. Now im hooked on Dean Koontz books. i reccomend this book to EVERYONE!!!!!!!!

posted by Anonymous on November 25, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Decent Read

Once again Dean Koontz continues to amaze with his enjoyable sci-fi thrillers. However i must say that he has definety written better. The storyline is great, the characters are very well defined, but the book is about 100 pages to long. Time must be on hand to read th...
Once again Dean Koontz continues to amaze with his enjoyable sci-fi thrillers. However i must say that he has definety written better. The storyline is great, the characters are very well defined, but the book is about 100 pages to long. Time must be on hand to read this book, and it goes slow. I do admit that the book was incredibly fast paced at the beginning but from then on it was hard to keep up. In the end i was very pleased with the read, it just took a while to get there.

posted by Anonymous on July 6, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    A page turner!!!

    If you enjoy horror books, which is what Koontz does best, you'll enjoy this.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    WOW,And I thought work was The Bad Place !

    Great book! I haven't read a Dean Koontz book in a while and after reading The Bad Place, I do have to admit I missed him. The Bad Place is even a worse place than my work and believe me, THAT IS SCARY! After reading this book, the word "candy" will never mean the same for you. You won't regret reading The Bad Place.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2004

    Great Book

    I wasn't able to put it down for a minute!! This book keeps you interested w/ all its weird twists and turns!! Its Sci-fi, Thriller, and romance all in one!! A++++++

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2004

    SPINE TINGLING STORY AND READING

    'You've got to help me find where I go at night. What in God's name am I doing when I should be sleeping?' That's the frantic cry from the tortured Frank Pollard in Dean Koontz's gripping 'The Bad Place.' Something strange, other worldly is happening to Pollard. He has found himself in an alley, not knowing how he got there. His only knowledge is his name, and that he has something to fear. Anguished and terrified Pollard can no longer sleep because when he wakes up he finds strange objects in his pockets - once, his hands were covered with blood. He turns to the husband/wife detective team of Bobby and Dakota to help him. As they probe more deeply into the nether world where Frank goes when he sleeps they too find themselves in great danger. What a frightening scenario! And it is chillingly read by Carol Cowan and Michael Hanson. These voice performers never over dramatize or use histrionics, even when this plot would easily call for major board pounding. But rather they simply read the story in alternate narrative voices, knowing that Koontz's spine tingling words are all that's needed to hold listeners in thrall. - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2000

    Teleportation problems? Call Dakota & Dakota.

    Quite an interesting book, with several connected mysteries that are gradually unraveled by the Dakota & Dakota detective team. Koontz comes up with such great, original ideas! For example, the mystery of the giant insect that excretes red diamonds was quite clever and off-the-wall at the same time. I thought the scientific explanation of the teleportation was weak, but the bizarre reclusive family was fascinating (and the svelte blond sisters titillating!). Even though they were supposed to be the heroes, the Dakota husband/wife detective team bothered me due to their unjustified brutality, and unrealistically simplistic lifetime goals. (How many people do you know would be happy the rest of their life with just a house on the beach and a vintage juke box?) However, the description of the point of view of the mentally retarded person was very clever ('wreck room,' picture poems, death analogy, etc.) and showed great insight and background research on Koontz's part. Likewise, the unscrupulous entymologists were realistic, as was the description of university administration snooping into private affairs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2000

    the bad place

    This book I recommend people to read because its scary. Frank Pollard wakes up during the night with blood on his hands,(etc.). He can't figure it out, so he hires 2 detectives (Bobby and Julie Dakota). They try to solve his problems but still can't figure it out,why this weird stuff is happening to Frank. then they figure out that he teleports in his sleep. And the journey is just starting to begin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2