Customer Reviews for

The Baker's Daughter

Average Rating 4.5
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Elsie and Reba are from different countries and different decade

Elsie and Reba are from different countries and different decades. But their lives come together when they need each other. Reba comes to interview Elsie about a German Christmas. The warmth of the bakery and possibly the people keep her coming back. This is the story o...
Elsie and Reba are from different countries and different decades. But their lives come together when they need each other. Reba comes to interview Elsie about a German Christmas. The warmth of the bakery and possibly the people keep her coming back. This is the story of both women and the blessings they chose to pursue.

Someone said this book was like Sarah's Key. It IS about Germany during the war and a little boy hidden in the wall. But that is where the similarity ends. This story takes the horrendous parts of war and blends it with the gems of beauty that live in every person. The story will draw you in and give you a glimpse into reality for Germans during the war.
Life can be terrible. It's up to us to grasp the beauty and show it to others.
This story tugged at my heartstrings. It made me smile, cry and be thankful for the beautiful world that I live in. It's a book I'll definitely be recommending to my friends.

I received this book free of charge from Edelweiss in exchange for my honest review.

posted by tmurrell2 on April 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Before you go and buy this book, please read my review and save yourself some money.

I came across this book on the Barnes & Noble website. I was looking for a good story and when I read the reviews about this book, I was thrilled, thinking how much I enjoyed "Those who save us" which also involved the Holocost and a bakery.

I really wanted to lov...
I came across this book on the Barnes & Noble website. I was looking for a good story and when I read the reviews about this book, I was thrilled, thinking how much I enjoyed "Those who save us" which also involved the Holocost and a bakery.

I really wanted to love this book. I read all sorts of reviews about it on line and they all were so positive that I thought I'd come across a real gem.

I have about 50 pages left to go and unless dramatic events occur in these 50 pages, I'm beyond disappointed. When I read a well-written novel, the characters come alive for me and their words practically jump off the pages. Not so with this book. It feels like the author is going on and on and on, going back and forth between a modern day El Paso and a 1940-1945 town in Germany. I like stories that do that. However, even the names of the characters... Reba, Niki, Jane, Else, Mutti...couldn't she have tossed in a name with more than four letters ... oh yeah, there's also Dee Dee. Come on give us a little variety here. Put some meat into their stories because the availability of meat is sure there. What's all this with Jane talking to the neighbor's dog and then she suddenly drinks too much wine and finds herself in bed with him. Like really ... in real life how many times do you think that's going to happen. Now back in Germany, Else, just happens to fall for her American doctor who's treating her for a miscarriage. Of course he's tall, dark, and handsome with a "strong jaw". Sappy is the only word that comes to my mind. If the author intended Reba to be a dynamic character, she didn't succeed. With 50 pages to go, I still can't picture her Reba in my mind. I keep getting Reba confused with her boyfriend, Niki, and vice versa. It just throws me off a little and then I realize who she means. I hope this little boy Else was hiding in her room comes back in the story again because otherwise the other has just set us up to care about him for nothing. We'll see. The only two things I liked in "The Baker's Daughter" are (1)the front cover of the jacket ... love the reddish hat ... and all the breads, rolls, cakes they make at the bakery make your mouth water. The end is near and I'm determined to finish it. I hope this helps somebody.

posted by jllfromnewyork on February 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Elsie and Reba are from different countries and different decade

    Elsie and Reba are from different countries and different decades. But their lives come together when they need each other. Reba comes to interview Elsie about a German Christmas. The warmth of the bakery and possibly the people keep her coming back. This is the story of both women and the blessings they chose to pursue.

    Someone said this book was like Sarah's Key. It IS about Germany during the war and a little boy hidden in the wall. But that is where the similarity ends. This story takes the horrendous parts of war and blends it with the gems of beauty that live in every person. The story will draw you in and give you a glimpse into reality for Germans during the war.
    Life can be terrible. It's up to us to grasp the beauty and show it to others.
    This story tugged at my heartstrings. It made me smile, cry and be thankful for the beautiful world that I live in. It's a book I'll definitely be recommending to my friends.

    I received this book free of charge from Edelweiss in exchange for my honest review.

    23 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Fast read. Really enjoyed the WWII history of the book. The auth

    Fast read. Really enjoyed the WWII history of the book. The author really draws you into the parallel story lines, which causes you to not being able to put the book down. Highly Recommended!

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Fast read.

    This book is very good and is a fast read.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    In a time span from 1944 to the late 2000's, the story takes pla

    In a time span from 1944 to the late 2000's, the story takes place in both Garmisch, Germany, and El Paso, Texas. Reba Adams interviews Elsie and her daughter, Jane. This is a beautiful story, past and present, from Nazi Germany to modern day Texas, all that tells of heartbreak, family, friendship and grievous hardship. This will warm your heart and remain with you for quite a while!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2012

    A MUST READ

    GREAT BOOK...I loved every page. Very educational even if it is fictional. I'm going to check out other books by Sarah McCoy.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2012

    A Powerful Novel, Highly Recommend

    Sarah McCoy's THE BAKER'S DAUGHTER is a powerful story, and a delightful read. The story unfolds in two contrasting time periods, told by two very different women: young and reckless Reba, a journalist in modern-day Texas, and 1940's Elsie, navigating the complex world of WWII Germany. McCoy's writing is real. I could taste the baked goods from the bakeries in both worlds, and I felt strongly for each of the character's journeys. Highly recommended, especially as a novel to talk about with friends.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Very interesting

    A different view of World War 2 Germany. With an equally interesting story line in 2007 Texas.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    In 1945, during WWII in Garmisch, Germany, a girl named Elsie an

    In 1945, during WWII in Garmisch, Germany, a girl named Elsie and her family were trying to survive. The German natives owned a bakery and were stuggling to make do with the ingredients that they had. Elsie's parents would like her to marry a high-ranking, German officer, after all the things he has done for them. She pretended to be engaged to Josef, to protect her and her family from the dangerous situations that she has created by helping a Jewish boy. Elsie and Tobias, the Jewish boy, would become respectable friends throughout the book.
    Sixty years later, in 2007; Elsie now owns a bakery in El Paso, Texas, with her daughter. One day they had a woman come in the bakery and ask if she could interview Elsie. Elsie was not to kin on it, but she decided to go along with it. It turns out that Reba, the interviewer, would come back frequently to enjoy some freshly baked goods and to hear a new, exciting story from Elsie. Come to find out, the two of them would have a great deal in common.


    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Baker's Daughter is really a story within a story.  In the s

    The Baker's Daughter is really a story within a story.  In the set-up story Reba Allen, a writer for a local magazine in El Paso, Texas, is assigned to write a fluff piece about the Christmas customs of the various cultures that make up the melting pot that is El Paso.  In pursuit of this, she decides to interview Elsie Schmidt, a German immigrant and owner of Elsie's German Bakerie.  Thus the reader is introduced to the second story of the book, that of Elsie Schmidt and her family during the waning years of the Second World War.  It is the similarities and contrasts between the two stories that pulls this book together as a cohesive whole. 




    Although both stories are well told and interesting, the story of Elsie and her family was by far my favorite of the two stories.  I was captivated by both the character of Elsie and her story from the page that they were introduced all the way to their end.  I especially liked reading a story from the perspective of a typical German family during the war.  I though the author did an excellent job of using Elsie, her family, and those around them to show that there were Germans of all types during the war.  Like everyone else, they had their good and their bad,, were confused and conflicted, and missed the normalcy of their everyday lives.  It was their utter humanness that drew me into the story and kept me going.  I also loved the way that the author used the stories of Reba and her fiancee Riki to echo the themes of confused emotions and conflicted ideals that we saw in Elsie's story.  Perhaps this quote sums it up the best, "No one is good or bad by birth or nation or religion.  Inside, we are all masters and slaves, rich and poor, perfect and flawed." 




    To say that this book was beautifully written is an understatement.  Sarah McCoy is a master at telling a story with beautiful prose and wonderful emotion.  Her descriptions were so well done that I could actually smell the baking bread, taste the rolls hot from the oven, and feel the cold of the snow.  In addition, I could feel the emotions of fear, happiness, despair, and longing that she described. In addition, the inclusion of the letters from and to the characters really helped to highlight the personal aspects of the story.   This book truly encompasses the best in historical fiction, taking you into the lives and times of the characters and settings and making you feel like you are right there with them.  




    As you can tell, I loved this book.  The only thing that I saw as a drawback was the size of the font.  I know, that is a weird thing to comment on, but the font in this book was so small that I found it really hard to read unless I was in bright light.  The letters, especially, were hard to read at times.  In this case, a cursive font was used to make the letters seem more real, which is actually a plus, but again, the font was so small that it was hard to make out some of the cursive writing.  At any rate, this was the only thing that marred my otherwise perfect experience with this book, and I am probably making it sound more important than it was. 




    I have seen and looked at Sarah McCoy's other book, The Time it Snowed in Puerto Rico, but have never quite decided to read it.  After reading The Baker's Daughter, though, I am excited to read it.  I believe that Sarah is going to become one of my favorite authors in no time.  I highly recommend this book for lovers of historical fiction, especially those interested in reading about every day lives during WWII.  Many thanks to The Sisterhood of the Traveling Book for making this book available to me. 

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    Exceptional read

    Was a bit hesitant to read at first...another holocaust/ WWII book. Very different and well worth reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2014

    Elizabeth

    Her cheeks flush and her eyes widen slightly. "You really think so?..."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2014

    Loved this story!

    Loved this story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    very thought provoking

    I liked this book very much. I looked up a lot of information about Hitler's youth programs online. Learned a great deal I hadn't had an inkling about before. It's mind boggling to discover all the things Nazi related I never realized before. And all because I read "The Baker's Daughter". My opinion: it is a really good book. The characters were likable and the 'bad guys' were very dislikable!!! The story itself was unique. Even though it travels back and forth in time, it was not hard to follow. I especially liked the fact the whole story was told in one book. I am getting a little annoyed at finding a book I want to read only to discover it is "book 1 in the series" Not so with "The Baker's Daughter". This book was a perfect fit for me!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2014

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book.  It's a beautiful story of coura

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book.  It's a beautiful story of courage, hope, and perseverance.  It offers a glimpse into what life must have been like during a horrendous time in history, and the joy that comes from loving those around us.  Our secrets keep us bound. 

    The end of the book is a wonderful celebration of life, past and present.  I didn't want to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2014

    How should I say this, The Baker's Daughter is like eating a sli

    How should I say this, The Baker's Daughter is like eating a slice of Black Forest Cake. At first you want to savor every single bite and half way through you feel if you finish, you will feel the glutton of punishment but you overcome that guilt by taking one more bite until you look down and see that only a little icing is left on the fork. Every bite was a little bit of treasure and you feel satisfied but craving more.

    You meet the two main characters - Elsie and Reba. Their lives from different centuries but come together to fulfill a feel-good story Reba is writing for a local magazine. Each woman is stronger than they give themselves credit for. Each life filled with secrets and a search for something that is missing in their life...or so they think. As these two women's lives are intertwined, the life that these women lead are amazing ones. Both of survival, luck and courage to live...you will be swept away by modern-day and a wartime tales. The writing is amazing and to read a book that gives both characters equal amount of life is a treasure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Well written page turner

    I am always intrigued by WWII stories which provide insight into the mindset of the German population not totally taken in by Hitler in his totalitarian regime. This book does not disappoint there but provides the continuing story of the adaptation of survivors, in this case one who moved to America. I could not put this book down

    I truly pray my own country is never taken in by a similar leader and grateful for the American form of government. However, these stories remind me of the vulnerability we face when too much power and faith is placed in one chrismatic leader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Great book

    Gave a very different perspective than most books I have read set during WWII. It was a very inspiring and moving novel. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2014

    Excellent

    Very enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2014

    highly recommend

    Even tho this was fiction, I really enjoyed the time era, reading about the people who loved their country, even tho the country was marching towards Hitler's regime and away from the Germany they loved. Made me think what those people must have thought & lived through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2014

    Wonderful book and thoroughly enjoyed!!!  Recommend Very Highly!

    Wonderful book and thoroughly enjoyed!!!  Recommend Very Highly!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3