BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Bad to the Bone (WVMP Radio Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Entertaining Sequel But Not As Good As "Wicked Game"

    This book is less engaging than it's predecessor "Wicked Game". The tension is missing, and farcical parody takes the limelight. Ciara, (the protagonist), loses her self-questioning edge as a tongue-in-cheek undercover investigator with con-man skills who tracks down those responsible for pirating WVMP's broadband frequency. There's an underlying streak of ditzy thoughtlessness in everything Ciara does or feels that just seems artificial. Even when Ciara's crying in response to Shane (her vampire boyfriend), it's described in terms which are somewhat humorous when read. After Travis pulls her from a pyre and dies saving Regina, Ciara experiences only fleeting disappointment, and she capitalizes on Travis' death a few days later by maneuvering her grieving friend Lori toward David. With the exception of her new vampire dog Dexter, Ciara doesn't seem to adequately care about the relationships in her life. She puts off Shane's need for commitment, alternately denies or avoids her growing attraction to David and tries to forget her father. For the most part, she refuses to deal with her emotions and unabashedly embraces foolhardy denial. I genuinely appreciate good humor, however, the protagonist's thoughtless insincerity is not lighthearted, rather it's a bit heartless at times. Regardless of the above shortcomings, the book is an entertaining read. The references to music are fun, and the other characters are interesting. Shane and Dexter the dog are particularly well developed and realistic. Even Regina's character gains depth. Although the plot and pace initially meanders, both gain momentum near the mid-point and reach an action-packed climax.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Jeri Smith-Ready's Books are the best

    I have read everything written by Jeri and each book just gets better. The stories are about the supernatural and all have a great romance in them. They are thrillers, romantic and action packed. I have been fortunate to meet Jeri a few times and she is a fabulous person, so down to earth. I suggest reading this series and the Crow series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Jeri Rocks!!!

    A truly exciting sequel to Wicked Game, Jeri Smith-Ready is a master artist in the fantasy landscape. I couldn't put the book down until the very end. I highly recommend buying this book!!!

    5 stars and 2 thumbs up. Keep it coming Jeri!!! =)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Rockin' Urban Fantasy

    Wicked Game, the first book in the WVMP Vampires series, was one of my absolute favorite Urban Fantasy books of 2008. Waiting for Bad to the Bone to come out was torture! I needed more of these vampires (especially Shane) ASAP! The best part is that I didn't end up disappointed after all the waiting and hype I had built up for it. Each character, that Smith-Ready has created, has their own distinct personality with quirks, issues, and history. Making her vamps a taste of fresh blood in this genre where so many vampires are cookie cut outs from others.

    One of the best parts of this series is the use of music to tie the whole story together. I love music because it's always been a huge part of my life, and it's great to see someone so knowledgeable in the subject use it to make each scene better. Shane still continues to be my favorite vamp with his grungy Kurt Cobain feel, although in BTTB we get to learn more about Regina, which is great since in Wicked Game she seemed so...uptight? mean? scary? Yeah, all those things. Plus, there is the way cool addition of a vampire dog. Ciara is still trying to figure out her relationship with Shane, and they definitely take some steps in a direction, I guess we'll see if that direction ends up being bad or good in the future! All I know is that it's great to have a heroine that's NOT a vampire slayer, monster hunter, idiot, or all of the above!

    Bad to the Bone is a fantastic second book, and now sadly I must wait until 2010 for book three (no title yet). If you have not read Wicked Game and are a fan of the genre I don't know what you're waiting for! You are in luck as WG was just released in mass market paperback!

    You can also visit Jeri on her website for short stories about the characters, play lists, quizzes, ways to get signed book plates for your books, and her always entertaining blog! She even has an a website for WVMP Radio with merchandise!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Jeri Smith-Ready lampoons urban fantasy taking a humorous bite out of the sub-genre

    In Maryland Ciara Griffin pretends to be the late owner Elizabeth of the vampire run radio station WVMP so she and her cohorts of vamps can keep working. In spite of the difficulty of the masquerade, Ciara feels upbeat as things are going well with her significant other vampire.---------

    However, their special Halloween show is devastated by the Family Action Network (FAN) who steals their signal broadcasting an anti-vampire tirade. Irate Ciara and her cohorts including Dexter the vampire canine sneak into the FAN base of operations to bring the bite to the enemy. ---------------------

    The sequel to the brilliantly wacky WICKED GAME still has the vampires remain stuck in a time warp leading to quite a variety in the music played at WVMP, the "lifeblood of rock and roll". Ciara, though claiming she is a reformed con artist, is pulling off quite a sham pretending to be the dead owner. Amusing and as wacky as its predecessor, this time the vamps with a blood thirsty canine are at war with their FAN enemy as Jeri Smith-Ready lampoons urban fantasy taking a humorous bite out of the sub-genre.------------

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Angieville: BAD TO THE BONE

    Reading WICKED GAME was definitely a highlight of my summer reading last year. It easily made my Best of 2008 list and I've been looking forward to the sequel ever since. Ciara's life has changed just a little bit since she first came to WVMP as a part-time marketing intern. She is now, for all intents and purposes, the station owner. What that means is she is on the clock 24/7 taking care of her little flock of vampire DJs, spinning PR as the vamps spin the tunes that are their lifeblood. She's working towards her degree, taking night classes at the local community college. She is also in an increasingly serious relationship with Shane McCallister--the station's resident 90's grunge rock expert. When a group of anti-undead religious fanatics comes to town determined to stop the signal, dismantle the station, and destroy the vamps for good, Ciara and the gang refuse to go gently into that good night.

    This series is just so entertaining. I can honestly say I went in not knowing what to expect plotwise, and I finished it feeling like Ms. Smith-Ready took everything and everyone in exactly the direction they needed to go. I felt thoroughly satisfied and, more importantly, I cared about each of them more than before. Even Regina. Though Jim still scares the crap out of me and Shane should not let him anywhere near Ciara ever again no matter what kind of lousy shape he's in. I continue to be extremely fond of Ciara and so it was both heartbreaking and extremely gratifying to watch her deal with her manipulative, ne'er do well father, her growing feelings for Shane, a new undead pet, and finding herself suddenly homeless. And I do have to say that, within the larger UF world, it's nice to find one without a love triangle. I love reading about Ciara and Shane. They're flawed, messed up, in danger of going off the deep end in more ways than one. And despite all of this, they treat each other carefully. How often do you read about a human/vampire couple in which the vampire is the more vulnerable of the two? She takes care of him. She keeps him tethered to the here and now. It's freaking awesome. The good news? Pocket Books bought two more books in this series. The third one will be out sometime next year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2