Customer Reviews for

Bad Taste in Boys

Average Rating 4
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Lighthearted Zombie Tale

    Let me start by saying that Bad Taste in Boys' cover and the content do not match. The cover is great and pretty in pink with the sugar (salted?) lips. It made me think of a frothy romance chock full of high school drama. (Not usually my style, but I was down as soon as I saw the word "zombie" in the blurb...)

    Well, the content (which I also liked) was a little bit of romance and lots of high school drama, but none of it was frothy, pink or sugary. (More like bloody, red and salty.)

    Bad Taste in Boys will not tickle everyone's fancy, but it sure did mine. It's a tongue-in-cheek zombie novel that was never intended to take too seriously. At 200 pages, it's a quick and fun read that reminded me a little of John Hughes+Buffy+Jane Jones Worst. Vampire. Ever.+zombies. The key to enjoying this novel it to go along for the ride and don't ask too many questions or dig too deep. It would really be like trying to analyze Shaun of the Dead.

    So, Kate is a braniac jr. scientist that finds herself in the midst of a full-fledged zombie outbreak at her high school. She's the only one who can find a cure, save the school and try to catch a cute boy at the same time. She is smart, funny and has plenty of spunk.

    Bad Taste in Boys was a fun zombie rollick that I fully enjoyed spending my afternoon with. I noticed on Goodreads that Harris has a sequel, Bad Hair Day, coming out in November of this year and I can't wait.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    Bad Taste in Boys was everything I wanted and needed. It was a c

    Bad Taste in Boys was everything I wanted and needed. It was a cute, quick, fun read, that held my interest but didn’t force me to think too much. This book runs mainly on a high concentrate of humor mixed with some light-romance, action, and science. Although I’d place it in the paranormal category, the idea in Bad Taste in Boys is that this “zombie” epidemic is purely scientific having been of viral origins. This turns out to be a good thing because our heroine, Kate Grable, besides being known as the geeky “braid girl” is super smart, brave, and pre-pre-med. Definitely made up that last part. But I’m sure you get the gist. When this mysterious “flu” affects a significant quantity of the student body, Kate is fierce and fearless using her medical knowledge and wit to determine the symptoms, cause, and ultimately, cure.
    I instantly liked Kate, most likely because I can relate to her on that whole geek-status level. Proud Member FYI. Although she struggles in most social aspects, when it comes to her pre-pre-med learning and practicing, she’s got it together. She knows what’s she’s doing and she’s confident in her ability. As the student trainer for her school’s bad, nay horrible football team, she’s gets a lot of medical practice. Although she’s not really friends with the players she still refers to them as “her’s” which riles her up even more when they are the first to get hit with this zombie-rific wave of sickness. Kate’s extremely compassionate. Although there might be some players who she has every right to dislike *cough, cough, Mike* she still plunges forward and tries her best to help/cure everyone.

    Kate’s little brother, Jonah is a sweet yet hella-funny character. As the little brother (by a year) you expect him to be super annoying, which at times he definitely is. However, he’s also extremely caring and protective of his sister. When one of the first players start getting sick and decides to mess with Kate, Jonah jumps right in the middle. He’s willing to beat up a guy two times his size in order to protect his sister. Beside his sweet nature, he’s also got a bit of geek to him, including his mad-computer hacking skills, zed head status, and proud ownership of wearable elvish ears.

    On many levels this book is kind of cheesy but it’s a yummy kind of cheese. It’s not meant to be a deeply, philosophical book that leaves you enlightened. It’s supposed to be an funny, quirky, and entertaining ride; that which it definitely was. Although along the way Kate does have various friends and her brother helping her, when the really difficult times came she handled them on her own, splendidly. Well, except for the various parts of flesh she lost along the way…

    I really enjoyed Bad Taste in Boys because it was light-hearted and funny. Kate as the main character was extremely likable because of her witty and spunky personality. Another book is set to be released in Fall 2012 which I fully plan to read because I’m sure it’ll be just as enjoyable. So if you’re looking for a quick, fun, and funny read, Bad Taste in Boys is definitely for you. However just to be clear, this is a book about zombies and although the tone is light-hearted, there’s still a slight darker edge which includes dislocated body parts and death.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Sugar, oh, zombie, zombie, You are my zombie girl, and you got me wanting you

    I've been waiting for this debut since last year when I first stumbled upon Carrie Harris's Monster Mash of a blog that celebrates zombies like it's the new Britney Spears. Sometimes I heart an author blog, but don't find the same sparkly in their books. So I must admit that I had some concerns about liking Bad Taste In Boys. I mean, how can this book even hope to top bacon rose bouquets, lucky werewolf heels, sparkly vampires and merpires, and Princess Sparkles the Third?

    THE GOOD BITS
    {The blog is a tough act to follow - but BAD TASTE IN BOYS pulls it off!} The best way I can describe this book is a teenaged zombie movie with just the perfect balance of humor, action, and zombies. Kate is awesome - she comes across as incredibly wise beyond her years when it comes to all things scientific, but her humor and mine just coincide so well, especially in drastic situations! She was just so brainy that I don't blame the zombies for wanting a bite of her!

    {For a book with not so many pages, BAD TASTE IN BOYS sure packs a lot of excitement!} Carrie Harris introduces us to the mysterious zombie outbreak right from the start, and the story will seize you and never let go until the very end when all things go chomp. Some might complain about the inconsistencies between the various characters who turn zombies, but I actually think it created a new level of panic and confusion. Considering it is a science experiment gone wrong, why wouldn't there be different levels of progress? Why must we assume the same rapid rate of deterioration for all peoples?

    {When the zombie outbreak starts to become more widespread, I loved the various reactions and precautions that the characters had.} Most notably Kate's younger brother - he was pretty adorable and awesome! By now, I think everyone knows the basic zombie survival tactics - and I get a kick when the characters apply them to their real-life situation :) Sometimes it goes haywire, and sometimes it goes very, very right.

    THE BAD BITS
    {A little too happy of an ending and easy on the explanation?} Who can fault an author who ties up loose ends so neatly? I enjoy a well-contained story, but I wished there had been more explanation as to how we reached the zombie happily-ever-after. Kate sure seems awfully lucky in the scheme of things - and the ending seems too simple to believe. However, I didn't mind too much because I was cracking up too much :D

    THE OVERALL
    Bad Taste In Boys is a bite of zombie goodness, and I definitely recommend it for those of us who have been itching for a fun zombie YA read since Stacey Jay's Undead series. I think the sequel won't be as zombified, but I am definitey looking forward to seeing how Kate faces off the next paranormal problem!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Uh

    Is this book really good???????....i wanna read it but i dont know

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    I have to admit, it was the cover of this book that really got m

    I have to admit, it was the cover of this book that really got me wanting to read it. That is probably one of the best covers I've ever seen. And thank goodness I'm the "judge a book by it's cover" type, because this book was so much fun! And being an analytical chemist myself I LOVED that the MC was a science geek, and used her awesome brain to save the day and win the boy. Every girl who grew up a science geek wanted to save the day and win the boy!

    If you're looking for a fun, quick read with plenty of nerdy situations and a little bit of zombie body-parts-falling-off squick you've found the right book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Quick, Light, Fun Zombie Read

    Bad Taste in Boys is a fun romp through the world of zombie-dom. Kate Grable is a smart high school student who is the first to learn about the zombie epidemic and is trying to manage containing and curing the infection along with trying not to look like a dork while doing it. She has her crush to worry about. She realizes that the coach is providing unlabeled medicine to the football team and he's telling them it's vitamins, but it's got a bad side effect. A zombie side effect. Once one of the football players turns and turns on her the race is on to figure out what's going on and how she can save them. It seems she's the only one who's really paying attention and figuring this out will look great on her college applications.

    The story is a really quick, light, and easy read and I devoured it in one afternoon. I laughed out loud a few times and loved the different characters in the story. Her brother and his geeky friends with their "swords" made of PVC pipe and covered in foam are particularly entertaining and her crush, Aaron is definitely worthy of some more attention as well. I would have loved to have read more interactions with them. Kate is a smart, no-nonsense kind of a girl, perfectly suited to be a heroine. This is a girl you would want your daughter looking up to and you would want to be. She kicks some serious butt. The book has very few down moments; I never found myself bored or wanting to skip over anything. It's always entertaining and every moment pushes the story further along. If you are looking for a fun summer beach read that has a big chunk of zombies in it, this is it!

    Reviewed by Jessica for Book Sake.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A dark, entertaining story

    Kate Grable's gift is being beyond intelligent. And she is counting the days until she graduates and enters the pre-med program next year. As Kate gets ready for her big medical career, she spends her time serving as the student trainer of the worst football team in existence - Bayview High. Kate has had her own difficulties in the past. She is an epileptic but has been seizure-free for a year, and really devotes herself to taking care of sprains, bumps, and bruises, while always making sure Gatorade is available for the players. This is a team who keeps Kate very busy, seeing as that the members actually give themselves bloody noses because they trip and fall on their own fists. One day, after putting things away in the coach's office after practice, Kate finds vials of medication with blank labels and.a needle. She knows something isn't right, and is determined to find out what the medication is, and if the coach of Bayview High has actually resorted to steroids in order to get a win. Kate is surrounded by many: Her friend, Kiki, who is a buxom blonde bombshell WITH a brain; her best friend, Rocky; her brother, Jonah, who is so into cheerleaders he can barely see straight when Kiki and others like her are in the room; and, a quarterback by the name of Aaron Kingsman who Kate has a serious crush on. One night, Kate attends a party and brings her brother with her because he KNOWS the cheerleading squad will be there, Unfortunately, the party goes seriously wrong. One of the football team members is found on the floor completely contorted and absolutely dead. Even a 'Pre-Med' can spot when there's no pulse or heartbeat. But, oddly enough, the boy sits up, grabs Kate's butt, and goes right on partying. Soon there are many members of the team who are getting extremely ill; their skin is turning gray and limbs are falling off all over the place. Kate is a very down-to-earth girl, but all of a sudden she has to deal with the fact that Bayview High students are turning into flesh-eating zombies. Kate not only has to figure out why but, who's responsible, what was in those vials stashed in the coach's office, and how she can stop the boy, the brother, and the friends she loves from joining the creepy crowd. The writer has done a fantastic job of writing a truly funny - slightly, gross - book that covers the demon fascination that is so very popular in our world nowadays! It is a great deal of fun to follow along behind Kate and watch as she 'takes on' her very first medical virus.a virus that may just take her out before she ever becomes a full-fledged 'medicine woman.' Quill Says: A dark, entertaining story that will keep younger kids on the edge of their seats and older kids enthralled. They'll probably even look at their school's football team in a whole new light. Enjoy!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1