Customer Reviews for

Bag of Bones

Average Rating 4.5
( 547 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(330)

4 Star

(125)

3 Star

(63)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

My all-time favorite

This is my absolute favorite book EVER!! I totally fell in love with the characters and missed them when I was finished with the book. I have read 15 SK novels and this is the only one that gave me trouble sleeping. SK is the only author I know who can mix a love story ...
This is my absolute favorite book EVER!! I totally fell in love with the characters and missed them when I was finished with the book. I have read 15 SK novels and this is the only one that gave me trouble sleeping. SK is the only author I know who can mix a love story into a horror story, add a few racy and explicit sex scenes (as is his style)and wind up with one spectacluar novel!! For those of you who think SK only does horror... READ THIS BOOK!

posted by Mamajenns3 on December 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

28 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

Bag of Bones is a great read--until the very end.

I am, by no means, a Stephen King fan. I don't dislike him necessarily, but he's not my favorite by far. I had read one his older novels, and quite a lot of his short stories, but I could never really get into them in the way I got into other books, or other authors. It...
I am, by no means, a Stephen King fan. I don't dislike him necessarily, but he's not my favorite by far. I had read one his older novels, and quite a lot of his short stories, but I could never really get into them in the way I got into other books, or other authors. It's his style. I guess with him there's this very weighty palpable air of: "I'm a writer! Are you enjoying my writing?! These words, that I'm writing to you, dear reader?!" Understand, I don't mean this is in the sense that he's arrogant, or pretentious at all, it's just to me, that seems to be his style of writing, and the connection that he feels between himself, being the writer, and his readers, is strong--one in which it seems that he's perpetually aware that he's writing TO someone. And it shows--that attitude manifests itself at the output of his novels and short stories-and that's a good thing, it really is. It's a good attitude to have, if I'm reading him, right. Just not so much for me, personally.
So, when I was given Bag of Bones to read, I wasn't sure if I would even be able to get into it.
I was dead wrong.
I read this book-529 pages-in roughly four sittings. I seriously couldn't put it down, and, at first, I had no idea why. King's aforementioned style is still there, he didn't abandon it for this one, but for some reason it just worked for me in this context. I realized that the hilariously obsessive tone that King gave to Mike Noonan, the main character, is a huge reason why I was so absorbed in his story. Every little thought that ever crosses Mike's mind is dragged out of his head and painted onto the page for us to read-no matter how irreverent, heartbreaking, wonderful, vulnerable or premature those thoughts may be. There were quite a few moments during my reading, that I actually laughed out loud by one of Noonan's quick, jarringly wry comments-one time in which I had to close the book until I could gather myself enough to open the book and move on. That doesn't happen to me. Ever. Mike Noonan is a real person, and despite Mike Noonan's intelligence, and highly successful life, in his mind, he's an everyman. Mike Noonan is an incredibly round character, bursting with life. So much so, that you literally feel what he feels, as he's feeling it. Mike is real, and he feels alive, as do all the other characters in the book-no matter how small their role. Everyone is believable, and almost nothing is left to the imagination-right down to mannerisms, gait, and accents. Everything is fleshed out ad nauseum, at times, and the book is better for it.
To me, the third act, or whatever you want to call it, suffers the way most Stephen King's stories suffer. And it makes sense, I guess, when you think about it, considering his stories do follow a certain formula. Stephen is one of the best at setting up a story, and leaving tension. It's when King tries to resolve it, that we run into trouble. I just don't think he's very good at writing action-or at least I'm not fond of the way he writes action. Maybe it's because of the fact that he is so formulaic, that he's just naturally better at telling what could be there, instead of telling you what is there. The ending to Bag of Bones is a stupid lumbering mess, and really isn't that scary..just weird.
But then, the epilogue seems to bring things back home, and all is right again with a story that you'll have grown to love.
So, do I recommend this story? Absolutely. I think it's one of the best novels I've read.

posted by Corey_Andreas on September 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 330 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 17
  • Posted December 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    My all-time favorite

    This is my absolute favorite book EVER!! I totally fell in love with the characters and missed them when I was finished with the book. I have read 15 SK novels and this is the only one that gave me trouble sleeping. SK is the only author I know who can mix a love story into a horror story, add a few racy and explicit sex scenes (as is his style)and wind up with one spectacluar novel!! For those of you who think SK only does horror... READ THIS BOOK!

    17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    I enjoyed reading this book. Very suspenseful. one of the best of S.King

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2012

    If you liked The Shining you will like Bag of Bones even more.

    In my opinion King writes best when he writes in the first person narrative. Bag of Bones may be the best example of this.

    This is as much a story of a loving marriage as it is a ghost story. The details of the relationship between Mike and Jo Noonan add a level of believability to this story that only intensifies the horrors that are revealed. Interspaced with this rich and detailed view of lives lived by two people King inserts doubts and creeping dread and suspense, along with a few writing tricks and gimmicks that tease the reader into saying, “Why didn’t I see that?”

    I do not consider Bag of Bones to be Kings master piece, but I do consider it to be the work of a master story teller and is easily in Kings top three. This story will grab you on page one, and it won‘t let you go till the last page. You won’t like everything that happens. But, that just adds to the realism of the story.

    I give it 5 stars.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    just as good as his older novels

    this is my first introduction to *new-er* King. I've read his older novels and "The Stand" is actually one of my favorite books. I've heard that people don't realy like the newer novels because I guess they feel he's "lost his edge". I don't feel this way. "Bag of Bones" was amazing on so many levels. There of course is a sense of terror with all of the ghosts and the dark history at Sara Laughs. But at its core, it is a love story. While I haven't read any other newer novels, I am very impressed with this novel and will continue to read more recent novels by King. I highly reccommend this novel!!!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    If you are a Stephen King fan, you will love this. It's the old Stephen King again as in Salem's Lot. Loved the characters and didn't want the book to end! Scary. Riveting. Touching. Great read!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Amazing.

    What a gorgeous haunted love story. About as romantic as Stephen King will ever get. :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Way better than the movie

    Read this because i liked the movie and the book was 10X better!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    SPELLBINDING!!

    What can I say? Stephen King is the master of horror and suspense. This novel lived up to my expectations and more. Keeps you glued to the pages even after you know you have to get some sleep. Awesome read!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2009

    my favorite King book by far.

    I am a Huge Stephen King fan. When I enter a B&N or any bookstore, I always go straight to where the King novels are. I've a read numerous novels by King and can fairly say that Bag of Bones is my all time favorite. I honestly might have to read it again! If you love King's amazing sense of imagination and the crazy twists he puts on his stories then this is definetly a fantastic book to read. I would read it every night before I went to sleep and it honestly made me feel somewhat uneasy. The image he portrays with Sara Laughs is a clear one that you can find on the back roads of any lakeside community.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2015

    Bag of Bones by Steven King

    One of his very best. I've read about 80% of his books. L Paul

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    A Must

    Stephen King's usual standard has been carried on. Excellent listening.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Terrific!

    Great ghost story. Way better than the A&E movie. I love Stephen King!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2006

    GRATE BAG OF BONES

    This book starts out with a woman goes to the pharmacy. Out side there is a bad car accedent. Cars are piled up every where. The woman dies and her husband is very sad. He sits at home and crys. He tells of the stories of him and his wife. Don't take my word for it, read it your self!!! I like this book because its kind of scary.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2015

    Scared again

    This book will have you jumping at noises and sleeping with the light on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2014

    King at his best. Horror as only he can do it.

    A slow gradual climb to terror so intense that I could not go on reading and yet suspense that had me so strongly I could not stop reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2014

    Great story, well written.  This book broke new ground for King

    Great story, well written.  This book broke new ground for King but kept the elements so many of his fans enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2014

    Loved it

    Not what I was expecting from the title... and I loved that!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    Best Book ever!

    Wow i read this in one day and one night finished ir around 3am and i was so scared i conldnt go to sleep! BEST BOOK EVER WORTH THE READ!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    King Does It Again!

    Another great novel by Stephen King. Set in a small lake town near King's famous "Derry, Maine", King's explores the horrors of the cursed "Dark Score Lake" as well as the Jazz Age legend which accompanies it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Must Read!!

    I could not put it down, a major stay up late book. Lots of twists and turns you didn't see coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 330 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 17