Customer Reviews for

Bait of Satan: Living Free from the Deadly Trap of Offense

Average Rating 4.5
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Bait of Satan

    One of the most inspirational books i have ever read dealing with one of the hardest things for people to do! Forgive each other! John Bevere breaks down the great sacrifice God made by sending his son as an example for everyone to live by. He deals with the damage that holding on to unforgiveness can cause and why you need Jesus to set you free!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2008

    A reviewer

    A friend suggested I read this book after coming out of a 'bad' relationship. 'The Bait of Satan' made me realize that the things that I thought I had been delivered from were still looming over my happiness, like a black cloud. Now I realize that 'I was my own worse enemy in EVERY relationship I have ever entered.' This book is a 'must read' for anyone in a relationship, good or bad.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2009

    Happy 10th Anniversary

    I purchases the original book back in 1998, when I was stationed in Iceland. It changed my life. I still have it and "How You Can Shut The Devil's Door. I pray that Bro. Bevere brings this one back inprint as well.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Great Book

    It is a great book. I really like it. It helps with letting go of an offence and how to not take it too hard. It gives you Godly instrution with Bible stories and lots more. Ths only things that I dont like is how long the chapter is. If you mostly read at night and you get this book, try to read it during the day because your eyes will hurt reading it at night. If you mostly read during the day, then you are OK. This is a great book for learning the bait of satan and how it works. You get a lot of information just in one chapter. Deffenatly buy this book, we need more people to read this book..it will make the world a better place.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2004

    Very enlightening

    This book has greatly helped me in dealing with offense in my life. I am no longer bound by what others have done to me. Instead, I am free to experience God's will for my life in the fullest. I recommend this to anyone who is dealing with being offended and not sure what to do about it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    John Bevere's book, the Bait of Satan, fulfills two important pu

    John Bevere's book, the Bait of Satan, fulfills two important purposes: firstly it exposes the deadly spiritual impact of offense and secondly, the clarification of divisive biblical doctrines concerning how salvation can be lost as well as the role of spiritual gifts. This book is like an advanced spirituality course for those who are seeking deeper spiritual food and truth. This book goes way beyond introductory spiritual milk and as the author mentioned- the message of this may in fact be offensive to some readers as it may challenge deep seated biases and misconceptions.

    The sensational, eye opening title may sound dramatic, but it is in fact biblically accurate. The act of becoming offended is not only very common among believers, but it an overlooked sin. It happens in just about everyone's life and in churches too! When a believer is offended, or harbors a grudge, or is angry at somebody else, this desire can lead to a spiritual separation from God, and God's ultimate plan.

    This empowering book not only convicts the reader but offers comfort. For anyone going through an injustice or grief, or anyone who has ever been hurt, wronged, or harbored feelings of jealousy, envy or revenge this book will sooth your spirit and offer biblical comfort. Bevere's writing brings to focus an especially powerful and comforting point that "No man, woman, child or devil can ever get you out of the will of God" page 191. This truth alone, can give the reader the spiritual energy to persevere. It is powerful enough to quell any pity party, self pity or defeatist attitude. Using the examples from Old Testament heros such as Joseph, who was sold into slavery by his jealous brothers, and King David, who refused to take seek revenge or justice in his own hands, Bevere systematically explains how it is biblical that we leave vengeance and justice in God's capable hands. Not only that, but this important spiritual message relieves a great burden from any weary reader who faces a dilemma of whether to avenge himself even if he feels justified. It is especially comforting to know that God's will cant be thwarted or foiled by other people's actions unless we allow it. It is empowering to know that even in the worst times when our situation seems hepless, that we do have a choice.

    This book raises some important theological issues. Firstly, the author asserts that salvation may be lost and cites some biblical passages that he believes supports the idea that a believer can possibly lose his salvation. He refutes the ideas of once saved always saved as well as the validity of the concept if the "sinner's prayer" that many Christians are accustomed. Secondly, the author accepts without reservation, that all believers can have the spiritual gift of speaking in tongues. Without going into any background details of this spiritual gift, he simply mentions a brief anecdote that implies that each and every Christian can have the gift of tongues and that the gift of tongues is a proof of having the Holy Spirit. Bevere makes a distinction between salvation, maintaining salvation and having the Holy Spirit. Thirdly, the book makes an implication that chronic or serious illness such as cancer or diabetes may be in part due to unresolved anger, bitterness or resentment.

    I first read this book when the first edition was published. This newest anniversary addition includes an extensive devotional supplement as well as endorsements from actual readers who have been helped by this book. The cover is unassuming and a bit generic; I feel it does not do this life changing book justice. Additionally, the physical dimensions of this book shrunk to a small scale pocket sized book. The font is extremely tiny and may be difficult for some older readers to read. I believe these printing decisions to make this book smaller, were made in an effort to reduce the production costs of the book in order to make it more widely available to more readers.

    I recommend this book to all bible believing Christians. This powerful book challenges the reader to look within himself and to respond based on biblical truth when faced with injustice and hurts. As a blogger for the Booketeria, I received this book published by Charisma House for the purpose of writing this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    This book was excellent! I think every believer should read this

    This book was excellent! I think every believer should read this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    It makes me feel better about myself. Highly recommended.

    This book males me feel so much better. Just knowing that someone is out there and thinks like this males me feel so much better about myself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Bait of satan

    Powerful insghtful and humbling

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Great Book

    I read the sample and it was great! It was great how it talked about how the bait of Satan was through offense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Awesome

    unforgiveness is about setting a prisoner free and that prisoner is US ..break free from the trap of the enemy....GREAT BOOK ALL BELIEVER SHOULD READ

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    A Must Read!!!

    This book is awesome and worth every dime you spend on it. It will hook you the moment you start reading it .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2011

    Excellent book on true forgiveness.

    Helps you understand the true concept of forgiveness from God's perspective.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    Highly recommended!!!!

    Excellent book. It will definitely open your eyes to offenses and help you to defeat the plans of the enemy to keep you offended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    A Must Read!

    This book was life-changing and amazing. I didn't think any book could make me rethink my every day life, but this was a moment-by-moment change. I am reading it for the second time, learning new things. I have a feeling this is a book I will be re-reading many times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2001

    The Poisonous Effects of Receiving Offenses

    This book was required reading for a leadership class I took. I was very impressed with the author's style of writing in ease of readability while conveying essential discernment for the believer in Christ concerning offenses. Mr. Bevere exposes the devil's schemes that too often immobilize the Christian to bring defeat. I was so affected by Mr. Bevere's revelations that I read his other books unraveling Satan's tactics. Per my reqest, THE DEVIL'S DOOR by this author was required reading for completion of the class as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3