Customer Reviews for

Bah, Humbug! (A Romantic Comedy Christmas Novella)

Average Rating 4
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 1, 2013

    This book is described as PG rated fun, and I would have to agre

    This book is described as PG rated fun, and I would have to agree. It was a very short, quick read about an up and coming TV star changing her neighbor's outlook on Christmas... and love. Her neighbor also happens to be a famous author whose books she loves reading with her kids.

    I laughed out loud when Kyle mutilated Lexi's snowman for the sake of "research" for his book. It is totally something that I would do. I always get so caught up in whatever I am working on that I forget that someone might not appreciate me beheading their snowman to see if a gun could fit inside.

    This short story was super cute and perfect for the holidays. Plus it was free, so who can complain about that? There were a few typos and other little things that made me give it four stars instead of five.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2012

    Perfect Christmas Book

    I enjoyed reading this book. It was surly, funny, and crazy. It had everything Christmas really has....children, surly neighbors (or family), the perfect hostess (not me) and ROMANCE. Good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    A wonderful, entertaining romantic comedy!

    I totally enjoyed the entire book. The characters were likeable and I loved the story line. It made me smile and laugh all the way thru. Sweet, hilarious and heartwarming. Five stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    Good book a little problematic.

    The book us good. The problem is page 102 is repeated about 25 times! It's frustrating.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2014

    Only a short read of close to 96 pages, this was a delightful no

    Only a short read of close to 96 pages, this was a delightful novella and I whole -heartedly enjoyed reading it.   The characters were easy to relate to and the story flowed smoothly.    The only thing I wasn't too fond of was the instant love between the characters.




    Lexi was a lover of Holidays and with two children, she certainly had the incentive to decorate and party in the spirit of said holiday.   Kyle, was an old scrooge at 30 something...never decorating his yard and certainly not his house.   The spirit of Christmas had been buried in his soul, many years ago.




    Lexi had accepted his kindness in exchange for her help with decorating his  yard for the first time ever and hostessing his family's Christmas gathering.   Her expertise, her joy, her children, and a bit of Christmas magic,   and the man with the hardened heart couldn't help but accept the beginnings of healing, along with his two brothers and their Irish father.




    It was a great story of healing and joy and Love.   Being short, I highly recommend it for the busy holiday season!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

     

     

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    If you love romantice comedies...

    This is the story for you. It's a novella, so it's a quick read. But it's so much fun, you'll probably finish it in no time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Cute, clean, romantic This is a quick, fun read.  It has some u

    Cute, clean, romantic

    This is a quick, fun read.  It has some unrealistic aspects, but that is also what makes it fun.

    Warnings: None

    I would let my 15 year old read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2013

    Lexi is divorced with two children and has a decorating show on

    Lexi is divorced with two children and has a decorating show on TV.  She buys a house on Christmas Street and moves in just before Christmas.  Lexi immediately decorates for the holiday, both inside and out.  One of her decorations is a snowman which she builds on the property line between her and her new neighbor.  Kyle is a famous author and her neighbor.  Lexi first meets him when he is taking the head off her snowman, but she doesn't know who he is - just a snowman murderer.  Kyle is pretty grumpy and doesn't like Christmas - or almost anything.




    Kyle's brothers remind him that it is his turn to host their family Christmas but he says he can't because he is on a deadline. This is a very difficult time of year for Kyle's family because their mother passed away on Christmas Eve over twenty years earlier. Finally, Lexi and Kyle meet for real and Lexi makes a deal with Kyle that if he will go to her son's birthday party, she will handle all the Christmas decorating and meals for Kyle's family's Christmas festivities.




    I loved this book and didn't want to put down. I thought the writing was really good and the characters were wonderfully written.  Even though Kyle wasn't likable at the beginning, he turned out to be a good guy.  Even Lexi loosened up as the story progressed.  The author did a great job with having a lot happen in such a short story and a short time frame. 




    This was a great, quick Christmas read and I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    Kyle Miller is a best-selling author of children¿s mysteries. Fo

    Kyle Miller is a best-selling author of children’s mysteries. For the first time in his career, he has writer’s block. Nothing is more important to him than his writing career, and he hates Christmas. He is the Grinch of Christmas Street (this is the actual name of the street he lives – dumb, huh?)

    Then, one day, a snowman gives him an idea for his story. Incidentally, he ends up destroying it, not knowing that it belonged to his attractive, new neighbor. Lexi couldn’t believe that she lived next door to Kyle Miller, her kids’ favorite author. She also didn’t realize how rude he could be. Yes, he was also handsome, but she doesn’t need another man. She should stick with her mantra: “Safe, secure, and single.”

    If Lexi was the new Martha Stewart, then you don’t want her anywhere near your house on holidays. She’d make everything into a decoration. I don’t know why Kyle let her talk him into it. And $500 for Christmas decorations!? Are you kidding me? And all for a woman? Could Kyle be any stupid?

    And Lexi thinking she can “bring a family together at Christmas”? Phooey!

    Overall, this was a nice, clean romance. It was like any Hallmark movie special…at Christmas. Bah, Humbug!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    I just finished reading this story and just had to give it a rev

    I just finished reading this story and just had to give it a review. It is funny, cute and a great short read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Bah this was a Humbug

    Bah Humbug!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I'd give it 0 stars if i could

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    Short & Sweet

    I liked this book. Even though it was short, it was a good read for the holiday. It was the first time I'd read anything by this author but I would try her again based on this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    Cute story with a somewhat surprising ending

    Fun quick read for the holiday break!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Cuest holiday read

    I really enjoyed this.. it got me in the holiday spirit



    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Amazon

    I want to read this book... but why does it cost money. I have a friend, and she has the Kindle, and on the Amazon Book Store this book is free.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Comparable to Harlequin

    Girl meets boy, girl hates boy, they fall in love. Pretty predictable romance story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    This is soo fun!

    I love this book. great characters and a wonderful story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Loved it

    Was over too soon, but great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Cute book, quick read

    Super cute quick read! I needed a "light and fluffy" read between deep stories, and this was perfect! Will look for more of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2