Customer Reviews for

The Baker's Daughter

Average Rating 4.5
( 97 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Elsie and Reba are from different countries and different decade

Elsie and Reba are from different countries and different decades. But their lives come together when they need each other. Reba comes to interview Elsie about a German Christmas. The warmth of the bakery and possibly the people keep her coming back. This is the story o...
Elsie and Reba are from different countries and different decades. But their lives come together when they need each other. Reba comes to interview Elsie about a German Christmas. The warmth of the bakery and possibly the people keep her coming back. This is the story of both women and the blessings they chose to pursue.

Someone said this book was like Sarah's Key. It IS about Germany during the war and a little boy hidden in the wall. But that is where the similarity ends. This story takes the horrendous parts of war and blends it with the gems of beauty that live in every person. The story will draw you in and give you a glimpse into reality for Germans during the war.
Life can be terrible. It's up to us to grasp the beauty and show it to others.
This story tugged at my heartstrings. It made me smile, cry and be thankful for the beautiful world that I live in. It's a book I'll definitely be recommending to my friends.

I received this book free of charge from Edelweiss in exchange for my honest review.

posted by tmurrell2 on April 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Before you go and buy this book, please read my review and save yourself some money.

I came across this book on the Barnes & Noble website. I was looking for a good story and when I read the reviews about this book, I was thrilled, thinking how much I enjoyed "Those who save us" which also involved the Holocost and a bakery.

I really wanted to lov...
I came across this book on the Barnes & Noble website. I was looking for a good story and when I read the reviews about this book, I was thrilled, thinking how much I enjoyed "Those who save us" which also involved the Holocost and a bakery.

I really wanted to love this book. I read all sorts of reviews about it on line and they all were so positive that I thought I'd come across a real gem.

I have about 50 pages left to go and unless dramatic events occur in these 50 pages, I'm beyond disappointed. When I read a well-written novel, the characters come alive for me and their words practically jump off the pages. Not so with this book. It feels like the author is going on and on and on, going back and forth between a modern day El Paso and a 1940-1945 town in Germany. I like stories that do that. However, even the names of the characters... Reba, Niki, Jane, Else, Mutti...couldn't she have tossed in a name with more than four letters ... oh yeah, there's also Dee Dee. Come on give us a little variety here. Put some meat into their stories because the availability of meat is sure there. What's all this with Jane talking to the neighbor's dog and then she suddenly drinks too much wine and finds herself in bed with him. Like really ... in real life how many times do you think that's going to happen. Now back in Germany, Else, just happens to fall for her American doctor who's treating her for a miscarriage. Of course he's tall, dark, and handsome with a "strong jaw". Sappy is the only word that comes to my mind. If the author intended Reba to be a dynamic character, she didn't succeed. With 50 pages to go, I still can't picture her Reba in my mind. I keep getting Reba confused with her boyfriend, Niki, and vice versa. It just throws me off a little and then I realize who she means. I hope this little boy Else was hiding in her room comes back in the story again because otherwise the other has just set us up to care about him for nothing. We'll see. The only two things I liked in "The Baker's Daughter" are (1)the front cover of the jacket ... love the reddish hat ... and all the breads, rolls, cakes they make at the bakery make your mouth water. The end is near and I'm determined to finish it. I hope this helps somebody.

posted by jllfromnewyork on February 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    The Baker's Daughter is the story of Elsie Schmidt, the teenage

    The Baker's Daughter is the story of Elsie Schmidt, the teenage daughter of the local baker in a small German town during the end of World War II. The novel flashes from the present day where Elsie is living in Texas in her eighties and the time when she was a teenager. Also in this tale is the story of Reba Adams, a freelance journalist, who becomes a part of Elsie's story as she does background on a article she is writing on Christmas around the world.
    The is a dark novel in tone and depth and without much relief. But you will be drawn into it as the courage and strenght of Elsie flows through the pages until it infects even the brooding Reba and in so, will touch you as well.
    Early in the story Elsie is engaged to a German SS officer, knowing it will protect her family she agrees and in a quiet moment; she places the ring he has given her on her finger. Doing so she feels it scratch her, she takes it off and looks on the interior of the ring. There is an inscription that reads: Ani ledodi ve Dodi Li in Hebrew. She had been given the ring of a Jewish prisoner of war as her engagement ring.
    That very night a young boy comes into her life. Tobias, an escaped prisoner and Elsie must choose to protect the child and put her family and herself at risk or turn him over to the Gestapo where she knows he will be killed.
    The Baker's Daughter is the story of one woman's choice and impact it had on generations of those who would follow.
    A powerful and compelling read.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2014

    Great story

    Interesting read just wish it didnt flip back and forth so much between the eras

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2014

    335 pages

    It is very hard to rate WWII holocaust books. The event is so horrific, how can the readers state the book is enjoyable, yet it was liked? I find myself in this connumdrum every time I read a book like this. This 335 page book was not what I was expecting. It was not really about the war or the holocaust, but about a German family of bakers living in Germany during the war and how they were affected by it. This is first book I have read where the point of view is told from the German's outlook, instead of the victim's. The main character is Elsie, a young girl, of sixteen at the beginning of the story. She has married, migrated to Texas and celebrates her 80th birthday by the end of the book. Elsie tells her life story to a magazine reporter and what starts out as a Christmas fluff article, spins into a much deeper and sometimes tramatic tale. The story spans the years 1942-2007. I paid $9.99 for this book. Was it worth it? I am not sure, it did not really teach me anything, nor can I say it was enjoyable, but I did like a lot of things about the book. It was well written, well researched, perfectly edited, unique in its depiction of a war family's fears and problems, had a great flow, was believable and held my interest. It also had a very adequate conclusion. In a way it was a romance. There was not any cursing, but there was sex and rape (undetailed) suicide, infantcide, child abuse, abortion, religion, violence, hunger and discussions of war camps and death of Jews. A mother really insulted her daughter by telling her she was acting like a Jewish. I never thought about this being an insult. I liked most of the characters except for the reporter. She was spoiled, unappreciative, self serving, selfish and ignored her family. This is a story for those interested in WWII history, ages 18 and up.

    AD

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Highly Recommend!

    Really enjoyable book! Great historical fiction!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2015

    I read this several months ago and thoroughly enjoyed it.  I lik

    I read this several months ago and thoroughly enjoyed it.  I like books
    of genre.  It is very easy to relate to the story.  Take the time to read it
    and learn how so many survived.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2014

    3.5 stars

    1942-1945 Nazi Germany is the setting for Elsie's remembrances, when she worried daily about the fate of her parents, their bakery business, and her older sister who is off having perfect Aryan babies to give away to the SS. What an insane program. What an insane time in history. It was closely paired with the modern-day story of Riki of the El Paso border patrol unit and his girlfriend Reba. The author imaginatively compares the treatment of the Jews to the treatment of illegals being smuggled into Texas. Reba is Riki's girlfriend and a writer who wants to tell Elsie's story as part of a Christmas traditions piece her magazine is doing. Except Elsie remembers her Germany as wartorn and hateful of the Jews, not many "traditional" events when you're worrying about where your next meal will come from. What Riki wants is to follow our immigration laws to the letter, but feeling maybe sometimes it's not so cut and dry. In both cases, human lives were at stake and gross errors in judgement will result in tragedy.

    As usually happens with these stories that go from war time to present, I was much more engaged during the parts that took place before, in Germany, than I was in the present day story. Elsie was a truly good, lovable character. Reba just never grew on me, at all. She seemed immature and disingenuous.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    William

    "You're beautifully beautiful... incredible..." he mutters softly.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2014

    Good book

    Two women, different times, different countries but their lives are so alike. As you read, remember that what you want may not be what you really want or need. Reba and Rikki both found this out and then found each other.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    Really good book.

    I thought this book was very well written, and I recommended it to my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2014

    Very different WWII novel.

    This book reminded me of the WWII scientists I grew up with, and I imagined their struggle becoming Americans after the war just like the main character of this book. It is an interesting story and well written from both eras of one's life and the changes, sacrifices and just living we do as humans. A good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    Recommend

    A WWII memoir artfully traced onto today. The similarities and still current issues raise our consciousness and force us to look at that 55yo history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    Wonderful reading

    This was terrific. Held my interest so much that I wanted to keep going back to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    Good historical information

    This story gave a good realistic idea of the results of war on common, working people, how it changed their everyday lives. And how to successfully leave the anguish behind and start over in America.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    Wonderful story!

    I read the senapsis (sp?) of The Baker's Daughter when a co-worker brought her library book to read at break-time. I ordered the book for my nook when I got home that evening.
    It is the first time I have read a WWII era book that is partially written from the Nazi Party point of view. I found it facinating and compassionately told.
    The weaving together of the two time periods was beautifully done.
    I would highly recommend this book to everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Worth Reading

    I read a lot of World War II books and I did enjoy this book. I hate to even use the word "enjoy" because there is nothing joyful about this type of event. It kind of started out a little slow, but it did pick up. I love the characters in this book and the compassion that Eloise had. I still find it hard to fathom that this type of horror went on for anybody. I would recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2012

    Good book club recommendation.

    Enjoyed the book. It made a good discussion possible for our book club.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2012

    Wonderful story - one of my favs

    This book is about a baker's daughter that dates a man from the Third Reich. It switches from her present location in Texas, back to her small town in Germany during the war. There is a dual story of a border patrol agent and his girlfriend I found a bit weak, but all in all it was a great read. I don't think you'll be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2