Customer Reviews for

Bag of Bones

Average Rating 4.5
( 538 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(324)

4 Star

(123)

3 Star

(63)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

My all-time favorite

This is my absolute favorite book EVER!! I totally fell in love with the characters and missed them when I was finished with the book. I have read 15 SK novels and this is the only one that gave me trouble sleeping. SK is the only author I know who can mix a love story ...
This is my absolute favorite book EVER!! I totally fell in love with the characters and missed them when I was finished with the book. I have read 15 SK novels and this is the only one that gave me trouble sleeping. SK is the only author I know who can mix a love story into a horror story, add a few racy and explicit sex scenes (as is his style)and wind up with one spectacluar novel!! For those of you who think SK only does horror... READ THIS BOOK!

posted by Mamajenns3 on December 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

27 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

Bag of Bones is a great read--until the very end.

I am, by no means, a Stephen King fan. I don't dislike him necessarily, but he's not my favorite by far. I had read one his older novels, and quite a lot of his short stories, but I could never really get into them in the way I got into other books, or other authors. It...
I am, by no means, a Stephen King fan. I don't dislike him necessarily, but he's not my favorite by far. I had read one his older novels, and quite a lot of his short stories, but I could never really get into them in the way I got into other books, or other authors. It's his style. I guess with him there's this very weighty palpable air of: "I'm a writer! Are you enjoying my writing?! These words, that I'm writing to you, dear reader?!" Understand, I don't mean this is in the sense that he's arrogant, or pretentious at all, it's just to me, that seems to be his style of writing, and the connection that he feels between himself, being the writer, and his readers, is strong--one in which it seems that he's perpetually aware that he's writing TO someone. And it shows--that attitude manifests itself at the output of his novels and short stories-and that's a good thing, it really is. It's a good attitude to have, if I'm reading him, right. Just not so much for me, personally.
So, when I was given Bag of Bones to read, I wasn't sure if I would even be able to get into it.
I was dead wrong.
I read this book-529 pages-in roughly four sittings. I seriously couldn't put it down, and, at first, I had no idea why. King's aforementioned style is still there, he didn't abandon it for this one, but for some reason it just worked for me in this context. I realized that the hilariously obsessive tone that King gave to Mike Noonan, the main character, is a huge reason why I was so absorbed in his story. Every little thought that ever crosses Mike's mind is dragged out of his head and painted onto the page for us to read-no matter how irreverent, heartbreaking, wonderful, vulnerable or premature those thoughts may be. There were quite a few moments during my reading, that I actually laughed out loud by one of Noonan's quick, jarringly wry comments-one time in which I had to close the book until I could gather myself enough to open the book and move on. That doesn't happen to me. Ever. Mike Noonan is a real person, and despite Mike Noonan's intelligence, and highly successful life, in his mind, he's an everyman. Mike Noonan is an incredibly round character, bursting with life. So much so, that you literally feel what he feels, as he's feeling it. Mike is real, and he feels alive, as do all the other characters in the book-no matter how small their role. Everyone is believable, and almost nothing is left to the imagination-right down to mannerisms, gait, and accents. Everything is fleshed out ad nauseum, at times, and the book is better for it.
To me, the third act, or whatever you want to call it, suffers the way most Stephen King's stories suffer. And it makes sense, I guess, when you think about it, considering his stories do follow a certain formula. Stephen is one of the best at setting up a story, and leaving tension. It's when King tries to resolve it, that we run into trouble. I just don't think he's very good at writing action-or at least I'm not fond of the way he writes action. Maybe it's because of the fact that he is so formulaic, that he's just naturally better at telling what could be there, instead of telling you what is there. The ending to Bag of Bones is a stupid lumbering mess, and really isn't that scary..just weird.
But then, the epilogue seems to bring things back home, and all is right again with a story that you'll have grown to love.
So, do I recommend this story? Absolutely. I think it's one of the best novels I've read.

posted by Corey_Andreas on September 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 123 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2000

    Chilling and Beautiful at the Same Time-- Is This Really King?

    There are very few books I've read more than once. VERY few. This is one of them. I loved it because it's so very King, but more. I hadn't read King in years before I picked up this book, but when I did, I remembered why I used to love his books so much. It's both down-to-earth and ethereal enough to make you look over your shoulder every once in a while, and the trademark King sarcasm is still there. It's a hauntingly beautiful book-- I'll read it again, I'm sure-- once I get it back from my co-worker!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2010

    Still loving Stephen King

    I have been a Stephen King fan since childhood. Bag of Bones is another great book that delivers everything you would expect from the author. The story line is fabulous with a ton of unexpected twists and turns. Just when you think you know what is coming, it turns and it is something else completely. This book is another late night page turner keeping you up at night and filling your dreams with suspense once asleep!!! The characters are entertaining as well as intriguing as always. He sets the scene beautifully which draws you right in!!!! Do yourself a favor and go out and pick up this book, you won't be disappointed!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Reader

    King at his best..beautifully written..wonderful characters...first time King ever made me cry

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Bag of Bones

    Really liked this book. You can never go wrong with King.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Something for everyone

    This is a very fine king book, and ive read many of them. A brilliant mix of a love/ghost story with enough memorable characters and suspense to keep you reading late into the night. If you saw the film version and were let down (as i was) dont let that ruin the novel for you. One of kings best. Period.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Good read..

    It took a bit to really get into the book however; after a few chapters, i couldn't put it down!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    Excellent

    Keeps u interested and wanting more....aplesant surprise better than i thought it would be

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    King is "KING"

    Great read. Hooked from the beginning, bit slow in the middle but then it's hard to put down. Classic Stephen King.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Couldnt put it down

    Great book. Kept me wanting to turn the page. Some of the ending parts were nard tobread through but I, like others find the subject matter ( dont want to ruin it for others) hard to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    A Good Read!

    First I saw the TV movie, then read the book. It's worth reading. Any fan of Stephen King should enjoy reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Better than the movie

    I watched about 2/3 of the movie and decided to read the book instead. I'm glad I did. The book starts out somewhat slowly but the tension really picks up and you won't want to put the book down. I'm a little too old now to appreciate the supernatural ending, but reading the epilogue saved the book for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Good story

    One of Kings best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Love this

    With all the hype about the movie, I still stongly recommend the book! Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    Warning: this book is a cliffhanger!!

    I absolutely love this book so far! It is suspenseful, sexy, and just confusing enough to keep you intrigued.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Really Enjoyed This Book

    I love reading Stephen King because even when I think I have it figured out, something is sure to change. It was a good book, but I read it before watching the A&E movie and should say don't bother watching that it was horrible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    Great read, but ...

    Started out r e a l l y s l o w, but when it picked up, boy did it pick up! But what happened to the private eye in the front yard, the guy with the shattered ankle that we last saw in the trailer and what of Footman??? Did they die in the hail storm or get taken out by the martians? Couda ended better, but all in all, it was a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A good read for a scare

    This was a good read though I was scared a little because I do believe in ghosts, good and bad. Both are at work here to make Mike Noonan find the history of Sarha Laughs, his home on a Maine Lake.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    Stephen King at his best

    Stephen King's Bag of Bones is a very complex, exciting novel. The setting is spellbinding and the plot keeps you guessing until the end. Max Devore is a perfect villian, he has appeared in my nightmares. This book kept me wide awake and night, and gave me goosebumps. King is a master of suspense. I reccomendd this book to any one who likes scary stories or is a fan of Stephen King.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Creepy

    Four years after the tragic death of his wife, Mike Noonan has returned his lakeside home, Sara Laughs. He doesn't know why he feels that he needs to be here but he knows that he is supposed to be here. Sara Laughs is haunted by several spirits, some good, and some evil. Mike has also discovered that his wife, Johanna, had been making secret visits to Sara Laughs. These visits had illicit some harsh feelings among the locals who want their secrets dead and buried. When Mike enters the life of Mattie and her daughter Kyra, he realizes why he has been brought here and the truth of his past could bring destruction to Kyra who is the granddaughter of Max Devore, a ruthless evil man who will not stop until he has what he wants.

    King is truly masterful when it comes to crafting his villains. He can make them so creepy that it is discomforting to read at times. Bag of Bones millionaire Max Devore and is evil daughter are a prime example of this. The scene where they are bullying Mike made me fear for his life and I was urging Mike to swim faster, get away from them!! For a book to incite those kind of reactions in me is a great read in my opinion. Another favorite attribute of King is the storytelling. His descriptions are vivid enough that it is like a movie reeling through my mind.

    The beginning of the book was a little slow for me but when we move to four years after the death of Mike's wife and his return to Sara Laughs the story flows effortlessly all the ways to the dramatic conclusion. Definitely recommended for fans of Stephen King and the horror genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 123 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7