Customer Reviews for

Bad Things Happen (David Loogan Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Murder Mystery at a Mystery Magazine...

I enjoyed this book. It was a bit different from the typical murder mystery. The locale of Michigan with the possible suspects being the mystery writers at a magazine was a nice change from the stately home or the grim dark streets. The lead character was one that se...
I enjoyed this book. It was a bit different from the typical murder mystery. The locale of Michigan with the possible suspects being the mystery writers at a magazine was a nice change from the stately home or the grim dark streets. The lead character was one that seems to grow on you and makes you slowly change your opinion about him. Hopefully, Mr Dolan is writing a sequel with the same character. I'll be watching for it.

posted by ScarletSM on October 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Confusing Plot - Too Many Characters

Many people are murdered in this book - the plot is very confusing because of all of the people involved, and the twists and turns make your head spin. Many of the characters had ridiculous names also - names you would never come across in real life. The only characte...
Many people are murdered in this book - the plot is very confusing because of all of the people involved, and the twists and turns make your head spin. Many of the characters had ridiculous names also - names you would never come across in real life. The only character I really liked was Elizabeth Waishkey, the detective. Really quite annoying.

posted by Didun on September 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted February 14, 2013

    Bad Things Happen is twisty in the very best kind of way, and wi

    Bad Things Happen is twisty in the very best kind of way, and will hold your attention on every page. The story is a about an enigmatic man named David Loogan who is a new resident of Ann Arbor, Michigan and his experiences that begin with his employ at a mystery magazine. What ensues from there involves many well-drawn and interesting characters and a lot of fun. Dolan is great at describing things without being flowery or too wordy, and I liked that a lot. Dolan gives you just enough information to pique your interest, not hit you over the head with it. Personally, I read a lot of mystery/thrillers and am on average pretty good at guessing what's going to come next in a story. Dolan on the other hand, kept me guessing...and I loved it. Definitely a recommended read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2011

    Best Mystery Novel

    I'm an avid mystery reader who shies away from the mickie dees of mystery novel writers (whom shall remain nameless). Bad Things Happen moved from JUST a mystery novel and into an original literary masterpiece with twists and turns at the end of each chapter. I read the book in just shy of 48 hours. Best darn book I've ever read!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Fun Whodunnit Where Mystery Writers Take Over

    David Loogan is a mysterious sort hiding a past. He recently moved to Ann Arbor and works on a novel in his spare time. As each revision is finished he takes a printed copy to a publishing house (Grey Streets) and leaves it anonymously through a transom window over a door. One day he is found out by the Grey Street's publisher (Tom), who offers him a job as an editor. Such is the fun way that things occur in this murder mystery.

    David is enticed into an affair by Tom's wife, Laura. Not that long after David is asked by Tom to do him a "favor" and help him dispose of body. David doesn't really question Tom or make him call the police. Instead David agrees to help Tom and bury the body where it cannot be found. Shortly after people start being murdered and the police start suspecting that David is involved.

    The investigation is led by a single mother (Elizabeth) that has an attraction to David even though she knows he is hiding something. David does indeed have a checkered past, which is obvious but the question is whether David is actually bad or the victim of some bad luck in his past.

    As the bodies pile up, the main suspects seem to be those who write for Grey Streets. Elizabeth investigates them and seems to get advice from each one akin to solving a mystery in one of their books. The suspicion seems to shift from one person to the next and everything seems to be tied to a flashdrive and file box that the first victim had.

    I really liked this book and would have given it a full five stars but as the plot unfolded, some things though fun, seemed a little over the top. This is a rather fast read and a good beach novel.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Murder Mystery at a Mystery Magazine...

    I enjoyed this book. It was a bit different from the typical murder mystery. The locale of Michigan with the possible suspects being the mystery writers at a magazine was a nice change from the stately home or the grim dark streets. The lead character was one that seems to grow on you and makes you slowly change your opinion about him. Hopefully, Mr Dolan is writing a sequel with the same character. I'll be watching for it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2009

    Confusing Plot - Too Many Characters

    Many people are murdered in this book - the plot is very confusing because of all of the people involved, and the twists and turns make your head spin. Many of the characters had ridiculous names also - names you would never come across in real life. The only character I really liked was Elizabeth Waishkey, the detective. Really quite annoying.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Classic suspense. A must read for fans of the genre

    Great novel of suspense with twists and turns throughout. Half way through I found myself looking for more books by the author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Okay

    Not the best book I've ever read, but really not all that great either. Probably would not recommend it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2011

    Kept My Interest

    This is a solid read. I kept wanting a little more action, yet I found myself continuously turning the page. Many characters are introduced, but the development of each character is solid. All in all, a great read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I saw this book come to life during the first Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award and have followed Dolan's blossoming career ever since.

    He's got this genre down, with a totally entertaining read sparkling with smart, quirky wit. Have at it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Keeps You Guessing

    Off to a slow start but picks up momentum ... a really good read

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2010

    Awesome story!

    I'm not a big mystery reader but this one blew my socks off. I loved it! So many twists and turns. Really well done.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Entertaining

    I have super mixed feelings on this novel. Bad Things Happen was good enough where it held my attention and I wanted to know what was going to happen next, but something was definitely missing. I kept saying while reading that it wanted to be a Hammet novel, but it wasn't. Things are half developed a lot of the time. This is a face paced book once you get about half way through.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2009

    A Good First Effort

    I read this book through, which is a plus, considering my hectic schedule. I preferred the tone at the beginning when the hero was a mystery man. However, the complicated plot wasn't completely satisfying, and the more human the hero became, the less I liked the book. I would have preferred the initial tone throughout.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Bad Things Happen

    Harry Dolan's novel "Bad Things Happen" is a suspenseful story that begins with the purchase of a shovel which makes us wonder if the purchaser is going to bury a body. But is David Loogan, a killer or the killer. As the story unfolds we learn more about Loogan; why the mysterious past and why was he buying a shovel for his boss, Tom Kristoll, the editor of a literary magazine. Soon people connected to the magazine are being found killed, but why? Detective Liz Waishkey is trying her hardest to solve the murders. This is a mystery story with various layers of mysteries that keep the reader guessing right to the end!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    fans will enjoy Harry Dolan's fine thriller that as Vincent Price said (in Theatre of Blood) is "much ado about murder

    David Loogan lives and hides in Ann Arbor in hope of moving past a violent history that he knows he will never forget. He begins to write a short story for Gray Streets literary crime-fiction journal. Though he never finishes the project, the magazine publisher Tom Kristoll likes what he has seen. He offers David a position as an editor, which he accepts. David, Tom, and his wife Laura become friends.

    Tom obtains David's help in dumping a corpse though the former does not believe the latter's explanation. Soon afterward Tom falls to his death from his office window. AAPD Homicide Detective Elizabeth Waishkey suspects David killed Tom especially when evidence surfaces that he slept with Laura. As other people associated with Gray Streets die, single mom Elizabeth focuses even more intensely on David, who conducts his own inquiry to uncover the killer before he is on trial.

    The fun in this terrific twisting serial killer investigative tale is the writers who are intelligent and witty until they become the star of someone else's plot. The story line is fast-paced and the amateur sleuth prime suspect and the obstinate cop chasing him makes for an intriguing duel. Mindful of the movies' Theater of Blood and Murder by Death, but less hammy, fans will enjoy Harry Dolan's fine thriller that as Vincent Price said (in Theatre of Blood) is "much ado about murder".

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    Bad Things Happen by Harry Dolan

    I really enjoyed this mystery! Not a swear word that I can remember. I also thought his second novel was great. While you are waiting for Harry Dolan's third book, you might want to read "think of a Number" by John Verdon and books by Robert Wilson. Daisy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2014

    Recommend for serious who done it lovers

    In a nutshell, this mystery was way too complicated for me. I enjoyed the writing style and characters but could never have figured out who did what. As a senior of 65, I require fewer characters, fewer suspects and fewer perps. I much prefer mystery's about events and circumstances where the emphasis is on the chase instead of the who done it. I was more interested in Loogan's life than who killed who. My fault for choosing this novel to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2014

    While it did take me one month to finish this book, I wouldn┬┐t s

    While it did take me one month to finish this book, I wouldn’t say I didn’t enjoy it. Yes, I just executed a double negative (the double dribble of the writing world) for those of you who only approve of appropriate grammatical choices. But I wanted to prove and emphasize a point. And my point is that I really did enjoy BAD THINGS HAPPEN. I was appropriately amused and entertained, as I filled my life with hugs and kisses and machine guns.

    David Loogan can juggle more than just oranges, and he has more than a few tales from a previous life. Some of which we learn, and some of which Harry Dolan probably holds back. Because why should you give up all the goods on the first date, or in this case a debut novel. You may flash your six pack at the woman across the bar, or maybe it’s just a smile and wink, but you don’t know how many other fellas she’s been with. And frankly you don’t need that kind of trouble with a crazy ex-boyfriend who pounds pills like he pounds heads.

    With temptations around every corner, it’s better to start running now. Sure, the blonde looks like a winner, but she might also whack you in the head with a shovel while you sleep. Or the detective may show you a nice pair of handcuffs, but you have more than a few reservations about being held against your will.

    The dialogue proved both realistic and entertaining; the story (once I really got into it) clicked along faster than a cowboy with an itchy trigger finger; the women and men had as much potential as they had flaws; and David Loogan, along with Elizabeth Waishkey, proved interesting enough that I hope they both stick around for a while. Oh, and the writing and editing tidbits weren’t lost on me. I sucked those up faster than honey from a spoon. Otherwise, it was just another story (shrugs), but a really good and entertaining one.

    Robert Downs
    Author of Falling Immortality: Casey Holden, Private Investigator

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4